Horseback
The Invisible Mountain


4.0
excellent

Review

by Tim Verhoeff USER (19 Reviews)
October 18th, 2010 | 51 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Horseback delivers the drone trip for all summers to come.

Horseback is a one man doom/drone project by Jenks Miller and The Invisible Mountain is his second CD. After it's original release in 2009 it's now been picked up by Relapse and re-released. As far as I know nothing has been added to the record. It’s still the same four song 38 minute record.

The overall feel of The Invisible Mountain is very relaxed. Think Bohren und der Club of Gore being covered by Earth at twice the speed these bands normally play. Laid back but with drums, guitar, bass and keys. Mix in a little 70’s spacerock, a bit of Altar of Plagues and even some post-rock. Listen to the first few minutes of “Hatecloud Dissolving Into Nothing” and you’ll swear this was a postrock album. I actually can’t hear a word he is singing and it sure doesn’t sound like happy hippie music, but still this is a very relaxing in the sun type album.

The fact you can’t really hear what he is singing has nothing to do with the production. There is nothing wrong with that. All instruments are present in the mix and nothing is ever drowning in bass or too present. A very clear sounding record.

The basic song structure for all four songs is pretty much the same. Pick a riff, be it bass or guitar, play a semi-clean melody line over it and keep repeating this for at least 6 minutes with a few small variations. Every now and then the vocals flow in and out, but most of the time it’s the riff and the melody line that drive the song. And Horseback does that very well.

The only downside to this album are the vocals. They will probably determine if you’ll go out and buy this record. The raw, heavily effect driven, black metal vocals are always in the background but because of the style they are very present and will probably scare you away the first time you listen to The Invisible Mountain. They did that to me. Even though I really liked the music I pressed stop the first time the vocals came in. But after a few spins it was the overall feel of this great doom/drone/postrock trip that is The Invisible Mountain that won me over.



Recent reviews by this author
Bruce Lamont Feral Songs for the Epic DeclineMajeure Timespan
Mount Moriah Mount MoriahLesbian Stratospheria Cubensis
Aethenor En Form for BlaKiss the Anus of a Black Cat Hewers of Wood and Drawers of Water
user ratings (50)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
October 18th 2010


44482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rules. Great review.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

Wizard
November 13th 2010


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

# 2 album for 2010. Come on Sputnik, get on this one already.

The only downside to this album are the vocals. They will probably determine if you’ll go out and buy this record. The raw, heavily effect driven, black metal vocals are always in the background but because of the style they are very present and will probably scare you away the first time you listen to The Invisible Mountain.

Perfectly compliments the music.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

feav233
January 7th 2011


1411 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is great

ev0ken
April 7th 2011


586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

after countless times seeing this cd laying in my room over the past year, and numerous times wanting to play it, ive finally decided to give this a spin today and boy let me tell you i should of started listening to it when it first got it. good stuff here.

Wizard
April 7th 2011


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably one of my favourite albums of past decade.

North0House2
April 7th 2011


5858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is definitely really cool.

Digging: Zelienople - The World Is A House On Fire

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2011


6149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I came across this accidentally, this is fuckin' orgasmic!!



Edit: The music flows so naturally, it's like watching a Santorini summer sunset...

Digging: Raven Throne - ???????? ?????????

Wizard
August 20th 2011


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is one of the best psychodelic/ jam metal albums I've ever come across.

Oceanus
May 11th 2012


877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Got this today, don't really know what to expect.

Inveigh
May 27th 2012


25019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this sounds awesome, I'll be checking it out asap

Wizard
May 27th 2012


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Holy fuck, I can't believe you haven't heard this yet Inveigh. I guarantee, if I know your music tastes as well as I think I do, this will make you cream your panties. I could 5/5 this for being the best fucking drone/ metal album ever created.

Inveigh
May 28th 2012


25019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ok yeah so this does indeed fucking rule

Inveigh
May 31st 2012


25019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

seriously can't believe this hasn't gotten more love on here


but then again, i'd never heard of it until like 4 days ago

foxblood
October 11th 2012


6797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the last track is incredible

Inveigh
October 11th 2012


25019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this album is the shit

MrElmo
October 15th 2012


1955 Comments


this has been in my amazon basket for about 2 months now saying come on man you know you'll love me!

Wizard
October 15th 2012


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And it will love you if you love metal/ drone.

CaptainDooRight
October 15th 2012


29453 Comments


dam gotta check

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

CaptainDooRight
October 24th 2012


29453 Comments


so legiz

Inveigh
February 3rd 2014


25019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

jammed this for the first time in too long on Saturday, gonna jam it again tonight and potentially 4.5 this bitch



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy