Pantha Du Prince
This Bliss


4.5
superb

Review

by Adash USER (43 Reviews)
November 8th, 2010 | 99 replies | 10,254 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Shut up and Dance

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

So there I was, standing in B-018, holding my $10 vodka, gazing out through the open roof at the star studded Beirut sky, listening to the DJ spinning the sparsest minimal techno imaginable. And it was, quite frankly, unbelievably boring.

So I put techno out of my mind and dived wholeheartedly into the yawning abyss of dubstep, forgetting all about its more refined older cousin. It wasn’t until I accidently fell in love with the ubiquitous Alcachofa through a chance encounter at Fabric that I decided to give the genre another chance. And *** me, am I glad that I did.

Simply put, This Bliss is a complete and utter triumph, a one finger salute to those who would disparage minimal techno as dull and repetitive. Imagine Diamond Daze taken to the next level, composed by a producer who understands exactly what this kind of music should sound like, and then proceeds to add his own unique twist. Minimal as a whole is characterised by its homogeny, but there isn’t a moment on here that you’d want to skip out of monotony. Pantha Du Prince knows full well that flow is everything in this genre, but has enough tricks up his sleeve to keep you guessing every second as to what could come next. Gorgeously shimmering synths merge with twinkling bells and throbbing bass, propelled all the while by heartbeats that pump temperate, effervescent lifeblood through the music. Its hard to pick any standout tracks, as there isn’t a bad song on here, but highlights include the quietly frantic clock like ticking of Moonstruck as well as the colossal White Out, where the bass thunders like a flood threatening to burst the track asunder.

It’s hard to think of think of other albums where the execution fulfils the concept quite so astoundingly. Animals by Minilogue springs to mind, as does the aforementioned Villalobos masterpiece; Pantha’s sophomore effort ranks along these as the final member of an indispensible trinity.

One can state plainly, without any hyperbole; This Bliss transcends genres. It’s a stunning, captivating album, and great music regardless of taste or conviction.
Do yourself a favour and acquire it; it’s nothing less than absolutely essential.



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ExaiVladislav Delay Vantaa
Pinch and Shackleton Pinch and ShackletonOneohtrix Point Never Replica
Patten GLAQJO XAACSOMatthew Herbert One Pig
user ratings (79)
Chart.
4
excellent
related reviews

Black Noise

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adash
November 8th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

seeing him on saturday, stoked like a whore on payday

geng
November 8th 2010



1986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds like you wanted to 5 it. Actually, it sounds like you wanted to have sex with it and make a
whole bunch of tehcno babies with it. Great review, as always.

Yotimi
November 8th 2010



6442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been trying to catch up on all good electronic of the last decade and have been meaning to get this for like a month now

Adash
November 8th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

get this and monolake's silence and you have some of the best electronica of the decade

Yotimi
November 8th 2010



6442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Got Silence. It's pretty great.

Adash
November 8th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

legend

then just get this and a big box of tissues

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010



30882 Comments


Nice review, short and to the point. I would argue that you should get more specific than using just the word "techno" but that's just a pet peeve of mine

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

crank
November 8th 2010



332 Comments


Yh, so really good review, this album is pretty bliss - beats out this years release by a mile (and that rules too) .

Adash
November 8th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

touché

will do




Adash
November 8th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

and thank you both, nice to have some electricians around

Enotron
November 8th 2010



7695 Comments


been meaning to check this out

crank
November 8th 2010



332 Comments


Do you go Fabric often? I love the place (

Adash
November 8th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Trust the English to have the best taste in music

I lived in london the past few years, fabric was my local venue of choice since they closed the End

Now im on a year abroad in Krakow, they've conveniently just opened a huge Berghain style place in an old factory and put on some amazing stuff: J Blake, JOrbison etc and Pantha this weekend. Adoo



crank
November 8th 2010



332 Comments


wow,, what's Poland like? I've always had it tagged as one of those scary countries where the locals will kill me for being English and ignorant of their culture/language : (




Adash
November 9th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

vodka cheap
krakow is beautiful
girls are even better
and you're near to pretty much every central euro city you'd want to go visit

win win win

crank
November 9th 2010



332 Comments


Eastern European girls are beautiful 8)

Adash
November 11th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Eastern European girls are beautiful 8)

the truest thing ever said, cogito ergo sum aside

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2010



14989 Comments


digging this

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2010



14989 Comments


anyone got some other good clickety clackety beats for my hip jam playlist

Adash
November 23rd 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The ones I namedrop in the review, assuming you haven't heard them:

Trentemoller - The Last Resort
Minilogue - Animals
Villialobos - Alcachofa
and
Shed - Shedding the Past



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy