Sargeist
Let The Devil In


3.5
great

Review

by Angel STAFF
November 12th, 2010 | 19 replies | 8,557 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In a country most known for its fairy metal, Sargeist bring teh kvlt.

Finnish black metal outfit Sargeist was formed in 1999, originally intended as a solo project of Shatraug of Horna. He eventually enlisted the help of some other members to put out two demos between 2000 and 2001. After the release of the demo Tyranny Returns in 2001, Hoath Torog and Horns of Behexen replaced these members and have stayed in the group since. The band's name combines the two German words, "sarg" (coffin) and "geist" (spirit or ghost), which is derived from the song "The Old Coffin Spirit" by Greek black metalers Rotting Christ. Sargeist have made it a point to keep their music and lyrics rooted in the “old school” traditions of Scandinavian black metal - crushing, Satanic, and misanthropic.

In 2010, they give us Let the Devil In, an album free of gimmicks that sticks to solid, memorable riffs. While it doesn’t sport mind-blowing musicianship or new ideas, the LP offers a reminder that classic black metal done well is sometimes better than the results of a tampered formula. Hoath’s vocal attack is powerful and attention-grabbing right away. The guitar work manages to be melodic while remaining all the while heavy and metallic. Horns’ drumming keeps it upbeat and back to the core of early black metal percussion with nothing over-the-top, but really, that can be seen as an asset here. All the instruments are treated to fairly clean production that doesn’t come off as overly polished, something that could have greatly detracted from the music here. Everything is pretty well balanced in the mix, and the dominance of vocals that plagues a lot of similar albums is pleasantly absent here. The band also shows that they know how and when to shift tempos and change things up a bit when they’re on the verge of reaching stale. All in all, Let the Devil In isn’t an overly sophisticated piece of work that requires careful dissection. What it is, though, is an album that’s immediately enjoyable and energizing. And at the end of the day, that’s a bit of a triumph in itself.

Sargeist lack some of the bells and whistles to truly set them apart from the rest of the pack, but then again, currently active bands making straightforward black metal this good are few and far between. In a time when the genre is both exploring itself and losing itself at the same time, it’s refreshing in it’s own way to hear an album like Let the Devil In. Who would’ve guessed Finland had it in them?



Recent reviews by this author
Chelsea Wolfe Pain Is BeautyPrurient Through the Window
Muknal / The Haunting Presence SplitStorm Corrosion Storm Corrosion
Rudimentary Peni CacophonyNoothgrush Erode the Person
user ratings (41)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2010


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Been fist-pumping like a champ since I got this. Wish I had known about it before I made my year-end metal list.

Hawks
November 12th 2010


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes! Nice review bro. Album rules.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2010


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Hawks. Wanted to do something relatively short and easy to get back into the groove of writing. Also wanted to do something from 2010 before the end of the year.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2010


16373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wouldn't say Finland is most know for its "fairy metal". Sure, they have Ensiferum, Finntroll and Wintersun, but really?

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Hawks
November 12th 2010


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Hawks. Wanted to do something relatively short and easy to get back into the groove of writing. Also wanted to do something from 2010 before the end of the year.

No problem dude. I didn't even know these guys had an album coming out this year until I saw Balls gave this a soundoff.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2010


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Melodic metal, fairy metal - same thing.

(Though, I like a lot of those bands.)

TheSpirit
November 12th 2010


17803 Comments


Yeah I heard this was pretty good

Digging: Emarosa - Versus

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2010


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is melodic too. Just making a joke. Tis a bit more krieg, though, than CoB, Ensiferum, Finntroll, etc.

TheSpirit
November 12th 2010


17803 Comments


I would be hesitant to say that anything remotely related to Horna would be too too krieg though...

Hawks
November 12th 2010


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spirit you would definitely like this and I'm sure you would too Crysis.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2010


16373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've heard another album by this band but I don't remember if I liked it or not.

Jethro42
November 12th 2010


12438 Comments


Good review bro, keep the good work up!

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2010


18447 Comments


Ulver's Nattens Madrigal is (in a sense) melodic so therefore it must be fairy metal right? Or the title track to Vital Remains' Dechristianize?"


I think he's talking about power metal Crysis. Back in the day, it was Sweden for death metal, Norway for black metal, and Finland for power metal.

Seriously, it's required by Finnish law to listen to Stratovarius at least twice a day.


Digging: Recondite - Caldera/DRGN 2

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2010


16373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think he's talking about power metal Crysis.

Yeah you're probably right, should have assumed that.

BallsToTheWall
November 13th 2010


44294 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Wow ttoally missed this. Ace/review/album.

Digging: Tiamat - Clouds

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2010


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the pos love bros.

MO
December 21st 2010


18623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty decent album

Wizard
December 22nd 2010


19383 Comments


Album cover was totally ripped from Celtic Frost.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Hawks
April 24th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is still awesome.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy