Exodus
Exhibit B: The Human Condition


4.5
superb

Review

by Only rates well known thrash USER (15 Reviews)
September 30th, 2010 | 44 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Exodus finds a sweet spot, and delivers yet again

What is there to say about Exodus at this point? Their classic stuff is some of the best thrash to offer, they have one of the great rhythm guitarists in all of thrash in Gary Holt (only Dave Mustaine and Jeff Waters are absolutely above him), and have stayed remarkably consistent as they've aged. But they've never made the same album twice. Even 2008's re-recording of the classic Bonded by Blood sounded very, very different from the original. Every Exodus release has something particular about it that easily distinguishes it from all the others. So it's no surprise that their latest album, Exhibit B: The Human Condition, continues on this path and throws in plenty of new wrinkles that give this album it's own unique brand. Too bad it won't sound like the next one.

Compared to Exhibit A, Exhibit B speeds up the Exodus attack, while also throwing in more melody and variation to the formula. Due to the length of most of the tracks, you'll get multiple riffs per song, and oftentimes tracks have multiple sections (like progressive metal), executed to perfection of course. It really is impressive how skilled each member of this band is at their respective instrument. The result is an extremely tight, focused effort that allows for very creative solos and lead breaks, surprisingly good guitar harmonies, some cool atmospheric sections in the beginning and end of the album (as well as dead in the middle), and a lot of variation from track to track. Be it the guitar harmonies of Beyond the Pale and Good Riddance (in the chorus and solo respectively), the swagger of March of the Sycophants, the pure rage of Class Dismissed, the melody and articulate lyrics in Downfall, the gloom and doom of Nanking, or the light speed assaults of The Ballad of Leonard and Charles, each track has something to like about it that is its own. Just like the album in relation to the discography, no two tracks sound alike here. And if they do, it's not for very long.

I know it's cool to hate Rob Dukes, but this is definitely his best vocal performance with the band. His vocals on Shovel were just a generic rasp, while Exhibit A and LTBB featured more of a high pitched snarl. He still uses the snarl on here, but it's much less screamy and more listenable. He also throws in a good amount of diversity, showcasing a Souza-like sneer (Hammer and Life), rough, low-register vocals that harken back to early death metal (The Sun Is My Destroyer), and an odd, half-clean half-snarl approach on Democide and Nanking. Dukes always fit the music for Exodus, but I'd never thought I'd see the day when there was any extended diversity to his voice, so that's a pleasant surprise. He's still no Chuck Billy, but he's much improved.

Bottom line, Exodus brought their A game when they made Exhibit B. The length (12 tracks, 74 minutes) can be a turnoff for those who like their thrash short and sweet, but trust me, the flawlessly executed riffs, solos, speed, and honestly just the quality of the tracks will make this album fly by, and seem much closer to your average thrash album length of ~50 minutes. The only stumbling point is The Sun Is My Destroyer, which is overly long and stuffed with a few too many ideas. The classic days are gone and aren't coming back, but no Exodus fan has any reason to be missing them. This is very much modern thrash, Exodus just does it better than just about everyone else.

Recommended Tracks (if I had to pick 4):
The Ballad of Leonard and Charles
Beyond the Pale
Class Dismissed (A Hate Primer)
Democide



Recent reviews by this author
Sodom In War and PiecesExodus Shovel Headed Kill Machine
Bonded by Blood Feed the BeastOverkill Bloodletting
Overkill IronboundExodus The Atrocity Exhibition: Exhibit A
user ratings (313)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Chris Gaduzo (4)
Exodus reassure us that they are still one of the major players in the metal world...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Jesuslaves
September 30th 2010


4658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't decide on the rating... it's a weak 4.5, but a little better than a 4. Enjoy.

TheFantasticDangler
September 30th 2010


1174 Comments


The REAL Big Four?

First paragraph comes off as you seem to think your opinion is fact.

Digging: Rishloo - Living as Ghosts with Buildings as Teeth

Jesuslaves
September 30th 2010


4658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Go look on any thrash video on youtube.

Terrifyer
September 30th 2010


3403 Comments


thrash review beginning with big four discussion suprise suprise

vanderb0b
September 30th 2010


3473 Comments


Band is really boring, esp with the current vocalist.

Jesuslaves
September 30th 2010


4658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey it's not like that was the basis for my review.

TheFantasticDangler
September 30th 2010


1174 Comments


Go look on any thrash video on youtube.



Typed in Exodus, found this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ur3pVBpX_Xc

Whadayaknow: @Tenkaichibudokai22 Dude, what the hell is wrong with you? everyone knows that the big four of thrash are Metallica, Anthrax, Slayer and´╗┐ Megadeth. not those wannabes you named.



hahahaha

Terrifyer
September 30th 2010


3403 Comments


youtube commenters have sub-human intelligence who gives a fuck about what they think?

Jesuslaves
September 30th 2010


4658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ugh you people sometimes...

Hey, look what's no longer in the review.

TheFantasticDangler
September 30th 2010


1174 Comments


youtube commenters have sub-human intelligence who gives a fuck about what they think?


I agree wholeheartedly, but I only went there because he said any thrash video had a big four
argument. First one I looked at did.

NeutralThunder12
September 30th 2010


8742 Comments


"What is there to say about Exodus as this point?"

little error, its AT this point.

"Their classic stuff is some of the best thrash to offer, they have one of the great rhythm guitarists in all of thrash in Gary Holt (only Dave Mustaine and Jeff Waters are absolutely above him)"

sounds like a third grader who knows nothing about thrash wrote this, Dave Mustaine and Jeff Waters loving him doesn't make him a good player and is irrelevant

Most of the first paragraph seems awkward and just seems to hint at the fact that you are trying to say that Exodus is a ridiculously diverse band, which I disagree with, but ok.

Review is kind of informal, and the first paragraph definitely needs to be altered and worded better, but I won't neg. Now tell me how dumb I am.


NeutralThunder12
September 30th 2010


8742 Comments


oh and come on

"Their classic stuff is some of the best thrash to offer"

outrageously awkward phrase

Terrifyer
September 30th 2010


3403 Comments


Their classic stuff is some of the best thrash has to offer
there

NeutralThunder12
September 30th 2010


8742 Comments


it still sounds kinda awkward though. "Their classic stuff"? This aint a third grade homework assignment.

How about "The band's older material"



vanderb0b
September 30th 2010


3473 Comments


Review is pretty good, but there's way too many simple sentences (particularly in the first paragraph), which makes it seem very choppy. That said, I'll pos.

NeutralThunder12
September 30th 2010


8742 Comments


Jesuslaves cannot be older than 13

Terrifyer
September 30th 2010


3403 Comments


good review btw i pos'd

Jesuslaves
September 30th 2010


4658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So kind of word spell check to ignore my typos.

Review's not meant to be formal, none of mine are, they're meant for the average person wanting to know how the band sounds in an understandable format. You don't need to use 4 syllable words, 6 line sentences, overuse cheesy metaphors and ramble on about poetry to get the point across.

sounds like a third grader who knows nothing about thrash wrote this, Dave Mustaine and Jeff Waters loving him doesn't make him a good player and is irrelevant


Reviews are opinions, and I'm pretty sure my thrash knowledge at least doubles yours.

little error, its AT this point.


No shit, it's called a typo.

And I'm much older than 13. It's you I'm wondering about.

LepreCon
September 30th 2010


4156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yeah, pos'd

vanderb0b
September 30th 2010


3473 Comments


You don't need to use...6 line sentences


No. You don't need to. Of course reviews are informal. But you use the same sentence structure too much. And some fragments. Like this. It makes the text choppy. And hard to read. See what I mean, bro? Just some advice. For future reviews.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy