Morbid Angel
Gateways to Annihilation


3.5
great

Review

by Gorification USER (3 Reviews)
September 25th, 2010 | 420 replies | 16,816 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not Morbid Angel's best, but worthy of their name, and a damn good listen.

3 of 8 thought this review was well written

During this time period of Morbid Angel, many fans of their music were quite disappointed. For some, Domination was their last worthy release. In 2000, they released Gateways to Annihilation.

This album definitely isn’t the opus that Covenant was, and after a band releases a classic, the expectations for later releases can soar to ridiculous heights. So what could possibly be wrong with Gateways? Honestly, very little. The songwriting is great, incorporating riffs that are easily memorable. For example, the opening riff of Summoning Redemption can be described with multiple words: chugging, sludgy, heavy, etc. In fact, it is probably my favorite riff of the album. They also know how to slow things down, because what is a death metal album without crawling, mind-crushingly slow passages? They’ve got their fast songs and they’ve got their slow songs, and they’re both equally effective. Azagthoth’s crazy, otherworldly guitar solos are still here as well, thankfully. The drumming is as great as ever, of course, with Pete Sandoval behind the drum kit.

Now that David Vincent is gone, another vocalist/bassist has taken over: Steve Tucker, and he does an excellent job. Nobody could ever replace Vincent, but Tucker certainly does not disappoint in the vocal department. Speaking of vocals, on Secured Limitations, Azagthoth gives a shot at doing vocals with a higher pitched rasp, resembling a sound that might be on a black metal record, and layered with the deep growls, creates quite a destructive force. The intro on this album was useless, but the only other instrumental, Awakening, is a great example of the kind of dark, sinister atmosphere Gateways to Annihilation creates and holds throughout. It would have benefited from better production, the drums being too low in the mix. Otherwise, Gateways has a satisfyingly thick sound.

I really tried to find the flaws on this release, but I can’t find any. So why is it only a 3.5? Because I’ve already heard this before from Morbid Angel, and it was done better. I suppose if this wasn’t a Morbid Angel release, it may have gotten a 4, maybe even a 4.5. But the songwriting isn’t up to par with their best work. In conclusion, Gateways to Annihilation is surely worth the listen, just don’t be surprised if it doesn’t blow your mind.


user ratings (336)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gorification
September 25th 2010



1124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

surprised nobody did a review for this, so i threw one together.

ShadowRemains
September 25th 2010



19431 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

meh for the album

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2010



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well written review, pos'd.

i also agree with what you wrote.

i like Tucker's vocals, i believe that the criticism he receives is unfair.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Gorification
September 25th 2010



1124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

domination did have terrible vocals (except for hatework, which was awesome). but i still prefer david vincent over tucker, that is if david brings his covenant vocals to the table.

Det_Nosnip
September 25th 2010



374 Comments


I suppose if this wasn’t a Morbid Angel release, it may have gotten a 4, maybe even a 4.5.


Pretty much. TBH there isn't much Trey's done that I haven't enjoyed and his stuff tends to be way above par for DM.
The vocals are fine...honestly can't see what
people wouldn't like about them (assuming they like harsh vocals, of course), but I like legato growls.

This album's pretty much a classic from a drumming standpoint btw...I think Opening of the Gates was when Pete broke
some sort of speed record which was a big deal for blasters.

Gorification
September 25th 2010



1124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hell yeah, pete is an awesome drummer.

BlackSabbath
September 25th 2010



57 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"G" is a good release along with "F", I wish I could say the same for "H" though.

Gorification
September 25th 2010



1124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, heretic was fucking boring.

Planetaryduality
October 3rd 2010



7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a pretty enjoyable album if you liked any of the other ones

ShoeSoup
January 18th 2011



782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

probably the best morbid aynjel after altars... coincidence that it features the best artwork after altars, drawn/painted by the same artist?

ShoeSoup
January 25th 2011



782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"This album definitely isn’t the opus that Covenant was,"

who said anything about covenant being an opus? this and altars are the only "opi" i've heard from MA.

ShoeSoup
January 26th 2011



782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i know that and i dont give a fuck what dumb people think. that album is no opus. altars and gateways are way better. sure, covenant is good, but it just isnt as amazing as people make it out to be.

ShoeSoup
January 26th 2011



782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha altars took it to a new level and no other band sounded like they did at the time. the energy on that album was never matched.

keyboardxmosh
January 26th 2011



1007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This album sucks dude.

Altars rules though, but I kind of like Blessed more for some reason.

ShoeSoup
January 26th 2011



782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is incredible. at least as far as riffs, leads, vocals, lyrics, drums, and artwork go. not sure what your criteria for rating an album is

Terrifyer
January 26th 2011



3403 Comments


i prefer Formulas to this as far as their newer stuff goes

ShoeSoup
January 26th 2011



782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

havent heard formulas yet but im sure its also incredible

keyboardxmosh
January 26th 2011



1007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this album is incredible. at least as far as riffs, leads, vocals, lyrics, drums, and artwork go. not sure what your criteria for rating an album is
i look for music that isnt fucking boring

ShoeSoup
January 26th 2011



782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you just don't understand morbid angel. you need to be in certain moods to appreciate certain albums.

TheEnigmaPrognosis
March 9th 2011



29 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gateways is an incredible album, and one of MA's best. What I can't understand is the praise for Altars. The album lacks a lot of variety and the tunes aren't as engaging as the ones found on Gateways at that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy