At the Drive-In
Relationship of Command


5.0
classic

Review

by Bchop13 USER (22 Reviews)
October 15th, 2005 | 21 replies | 6,429 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist


1 of 7 thought this review was well written

At The Drive In is a classic mix of hard rock, hardcore, and in there earlier days punk. This album is a classic cause At the drive in comes with a purpose to get respect, something they couldn't get before with their two other albums.

Track By Track

1. Arcarsenal
Starts off with a real cool for some people spooky beat, and then goes into this crazy guitar riff and here you have Relationship Of Command. The energetic screaming and the classic line, I must have read a thousand faces. And the energy just never stops, this is the kind of song you pick up at the music store and wonder what there going to do next. And then the lyric "I'd Really Like To Meet Him" is one you can sing along too. This is one of the overlooked songs on the album. 9/10

2. Pattern Aganist User
Really cool and funny start to this song were you hear a "hey", and then a few song you go into this real fast talking lyrics, that are very clever, the drums and the guitar in this song are great. And the chrous is mellow and neat. It's one of those songs that has a good follow up to the last song 9/10

3. One Armed Scissor
One of the more meaningful songs starts slow, but gets better during the chrous again the lyrics are just beautiful, which you've come to expect from ATDI, this is unbeliavable what there doing here, you could consider this a soft song for at the drive in. 9/10

4. Sleepwalk Capsules
Starts off with a bang, the duel vocals really work well with this band, but I in particular find myself liking this song but skipping it alot because at the end of the song it kind of loses it flow, but still the drums in this song are great and its still a good song. 8/10

5. Invalid Litter Dept
"Intraviously Polite it was the walkie talkie that put the pins down, and his shoes hit the dirt floor in the shiloutte of dying, dancing on the corspes ashes" "Yeah they had plans for him but they had spun the last of the pimps poliester satin nailed jewlery, and the guilten just laughed again, dancing on the corspes ashes" This song serves a purpose, and the lyrics as you probably can see are unbelevable, and if you skip one second of this song you are a loser, this is one of the greatest songs of all time. You have to hear this song live, its even better, this is where the album gets better, and better. The best part is the end of this song where you kind of hear a whisper of danicing on the corspes ashes", and then it speeds up, what makes a good hardcore song is when you can go from soft to hard just like that, and wow the first time you listen to this song it will take your breath away. 10/10

6. Manequin Republic
Follows up to Invalid Litter Dept, very well, with its fast pace, and the guitar in this is great. It also serves a purpose. Many of the at the drive in fans love this song. 8.5/10

7. Enflade
Starts with a telphone ringing and some guy saying I am coming, its acatully pretty scary, and then it cuts off and go's in this crazy beat, i dont know whats going on in this song there is singing in the background. But hold on the end of this song is awesome and makes it worth listening the other 3 minutes of weirdness, the lyrics are awesome and they take it to another level. Average. 7.5/10

8. Rolodex propanganda
The voice in the background in this song is real weird, but the guitar and the other intruments in this song our cool, and the chrous is cool and make you wonder is this the fall down point? 7.5/10

9. Quarintind
Starts out with the rain in the background which is cool, and then it throws you into this air guitar moment when your wishing you could play guitar like that, but then the lyrics in this song are few they are very creative, and the chrous "Feeding Frenzy Its Contagious" is just take your breath away good. Wow this song is great. 10/10

10. Comsonaught
The first at the drive in song i listnend to is also one of the best, the lyrics in this song are great, especially the chrous with the "is it heavier than air"? chrous, then the crazy drum beat, i have to say this is what at the drive in is all about. 10/10

11. Non Zero Possibillity
Kind of soft song, buts still a favorite because it sums the album up well, after this at the drive in broke up and some members of the band formed what is know the Mars Volta, but this is a good kind of farewell song, i love the line " lets just paint your pretty face" and then it comes together on the chrous to make one of my favorites songs. 10/10

Recconmenned:
Arcasenal
Invailid Litter Dept
Quartiened
Cosomnaught
Non Zero Possibility

I really like all of the tracks but those are the few that stand out

Positives:
Lyrics are beautiful
Great Songs
Serve A Purpose

Negatives:
Some songs start off real weird



Recent reviews by this author
Brand New Your Favorite WeaponTaking Back Sunday Louder Now
Radiohead The BendsNewsboys Thrive
Cartel ChromaDc Talk Supernatural
user ratings (3301)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
October 15th 2005



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah yes, good times. Now I have The Mars Volta and now even better times.

Kid A
October 15th 2005



261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this cd. My favorite track would have to be Quarantined. But they are all gooooood.

Damrod
Moderator
October 15th 2005



1093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Gotta love it. One of my favorites is 'Sleepwalk Capsules', Cedrics singing and Jims backing vocals sound really great together. Overall a great album

Zebra
Moderator
October 15th 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Manequin Republic" is my favorite song off of this album. This album is decent, but I don't think it's as great as every says it is.

YDload
October 15th 2005



1207 Comments


Good album; bad review. You made way too many spelling errors, like you were rushing to get this review out as fast as possible. You also did a poor job describing the songs and filled the review up with lyrics instead of criticism.

I mean come on, you didn't spell "Cosmonaut" the same way twice!This Message Edited On 10.15.05

masada
October 15th 2005



2733 Comments


If I had never heard this, I would think (basing thiss off of the reivew) that they are just another generic rock band. This review was pretty bad (reasons are provided by YDload).

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 15th 2005



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This whole CD is fucking tight, I love it. This review is bad for 2 reasons though. Horrible spelling of the song names and I don't agree with your ratings. Improvement is on the horizon I hope for you.


Enfilade and Rolodex Propaganda are amazing. Along with the whole CD

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

kolzig33189
October 15th 2005



335 Comments


pretty good band i have this album and i like it but its nowehere near a 5

asheroth
October 16th 2005



130 Comments


Not agreeing with somebody's ratings is in no way a valid reason to neg their review. But I agree, this review isn't too good. You don't describe the elements that make ATDI unique at all - like Eliminator said, from this, I'd think they were generic rock. Not enough detail in the songs or in the introductory paragraph. Oh, and learn to spell.

choke383
October 16th 2005



66 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Comsonaught

thats funny

Storm In A Teacup
October 16th 2005



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know this has nothing to do with the review, sorry, but can anyone else get on any of the forums? I can't for some reason. :upset:

choke383
October 16th 2005



66 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, I can

Neoteric
October 16th 2005



3243 Comments


I can't but Jeremy should be on it.

Storm In A Teacup
October 16th 2005



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whatever he did screwed it up bad, I can't go to more of the new reviews or more of the comments, I can't get to the forums, and my smilies don't work. :angry:

Jawaharal
October 16th 2005



1832 Comments


He said if he had not heard it.

Killtacular
October 16th 2005



1314 Comments


You smell that?

Smells like... fanboy.

pulseczar
October 17th 2005



2385 Comments


crikey there sure are a lot of em this time o year

Jawaharal
October 17th 2005



1832 Comments


hit em wit da special shampoo if they get too close

YDload
October 17th 2005



1207 Comments


Eliminator Jr. you are being of lower intel, you should listen to this masterpiece . Open your mind to a new horizon that has arrived to late. Maybe if you get your cranium out of your ass and you start to like this ablum listen to all of the and listen to MARS VOLTA, sounds of animals fighting and cira survive !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ASSHOLE ingrate


You mentioned four bands that all sound pretty much the same. Or should I say, one TMV precursor and two bands that try to sound like TMV only whiter and with a higher-pitched, whinier singer.

Congratulations.

Apostle7
March 27th 2009



235 Comments


Worst review I have ever read. Are you twelve?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy