Hypocrisy
Virus


4.5
superb

Review

by Seth T. White (Cravinov13) USER (61 Reviews)
October 22nd, 2005 | 163 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Swedish death metal band Hypocrisy's newest album is by far one of the best metal records I have ever heard. The renaissance man of Gothenburg death metal, Peter Tagtgren, delivers us probably the best Hypocrisy album to date. Also, Virus being the first hit album by Hypocrisy since their self-titled release in 1999. Never failing to deliver an awesome riff or impressive guitar solo (which this CD is full of), it is amazing this album was recorded just a little over a year after Hypocrisy's 2004 release The Arrival.

XVI is the beginning track to this CD, but is nothing more then a 16 second intro to the next song, War-Path. (N/R)

War-Path begins with crushing riffs and heavy drum work followed soon after by Peter Tagtgren menacing growls. The apocalyptic atmosphere surronding the song makes it a great track by Hypocrisy standards. It is a perfect first (actual) track to this album. (5/5)

Scrutinized was the first song I heard off of this album. Beginning with a slightly heavier riff then War-Path, and yet it doesn't let a single second light up. Definitely one of the highlights to the album. (4.5/5)

Fearless is probably my favorite song on this album next to the last track, Living To Die. Starting off with a riff similar to War-Path, the guitar work is slightly more melodic. Lyrically this song also doesn't fail to impress, going back to Hypocrisy's older style of hate and vengeance. (5/5)

Craving For Another Killing, is a very diffrent song form the rest of the album. Th riffs sound a little off color, but in a good way, and Peter Tagtgren uses a very fitting rap growl, but with that grisly death metal feel he always has in his vocals. The track is weaker then the other tracks on the album, and took awhile to grow on me, but is still a solid track by Hypocrisy standards. (4/5)

Let The Knife Do The Talking is another great song that dives back into Hypocrisy's past as far as lyrics go, being very satanical and hateful. Still a very good track, and another highlight off this album. Also contains some of the bests riffs on the album. (5/5)

A Thousand Lies starts off with very calm, quiet, and melodic guitar work, but blasts into a fury of riffs seconds later. Although a very good track, this song is similar to War-Path vocally and the riffs are nothing too special. Still a decent song though. (4.5/5)

Incised Before I've Ceased is a great song musically, lyrically, and vocally. Probably my third favorite on this album. With very distinct guitar riffs, and awesome vocal work on the chorus, this song is yet another highlight on this album. (5/5)

Blooddrenched has some good riffs, and really intresting and catchy vocal work, with lyrics that remind me so much of Cannibal Corpse. This song is just another example of how twisted the mind of vocalist Peter Tagtren is. (4.5/5)

Compulsive Psychosis is another musically impressive song, but gets a little boring, which is not like most of the other tracks. Still a descent song, but we all know Hypocrisy could do better. The only thing it really needs is more presence in the vocals. (4/5)

Living To Die is the apocalyptic track on this album. Starting off slowly, this song suddenly bursts into an atmospheric guitar riff. Peter Tagtgren then comes in with a more of chanting voice then his normal growl. As the chorus kicks in, it is suddenly revealed how well Peter Tagtgren can actually sing, giving a very apocalyptic feel as his voice and the music create a since of inferiority. (5/5)

Thus, with probably one of the greatest melodic death metal songs of this generation, this album comes to a very profound end. Highly recommended for any fans of In Flames, Opeth, Obituary, Darkane, and Dimmu Borgir. Overall Album Rating: (4.9/5)



Recent reviews by this author
Neun Welten Valg EPMortifera Vastiia Tenebrd Mortifera
Amesoeurs Ruines HumainesHavohej Dethrone the Son of God
The Lust I Seek Ancient [EP]Grey Skies Fallen Tomorrow's In Doubt
user ratings (382)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Dethtrasher (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Med57
Moderator
October 22nd 2005


1001 Comments


Not a bad review man, especially for a first, but can I suggest you add some paragraphs? It looks kind of hard to read as it is at the moment.

Shadows
Moderator
October 22nd 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yep, not bad at all. A few suggestions: Break up the paragraphs and highlight the track titles with bold or italics or something.

Other then that, nice work. I've never heard these guys, but since they seem so popular I most likely will. I've heard good things about this.

Cravinov13
October 22nd 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the feedback. I'm going to work out some of the bugs with this review as I come across them.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
October 22nd 2005


2125 Comments


I heard a song by this band on the local metal show. I loved it, it sounded like really black metal influenced death metal.

Cravinov13
October 25th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Come on people, I need more feedback on my first review!

Ace_of_Bass2112
October 25th 2005


257 Comments


good first review but i think you should get more Acquainted with music termonalgy. it sounds much better if you say "It has a great sweeping solo right in the middle followed by some great double bass work from mr. blah blah fake person" instead of the "has some good rifts, and some decent vocal work," which is much to vagueThis Message Edited On 10.25.05

Dethtrasher
October 28th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I got the song Living To Die and I got hooked right away, I love this bands apocalyptic/ballady stuff and other songs of course. Cool album cover though.

I think that your review was good and I can't think of any special feedback.

Cravinov13
October 28th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^ most appreciated. I fyou liked Living To Die, check out their self-titled album, you won't be disappointed.

Dethtrasher
October 28th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I might check it out, I've heard the albums ¨The Fourth Dimension¨ and ¨Catch 22¨ and I thought that they were great and a few songs from ¨Abducted¨.

But I do not like the growling as much as Tägtgrens screaming. If I can get the albums I mentioned I will review them if no one else does it. This band is greater than In Flames in my opinion.

Cravinov13
October 28th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^ Yes, they are, and that says a lot, cause In Flames is a great band.

I'm going to do a "The Arrival" review soon. The song Eraser from that album is why I love the band so much.

Dethtrasher
October 28th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think that you have listen to this band longer then I and I wonder I you can tip me of songs like Living To Die and Slippin' Away?

I would appreciate that because it is almost a year since I heard of an whole album from this band. Once again, your review made me want to listen to this band once again.

Cravinov13
October 28th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hmmm.... well, you won't find much of that on "The Arrival", cause those songs are very much like a darker side of Fearless and A Thousand Lies. I know Hypocrisy's self-titled has at least 3 or 4 songs, but I have not heard the entire album so I can not tell you which ones. I think Into The Abyss has some tracks like that as well, but I havn't heard anything from that album yet.

Dethtrasher
October 29th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks, I will try and look for those song and albums when I have time.

Toaster
November 2nd 2005


343 Comments


I don't mean to be nitpicky.. but for future reference guitar parts are called "riffs". These guys are pretty good, but they never stuck out at me as being great.

Geedrummer
November 13th 2005


607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ace album. the cover art is the greatestThis Message Edited On 11.13.05

Toaster
November 27th 2005


343 Comments


Is this album worth picking up?

Cravinov13
November 27th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Highly recommend for fans of Goathenburg Metal.

Wave.Existance.Tears
December 21st 2005


72 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The review is on the hot list and there's another link to it due to its #1 Of 2005 thingy.

Album is pretty dang good, but is it really the best of 2005?This Message Edited On 12.21.05

Cravinov13
December 21st 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YES IT IS!!!!!!!!!!!! MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

Wave.Existance.Tears
December 24th 2005


72 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One last thing though; they were one of the first bands of the Gothenburg sound, sure, but nowadays they are much different. Decently heavier and with more black metal influence than the staple Melodic death bands from the region (In Flames, Soilwork, Arch Enemy)...So don't go out expecting In Flames 0.8.This Message Edited On 12.24.05



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy