An Autumn For Crippled Children
Lost


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hawks USER (71 Reviews)
October 8th, 2010 | 177 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist


Ask yourself a question right now. What is the first thing that comes to your mind when you hear the band name An Autumn for Crippled Children? When I hear that I think of depressing things such as death, despair, hate, misanthropy, and other things of that nature. Well that's exactly what this band An Autumn for Crippled Children display on their debut full-length album, Lost. The band was formed with three members, MXM on vocals, guitars, and keyboards, TXT on bass, and CXC on drums, only two short years ago in 2008 in The Netherlands and they are still unknown by most people. The band plays in the depressive, atmospheric black metal style mixed with doom elements here and there. While listening to Lost bands like Leviathan or Alcest may come to mind. One thing's for sure though, if An Autumn for Crippled Children keeps up what they're doing on this album, they'll be a lot more well known around not only Sputnik, but all around the black metal community and the world.

Lost isn't an album that is going to wow you instrumentally. Nothing technical or too intricate going on here. What you do get, however, is plenty of hypnotic riffs and tremolo picked guitars and repetitive fast and slow "black metal" drum styles and also some acoustic guitars thrown in here and there for good measure. The guitars are pretty standard for atmospheric black metal. They're mostly tremolo picked and semi-melodic and usually pretty catchy. They're used to set the atmosphere here, which is very dark, yet also sort of beautiful at the same time. Pretty similar to something you would hear on an Alcest album, which is a good thing. Acoustic guitars show up every once in a while to maintain the "beauty" of the album, while still also retaining that bleak and depressing feeling. Drumming is, once again, very standard for this type of black metal. Usually they're very slow and just keep the beat of the song going. Sometimes you'll see the drumming pick up and do some blast beats, but they usually opt for the slower, doomier style of drumming and it works out very well. There is a very big doom metal influence on this album and it shouldn't go unappreciated. An Autumn for Crippled Children really would rather play a slow and painful brand of black metal than speed everything up. They know how to play fast, which is displayed a little on Lost, they just choose not to.

Vocals here are very well done. The vocalist, MXM, who also handles guitars and keyboards, is an excellent vocalists as well as musician. The person he can be compared to the most would probably be Wrest from Leviathan. His voice is very distorted and kind of lower in the mix, but you can hear the pain that this man spews from his vocal chords with every word he screams. Every word he says just screams death, despair, and hatred for the world pretty much. Hey it's depressive black metal, what do you expect? Like I said earlier, while this album goes for the more depressing atmosphere, and it definitely does, it also displays a sense of beauty. Those are two styles you wouldn't think would go together very well, but An Autumn for Crippled Children really pull it off and execute that feeling extremely well. With screams of hatred and lyrical themes about depression, anguish, anger, and hatred you wouldn't expect anything beautiful to come out of that whatsoever, but it does and that takes the album to a whole other level.

Basically, if you like depressing things then you'll enjoy this album a lot. An Autumn for Crippled Children really do the whole depressive, suicidal black metal thing very well and they're still a very young band. Remember, Lost is only their debut album. Like I mentioned earlier, this band is like a mixture between Leviathan and Alcest, so if you're into either of those bands then you really need to hear this album too. They bring the hatred and distorted shrieks of death and destruction of Leviathan, and the beauty and acoustics of Alcest. That's a pretty damn good mixture if you ask me. But hey, you can decide for yourself. Bigger and better things should be expected of this band in the future, so watch out for them. They're definitely a band that will need to be reckoned with in the black metal genre for years to come and they're definitely a bright spot of the modern day black metal scene.



Recent reviews by this author
Incantation The Infernal StormXanthochroid Blessed He With Boils
Cradle of Filth Midnight in the LabyrinthIstapp Blekinge
Antediluvian Through the Cervix of HawaahMarduk Dark Endless
user ratings (90)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
October 8th 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album slays hard. Tell me what you guys think.

DoubtGin
October 8th 2010


6752 Comments


pretty good review, I pos'd

I wont bother listening to this though since its not my type of musiic

Hawks
October 8th 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks bro. Yeah judging by your pie chart it doesn't seem like something you would like. You never know though.

GorgonzolaCheese1
October 8th 2010


278 Comments


Heard this for the first time the other day. Great release from a little-known black metal act. Good review, dude. Have a pos.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


16440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good album, just listened to it the other day actually.

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

Hawks
October 8th 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I've been loving it recently. This and Melancholie are kicking my ass. I really liked this at first, but it grew on me even more. This is top 5 of the year for me now.

Motiv3
October 8th 2010


8939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

depressive atmospheric black metal....sounds right up my alley as far as black metal is concerned. Good review

Hawks
October 8th 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man. Yeah this album really slays. You'll definitely dig it.

PinkBlackberry
October 8th 2010


2346 Comments


pretty well written review. If you don't mind me pointing out a really nitpicky flaw?

I feel like you use some words a repeatedly. and some things you state, then the next sentence state
again.

Vocals here are very well done. The vocalist, MXM, who also handles guitars and keyboards, is
an excellent vocalists as well as musician. The person he can be compared to the most vocally ...


you could clean this entire part up and use other words than vocal- OR, you could take them out all-
together. The reason being, once you say it once I.E The Vocals here are very well done. The reader
is going to automatically assume the entire paragraph (until stated otherwise) is going to be about
the vocalist. you're a coherent writer so I don't see you stating the vocals are great, then going
on a tangent about the drummer instead.

but hey man take it or leave it, just something I noticed.

Hawks
October 8th 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's a good point man, thanks. I'll try to clean it up.

PinkBlackberry
October 8th 2010


2346 Comments


Thanks for takin' a look rather than taking it as a personal attack ^.^ I'm not the best writer on earth but I try to point out things that have been pointed out to me. Passin' on that knowledge yo!

Hawks
October 8th 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha amen brother.

SCREAM!
October 8th 2010


10215 Comments


Your writing is good hawks but i think you really need to branch out your review styles more. Im starting to get the feeling that a lot of similar stuff is being repeated from review to review and i think taking a break from BM into other metal genres or other genres altogether might help you.

I tried my hand out at reviewing a few electronic albums recently and its been an enjoyable challenge that actually pushes me to think of ways to describe the sound rather than just defining the genre

Hawks
October 8th 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was thinking that too. I mean I only really listen to black and death metal so it might be hard to branch out TOO much, but I could give it a try.

SCREAM!
October 8th 2010


10215 Comments


you should check out that tomba album i reviewed. i think there's a chance you might like that style of dubstep. Think if they put groovy swedish dm into a fully electronic genre. Dirty filrthy and groovy

Hawks
October 8th 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Alright man I might give it a try when I'm able to download stuff again. Hopefully that's today.

SCREAM!
October 8th 2010


10215 Comments


if you have youtube then check the song Choke On Coke. If you like it then youll like the rest

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2010


8371 Comments


Nice review Hawks, though I also agree with Simon. If you only review one specific genre, reviews have a tendency to become overly similar and systematic.

Also, I do get what PinkBlackberry was getting at. Some examples:

One thing's for sure though, if An Autumn for Crippled Children keeps up what they're doing on this album, they'll be a lot more well known around not only Sputnik, but all around the black metal community and the world.
The vocalist, MXM, who also handles guitars and keyboards, is an excellent vocalists as well as musician.
Just try to avoid repeating the same words, and for the most part, ideas you've already brought to the table (unless we're talking about the conclusion).

Apollo
October 8th 2010


10336 Comments


great review Hawks, you are a machine dude. I need this if it sounds similar to Alcest.

jingledeath
October 8th 2010


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album's gooood



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy