John Legend and the Roots
Wake Up!


3.0
good

Review

by Will IV USER (5 Reviews)
September 22nd, 2010 | 36 replies | 6,496 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Barack Obama approves of this message

4 of 7 thought this review was well written

"We wanted to make an album that spoke to the times in which we live... and this music feels so relevant right now. It's funky & frustrated, revolutionary and reflective, raw & righteous, spirited & spiritual. Oh yeah, and it's so very soulful." -John Legend. Well hot damn, John makes it sound like he's gonna bring back afros (what's up ?uestlove), bell bottoms, and anti-war folk songs. At least it certainly seems like he's gonna try. WAKE UP! is John Legends shot at bringing back the hippie movement of peace and love from the 1960s through music, 11 cover songs from that era to be precise, and one original track.

This is the hip-hop album you let your 10 year old daughter listen to. It's clean and friendly and full of good wholesome messages. There's nothing on here that's going to shock you or make you wish you had a couple twelve inch sub woofers before you popped this baby in. There are moments when the cheese factor may reach a level 8 out of 10, for instance in "Wake Up Everybody," there's a moment where you might think you'll start to hear Michael Jackson and other celebrity singers ask you for money to help the children, but don't worry, Michael Jackson really is dead (too soon?)

On the good side, Legend & The Roots cover of "Compared To What" is a pretty fun song. Fun in that holding-hands-and-singing-along-with-barney sorta fun. So if you voted for Barack Obama and you like 1960s soul and pop music, you're going to love this. I strongly urge you to buy this if you have to carpool a bunch of kids to school every day, because the musicianship is pretty good and the lyrics won't drive you crazy; but as far as John Legend and The Roots go, I think if they collaborated on an original album, good things could happen.


user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
foreverendeared
September 22nd 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

BAM first review in a while. Tell me what to do better

bailar14
September 22nd 2010



1603 Comments


hmmm......

theacademy
September 22nd 2010



28255 Comments


herd half its avg.

foreverendeared
September 22nd 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I write short reviews. I have a small attention span m'kay?

bailar14
September 22nd 2010



1603 Comments


tell me something witty, eccentric, or something thatll turn me on and ill dl this and pos you immediately.

foreverendeared
September 22nd 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love you, my ballsack is bigger than a zeppelin and something witty

bailar14
September 22nd 2010



1603 Comments


download is halfway complete now

witty indeed

foreverendeared
September 22nd 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

excellent

Mordecai.
September 22nd 2010



8270 Comments


This is the hip-hop album you let your 10 year old daughter listen to. It's clean and friendly and full of good wholesome messages. There's nothing on here that's going to shock you or make you wish you had a couple twelve inch sub woofers before you popped this baby in.


kinda like jurassic 5?

bailar14
September 22nd 2010



1603 Comments


errr idk about this one after a few tracks

i guess im kinda obligated now

foreverendeared
September 22nd 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's not bad. It's just not very original or anything.

foreverendeared
September 22nd 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This should totally be a featured review. SOMEONE MAKE IT HAPPEN!

foreverendeared
September 22nd 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh apparently you know you're from the ghetto when you have a face with a scar

EDIT like Omar from The Wire

foreverendeared
September 22nd 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nothin? shameless bump?

cfbassist
September 22nd 2010



328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good album is good

foreverendeared
September 23rd 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah it could have been so much better

coneren
September 23rd 2010



11111 Comments


Fantastix review

foreverendeared
September 23rd 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

YAY☻

AlexTM510
September 27th 2010



1398 Comments


So if you voted for Barack Obama and you like 1960s soul and pop music, you're going to love this.

lol win

awesome review man. and yea if they did make an album full of original it probably be killer

edit: major wtf to what members liked to lol

foreverendeared
September 29th 2010



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha lol glad someone noticed that. Thanks a lot I appreciate it. Nobody really ever reads my reviews. sad face



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy