Sepultura
Roorback


3.0
good

Review

by lostforwords USER (36 Reviews)
October 29th, 2010 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Third record with Derrick Green on vocals and in order to have an accurate description of the record you need to look no further than the title of track number 4;” More of the same”. More of the same post-Max Sepultura, as we knew them from 1997 to 2003. Indeed, Roorback sounds like the more energetic child of Nation, the record that drowned itself in over-experimentation, as much as daring and interesting as it was as an initial idea (the idea of Sepultura not playing it safe). Sepultura look to turn to their heavier side in Roorback, without actually adding anything new to their sound

It couldn’t be said though that they manage to improve on an already established sound of records past either. While the whole idea is that they try and incorporate the best elements from the previous two records, results do vary here. Sepultura sound absolutely stunning when playing their heavier material; “Godless” and “Apes of God” are built up on a ten tone groove , with punishing riffs (check the intro to Apes of God) and effective breakdowns. On the other hand “More of the same” is equally heavy, but blunt and pointless.

Speed is no stranger here either. Only it doesn’t come in the form of thrash, but (just like Against-both the tittle track and the record in general) in the shape of hardcore and Sepultura don’t always deliver, as it is already mentioned; “Activist” and “The Rift” are filled with harmless aggression .Then again, the same cannot be said for “Corrupted” or the devastating-as-usual opener ”Come Back Alive” . Also, “Mind Wars” has a trademark Sepultura riff with a surprising mid section , i.e. a mellower Derrick Green taking over.

Finally, much like a good part of Nation, there are the tracks that are almost entirely based on Green’s voice, with a lot of melodic singing.”As it is” utilizes a not-so-brilliant quite-loud dynamic and “Urge” buzzes without ever getting anywhere. It’s only with “Bottomed Out”, whose atmosphere brings to mind a mixture of Deftones and the Brazilian folk as Sepultura display it all these years, that the band really does something special.

All in all, Roorback compared to any record with Green on vocals (save for A-Lex) is probably the safest and most uninspired. It is the first time since 1991’s Arise that the band makes a move sideways (or backwards if you like).and the last up until now. However, this record is by no means completely devoid of interesting ideas and that is why initially fans were generally pleased with it. But the lack of true quality and the lack of a will to take some risks (have in mind that the band still struggled at that point to prove that there is a world without Max Cavalera) was the main reason why this record couldn’t (and didn’t) stand the test of time.



Recent reviews by this author
Thorns Thorns vs Emperor (split w/ Emperor)Manowar Kings of Metal MMXIV
Warlord The Holy EmpireKorn Korn
Newsted MetalOmen Warning of Danger
user ratings (222)
Chart.
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
LepreCon
October 29th 2010


4152 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Review's good, I'll pos, but this album is just so painfully average

lostforwords
October 29th 2010


446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I felt that the good moments outnumber (by a little anyway) the average ones, it's just that once you 've heard Nation and Against, there is not much new here. So it gets less and less interesting, more and more boring. Otherwise, there are some very good songs, objectively

Pyosisified
October 29th 2010


2450 Comments


more like loolback amirite

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2010


6286 Comments


new to their sound

put a period at the end of the sentence.



well written, good to see you reviewing again man.

Digging: Madred - Supersonic Brainfuck Overdrive

DatsNotDaMetulz
December 29th 2012


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Rather typical that the copy I bought is missing Godless and Apes of God

thumbcrusher
April 5th 2013


3607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

not that good an album but Apes of God slays

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only by Fire

BigPleb
April 5th 2013


37588 Comments


If a Sepultura album is gonna be bumped, at least let it be a good one.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


21449 Comments


brb gonna bump Schizophrenia.

thumbcrusher
April 5th 2013


3607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well it wouldn't make much sense to praise a song from here on the beneath the remains thread would it

DatsNotDaMetulz
April 5th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Favourite track for me (from the version I have) is probably Mind War. But that's not got any traces of the classic Sepultura sound.

thumbcrusher
April 5th 2013


3607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i like mind war a lot too, derrick's a really good vocalist, just took while to get the song writing consistently good though without max. saying that they were on the way down with him anyway, so i really do think the hate derrick gets is stupid.

DatsNotDaMetulz
April 5th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm personally in the Soulfly camp with that but I like there being 2 bands as Sepultura are getting better with each release and Eloy's a good drummer. Then we have Soulfly who are always trying new things and have Marc Rizzo. Plus there's Cavalera Conspiracy, although I'm not sure Rizzo should be in both those bands.

thumbcrusher
April 5th 2013


3607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cavalera conspiracy seems to be just soulfly with igor

DatsNotDaMetulz
April 5th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, which is why they need a different guitarist. ATM both bands seem to be Cavalera-Cavalera-Campos-Rizzo with the only difference being one of the Cavaleras changes between bands from Zyon to Iggor. Logan Mader would be cool.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


21449 Comments


Never really liked Soulfly. Never cared much for anything Max has done since Arise tbh. Early Sepultura is awesome though.

DatsNotDaMetulz
April 5th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Soulfly are working on a new album iirc for either late 2013 or very early 2014 release. Which is both good as it's new Soulfly and *could* see Zyon on drums, but also bad as it further postpones Nailbomb II (they've been going nearly 3 years now and still don't even have a name).

thumbcrusher
April 5th 2013


3607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nailbomb II? would that be with alex again? i ahven't heard anything about that

DatsNotDaMetulz
April 5th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nah that's just what everyone calls it, it's the thing with Greg Puciato, Dave Elitch and Troy Sanders (I'd hope they're looking for a lead guitarist too). As I said they don't have a name yet.

thumbcrusher
April 5th 2013


3607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ooh that, damn man you got hopes up haha

looks like a cool thing though

DatsNotDaMetulz
April 5th 2013


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Greg said in February they've got 11 songs and just need to hit the studio (they may have already done by now) while Max I think said recently that it might be out after the new Soulfly record. Greg's said that they couldn't release it around Dillinger's new album and Mastodon are working on something too so they can't release it around that either so it's looking like it's gonna be a 2014 release now. Fingers crossed for late 2013 though cos that would be awesome.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy