Giants
Old Stories


4.5
superb

Review

by matthewk615 USER (1 Reviews)
November 16th, 2010 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While most current post rock bands seem to do nothing more than write Explosions in the Sky cover songs, Giants emerge from the standard with "Old Stories," a refreshing release that proves some groups can still produce unique soundscapes charged with emo

With the genre of post-rock becoming increasingly popular, it is sometimes difficult to sift through the Explosions in the Sky "cover bands," but Giants emerge with a sound that is entirely unique. As the name suggests, I was looking forward to a very grand and epic feel among this album, and "Old Stories" does not disappoint. Following in the footsteps of Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Sigur Ros, Giants definitely had their work cut out for them in an attempt to create something that could stray from the cookie cutter structure of most post rock compositions.

As this almost 40 minute album begins, there is a noticeable separation from the aforementioned groups. "Where the Ages Steal" explodes with emotion and imagery, and immediately sets the stage for the next six tracks that is "Old Stories." The repetitive guitar pattern, along with the snare roll of the drum track, has a way of putting you on the edge of your seat. As the tension builds, a moment of relief is given, only to be obliterated with the introduction of the entire band. Static undertones, beautifully atmospheric guitar work, and uncharacteristically technical drum patterns create the sound that defines Giants as a formidable force in the realm of post rock.

Pinpointing the emotion felt as this album progresses is difficult, but not impossible. Giants not only tell you their story, but they do it in a way that invades your chest and removes everything you thought you possessed. There is no real resolution to be had, for every song takes you through an emotional roller coaster of sorrow, sadness, and loneliness. Especially in "Fisherman's Prayer," it almost feels as if everyone you know has abandoned you, and the world you once knew is gone. Tragic and alone, until a single ray of hope is provided in the last track of the album. As the name suggests, "At Last Ashore" fills you with the feeling that you've been alone for years, finally arriving in the utopia you've been searching for. Relief, in its purest form. As the album comes to a close, we can finally breathe again, and it is beautiful. As subtly as they entered, Giants moves on to tell their story to the next soul kind enough to listen.

Not to say that Giants have created the perfect album, but this release is definitely a leap from their previous effort, "They, The Undeserving." Similar to most post rock bands, there is a sense of "I've heard this before" throughout the album. The characteristic sound of crushing bass underneath high pitched, emotionally driven guitar work is slowly becoming stagnant among this style. Giants' redeeming factor lies within their drummer. Switching between marching band style snare rolls, to patterns that seem to pay respects to heavier influence, the drum tracks on this album is nothing short of refreshing.

"Old Stories" is an album that is meant to be enjoyed from beginning to end. No song really stands out as better than the others, for the whole 40 minutes seem to blend seamlessly together. Although nothing groundbreaking within the world of post rock, Giants have created something that will continue to stand out among other attempts released within the genre.


user ratings (52)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
PurpleDrank
November 17th 2010


417 Comments


downloaded this ages ago, will have to listen. review is gud

North0House
November 17th 2010


1764 Comments


Wait, there's another band called Giants, and they have a song called "Horned and Blind." Is this the same band? Cuz, I know "Horned and Blind" has a post-metal feeling to it.

North0House
November 17th 2010


1764 Comments


Never mind. I'm thinking of Giant, not Giants.
I've listened to these guys before actually, come to think of it, and I really liked them.
Good review.

natey
November 17th 2010


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

typical post rock premise lol EITS is a cover band of itself lol

but i'm intrigued I guess you say this is a "giant leap forward" and their last album tickled me the wrong way

Photon
November 17th 2010


1292 Comments


always up for some post rost . will check this out

Powerban
November 17th 2010


2380 Comments


alright album. stopped listening to it though

HighandDriving
November 17th 2010


3288 Comments


unique soundscapes charged with emo

lol

BallsToTheWall
November 17th 2010


44805 Comments


Guarantee record sounds exactly like EITS. Think i'll stick to Moonlit Sailor for my post rock fixing.

SeaAnemone
November 17th 2010


20970 Comments


While most current post rock bands seem to do nothing more than write Explosions in the Sky cover songs,


ugh untrue untrue

also, I haven't heard this, but there's other bands that have combined emo with post-rock structures both before and after this band that, I'm assuming, have also done it better because they do it damn well.

check out:

Moving Mountains - Pneuma
A Bunny's Caravan - Draining Puddles, Retrieving Treasures

but yeah, the approach of Giants, if it is what you described, hardly follows Sigur Ros / GY!BE, it follows other post-rock bands. not every post-rock band is derivative of those two, and the supposed 'staleness' of the genre that most reviews of post-rock cite is often a reviewer bias/fault, not all that accurate. but oh well I don't know much anyway, I'll stop...

Awesome job reviewing something unique for your first, keep it up!

PS fuck the Giants, go Eagles!

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

natey
November 17th 2010


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0


While most current post rock bands seem to do nothing more than write Explosions in the Sky cover
songs,


ugh untrue untrue

forsooth

there a group of post-rock bands that use their instruments like EITS and there are groups with
different sounds like Brother/ghost, Ghastly City Sleep, Metavari, and Yndi Halda that shouldn't be
compared to EITS. most current post-rock bands do not write EITS cover pieces, but a niche of them
can be grouped together with EITS if you want.

the majority of bands on
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_post-rock_bands
i wouldn't even group with EITS

matthewk615
November 18th 2010


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks for the critique on the review everyone, definitely needed to know if i was approaching these in an interesting and informative manner. tried to stray from the song-by-song analysis that i see far too often on this site.

SeaAnemone - i'll definitely check out a bunny's caravan, never heard of them. but as for moving mountains, i definitely know what you're talking about. my friend got me into them last year and i've always enjoyed what they do. have you listened to their newer album called foreward? and as for the comparison to sigur ros and GY!BE, i was mainly attempting to group Giants in there due to the emotional response i personally received.

Natey - thanks for listing some of those other groups, i don't think i've ever listened to any of those, and i am definitely intrigued.

again, thanks to everyone for the comments, i'll probably do another review sometime soon

SeaAnemone
November 18th 2010


20970 Comments


song-by-song?

I haven't seen a review like that in ages, on here. I think you're thinking of Sputnik 1-2 years ago.

matthewk615
November 18th 2010


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah i mean, i just started using sputnik a little while ago, and a decent amount of reviews i saw were song-by-song.

but then again, they weren't RECENT reviews so that's probably why haha

Josh D.
November 21st 2010


13972 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I need this bad boy.

Josh D.
November 21st 2010


13972 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Got this last night. Need to listen to it soon.

minty901
January 7th 2012


2084 Comments


this is just so, so average

ProfessorVeerappan
February 19th 2013


792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a good post rock album that is now set to break down
the set of minds
corrupt and absurd
here comes meaning
chilled out shit
GG



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy