Eleven Tigers
Clouds Are Mountains


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adash USER (43 Reviews)
November 23rd, 2010 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After the Burial

It seems dubstep is everywhere these days; Rusko’s clownstep grows more popular every week and tunes like Innocence and Eastern Jam destroy dance floors even in commercial clubs. Whilst this is obviously an improvement on having to listen to Ke$ha every time one goes out, it unfortunately gives rise to the tendency to stereotype the entire genre as a ketamine coated, bass addled monstrosity; something which is simply not true. Locating the true shining diamonds buried deep in the bottomless bass sediment, however, takes substantial effort; fortunately Eleven Tigers’ debut Clouds are Mountains is worth the exertion and then some.

Lithuanian born and raised, Jokubas Dargis lives in London, and it’s this dank, dirty and colossal labyrinth that has had the greatest influence on his music. It’s evident that he has spent a substantial amount of time meandering through the city streets, silently observing the nervous and fearful humanity that wanders forever lost in the infinite grey maze, scurrying blindly like moles through the fog. Yet because he has an outsider perspective and knows that fragrant forests exist beyond the concrete jungle he can paint his musical pictures with unbridled joy as well as melancholy.

Clouds is the aural canvas that captures the shadowy essence of humanity; a fluttering eyelash, a shy smile, a pale hand delicately brushing willowy hair away from shining eyes. It’s a meticulously crafted soundscape for his adopted city, and for the most part a stunning serenade. One hesitates to use the term post dubstep, but in this case perhaps it is fitting. Softly resonating bass throbs gently over two step drums that snap tantalizingly with irresistible momentum, whilst fidgety synths and incongruous vocals make up the delectable icing on this mouth watering musical dessert. Dargis has assiduously studied the ins and outs of dubstep, and at his best he can stand shoulder to shoulder with any bass mutator plying their trade in London today.

But his real talent, and the finest moments of Clouds lie in subtle sublimity; Dargis has an astonishing talent for crafting fragile, mesmerizing pieces that are as delicate and translucent as fluttering snowflakes. The enthralling Stableface, in the running for song of the year, is perhaps the best example of his skill; cut up vocals melt agonizingly into a gorgeously dreamy landscape of silky synths and yielding drums. It’s subtle, sexy, and arguably the best tune to come out of the UK since Hyph Mngo.

A Lithuanian girl once told me about her native country; rampant corruption, high levels of theft, sexual violence and paedophilia. Then she showed me the pepper spray that she carries with her everywhere. To cheer her up, I handed her a copy of Clouds; the only dangers lurking at the centre of this murky labyrinth are the seductive Sirens of sound, and they're too beguiling to be resisted



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ExaiVladislav Delay Vantaa
Pinch and Shackleton Pinch and ShackletonOneohtrix Point Never Replica
Patten GLAQJO XAACSOMatthew Herbert One Pig
user ratings (41)
Chart.
3.7
great
related reviews

111

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adash
November 23rd 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

see what i did with the summary?

lovin it lovin it lovin it

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2010


16785 Comments


thought about reviewing this the other day

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

Adash
November 23rd 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

your thought is my command

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2010


31475 Comments


Last paragraph started off good, then got really terrible. I'd contemplate changing it honestly

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2010


31475 Comments


Also, name dropping Joy Orbison means I love you

shortz
November 23rd 2010


201 Comments


"Last paragraph started off good, then got really terrible. I'd contemplate changing it honestly"

I agree, in my opinion it kind of ruins the quality of the review.

But the rest is good otherwise.

I enjoy this album, very chill.

Yotimi
November 23rd 2010


6543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good shit

Digging: Sand Circles - Motor City

Adash
November 24th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That was silly and the result of drunk reviewing. I'll give some it some thought when I have a spare moment

thanks for the pos and criticism

fixed till I think of something better


Zettel
November 27th 2010


602 Comments


Adash, I do not know if this album will be half as good as you present it, but you do know how to sell its strongest points. While I was reading I said to myself "I think I have read some review from this guy before" (it was Tobin's Bricolage), and this review confirms what I said to you: I like your writing style.

Keep up the good work.

Adash
November 28th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bricolage as well as Quaristice methinks

and thanks v very much, niggaz like you is the reason I reviews



FourSquare20
November 28th 2010


320 Comments


Nice review. Really great album.

Thanntos
December 2nd 2010


321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is pretty good, a lot of really great songs like Stood Up, Frozen Wheel and Couldn't but a lot of mediocre ones as well. Pros out weight the cons.

coleba
December 2nd 2010


788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Agree. The great songs are great, but a lot drag. I wish he'd just stick with the Burial imitation songs :p

Deathcar
January 12th 2011


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't really like the last paragraph either, but otherwise good review. Album is wicked, what I'd have expected a 3rd Burial album to sound like.

Adash
January 12th 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you should have seen what it was earlier, this is the edited version...

oh my days stableface is so fuckin good

FourSquare20
January 12th 2011


320 Comments


Stableface is absurd, as is Songs For You. I mean, shit, the entire thing is superb.

Jash
January 28th 2011


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is unreal, the fact that he samples Trespassers William multiple times just makes it even better

SCREAM!
February 19th 2011


10310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to this for the first time and wow

Wonderful stuff. This guy needs more attention around here

Adash
April 9th 2012


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The review for After the Burial was on the front page, and in a review this was called 'what happens after Burial'

Stableface still aurgasmic

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2013


22033 Comments


don't get the burial comparisons. Sounds nothing like him

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy