Hail of Bullets
On Divine Winds


3.0
good

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
October 8th, 2010 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: On Divine Winds is a decent death metal album, nothing more, nothing less

On Divine Winds is a death metal album that compositionally meets all the requirements, but it doesn't offer anything new. It has all the basic qualities of death metal, but on the negative side, besides Martin van Drunen’s vocal performance, there is nothing to set the record apart from other standard death metal albums. On Divine Winds is death metal in its purest, but also in its most casual form.

The one genuinely original thing about this record, as said, lies in the vocals of Drunen. His style sounds like a mishmash of screaming and gutturals, presented in a truly ominous way. At times he sounds like a tortured warprisoner, and at others, he reminds me of a screaming general who has either smoked way too much, or has had a bullet fly through his throat at some time in the past. The small downside to Drunen’s vox is that, though original, they do become somewhat tiring by the end of the record, and he doesn't vary them up either (the latter is not a distinct minus though, as we are dealing with death metal after all).

As for the rest of the record and its components, everything is decent, but nothing more. Practically every song on the album has the same structure and sound: The songs usually open up with a semi-groovy death metal riff and then quickly transition into medium-paced, downtuned stompers, with a slow lead raising head every now and then. The leads are pretty interesting and when there are solos they work very well, but a little bit more experimentation, soloing or just plain old time signatures would have been great, since the album does start to drag a little about 2/3 through. The main reason for this is the aforementioned lack of change in overall sound. Most of the songs just melt together into a long, but ultimately derivative track, since there is basically nothing to set them apart from eachother, unless you are keeping a constant eye on the tracklist. And even though I do appreciate the crunchy, downtuned guitar tone and the doom influences present, the rhythms still sound rather tired at times, thus making some parts of the album underwhelming.

On Divine Winds sure is one consistent album, but it's consistently decent, and nothing more. It is a good record that has solid, if somewhat restrained musicianship, and an overall sound that, while pretty strong at its core, is sadly too invariant to make a very big impact. The drums are pulsating, but I feel like the patterns could be more complex; the riffs are "nice", but they lack the surprise and "wow" factors; the mixing is well done in the sense that it is very balanced, yet it also doesn’t help to highlight anything, thus making the album feel a bit one-dimensional. With that in mind, I can recommend this album for people who just want to listen to some good but casual death metal with war themed (more specifically, Pacific War themed) lyrics. If that is the kind of music that gets you off, On Divine Winds would be a solid addition to your collection, but there is better death metal out there from this year.



Recent reviews by this author
Atrum Tempestas NeantEluveitie Origins
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
user ratings (47)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

stream: http://www.metalunderground.com/news/details.cfm?newsid=60569

iPim
October 8th 2010


331 Comments


Thought this deserved a higher rating from my first couple of listens. It doesn't top ''... of frost and war'' though...

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well the album starts off as a 3.5 for me, but it's just too much of the same throughout imo.

iPim
October 8th 2010


331 Comments


Agreed, I saw them live on Elsrock (small dutch one-day festival) and they blew me away. Bought their first full length and played it till infinity. I'm glad they made another similar album, I just love this sound so much.

Any other bands with the same kind of sound?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

look into the "recommended by reviewer" section

Hawks
October 8th 2010


35838 Comments


Nice review man. I'll probably stay away from this one.

iPim
October 8th 2010


331 Comments


Hmm... I already know Asphyx and Pestilence (ressurection Macabre is a weak effort though, put an earlier album by them on there if you can)

Will check out Demiurg

SCREAM!
October 8th 2010


10310 Comments


iPim, check out Bloodbath if you havent.

First album was good but i found that one overly repetitive too so i think ill steer clear of this

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You can always check out Bolt Thrower too, iPim, if you haven't already. Also, I agree that Resurrection Macabre was boring, but it's the closest Pestilence album as far as sound goes.

iPim
October 8th 2010


331 Comments


Thats true. I already know Bloodbath and Bolt Thrower, but still thanks for the rec's! I pre-ordered this cd because I'm dutch too, but I'll get it thursday

Btw, I pos'd

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


6273 Comments


short, detailed and very well written, pos'd.

@ Metalstyles and everyone who knows

how do you see the band's debut with respect to this one?

Is it better, worse or the same?

Digging: Varathron - Untrodden Corridors of Hades

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's the same as far as sound goes, maybe a tad more interesting (I guess I'd give that one a 3.5). They're both really similar though so you can't go wrong with either one if you are trying to get into the band.

iPim
October 8th 2010


331 Comments


First one definetely is better IMO Voivod, start with that one (and if you really like it, try this one)

Smalley
October 8th 2010


108 Comments


Don't like the vocals at all.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd say the vocals are pretty hit-or-miss, yeah. They're original, but in a way that it can go either way, depending on the listener's vocal preferences

iPim
October 8th 2010


331 Comments


The vocals really stand out to me. I'm glad btw that this is posted on the main-page (don't know how those four reviewspots are called), I hope it'll get the band some exposure.

jingledeath
October 8th 2010


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

HOLY SHIT MAGNUS we have the same rating for this album

and van Drunen’s vocals rule.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The ones on the genre page (I assume you are talking about those) aka genre features are given to staff/contribs automatically, based on the release date (if the release is new enough, it'll land there). It's a built-in system that does it and only contrib/staff reviews get to go there, unlike the main page, which is controlled by the moderators.

EDIT: HOLY SHIT JINGLE YOU'RE RIGHT!!!

Dethtrasher
October 8th 2010


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy shit I need this.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Holy shit a Dethtrasher sighting!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy