Bury Your Dead
Beauty and the Breakdown


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hunter Ramirez USER (39 Reviews)
September 15th, 2010 | 24 replies | 11,511 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If you've come to mosh and have a good time, you've found the perfect record. Otherwise I'd skip over this.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Bury Your Dead is one of very many bands in the business that are as loved as they are hated. Given that they manage to pull off breakdown laden, and chug heavy brand of hardcore a lot better then most. Their raw sound was highly influential as almost any hardcore band today can't help, but list Bury Your Dead under their influences. This is a band that doesn't rely on technicality, but rather proves that a moshing good time can sometimes be the best way to make a record.

Bury Your Dead have progressed from their previous album which relied on bro worthy lyrics, 2-stepping, and raw production. The lyrics aren't certainly as bad as Cover Your Tracks, gone is “***ing tie em' up baby!”, and “you little bitch all you did was snitch!” instead the songs seem to take a more serious approach as evidenced from their theme of the last album being Tom Cruise movies to the fairytale of a woman and her abuser. Also another added element are the electronic moments which are usually implemented in the best way without it sounding out of place. Mat's vocals are as glutteral, and as powerful as it was before who manages to scream with the best of them, which manages to be a highlight on this album.

The album opens up with the strong track “House of Straw”, which showcases successfully that they can blend mosh-worthy hardcore with electronics. The album is very consistent and not one song manages to let up steam, but at the same time they manage to keep it relatively fresh. Several highlights include the “The Poison Apple” which is perfect for all forms of mosh and 2-step. “Twelfth Stroke of Midnight” happens to be one of the band's strongest releases to date with it's immense intensity to be extremely entertaining. “Let Down Your Hair” has also special praise for it's clever opening bassline, and “Mirror, Mirror...” has a clever electronic segment that's almost semi-ambient. Before the album ends with the heavy track “House of Brick” with riffs and breakdowns galore.

How you enjoy this album is how a fun, moshing album sounds. If it sounds stupid, generic, and boring to you then you're more then likely not to appreciate this album, however when it comes to a fun, bouncing hardcore record such as this there are few that can do it like influential New England party of Bury Your Dead.



Recent reviews by this author
Mushroomhead Beautiful Stories For Ugly ChildrenTurbid North Orogeny
Beneath The Sky In Loving MemoryLil Jon Crunk Rock
King Conquer Decomposing NormalitySoundtrack Duke Nukem: Music to Score By
user ratings (228)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Harry B. Price (2.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ThePalestMexican
September 15th 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've had this written for like a month, so I just kinda said "fuck it" and posted it.

Nikkolae
September 15th 2010



4394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

band sucks without Mat Brusso, and im sorry hunter but no Moshcore album can go higher than a 3.5 imo, why? well in my honest to god opinion when i aproach a record, a 3.5 album is an album thats fun, a 4 - 5 album is an album thats fun and that has a genuine heart behind it. there are no real feelings on moshcore albums.

review was kinda short too, i'll pos though but i'd like some more instrumentation talk

Digging: Corrupted - Paso Inferior

ffs
September 15th 2010



4675 Comments


mixed feelings about that album name

AbyssalCreation
September 15th 2010



2023 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bury Your Deads best by far.The songs are fun to mosh to at shows and in your bedroom.

No more no less.

bloc
September 15th 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is so much fun, everything after this album was awful.

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

ThePalestMexican
September 15th 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like to keep most of my reviews short and sweet
I find them a lot easier to read that way

xTevinx
September 15th 2010



104 Comments


Best BYD to date. Fuck all their new stuff. They sound like fuckin Korn or something. So gay. Matt was the best.

Xplisit
September 15th 2010



1646 Comments


i used to listen to this a fair bit, haven't in like 2 years.

Intothepit
September 15th 2010



1776 Comments


There's probably a reason why you haven't.

cvlts
September 15th 2010



8917 Comments


I'll admit that Cover Your Tracks is a guilty pleasure of mine.

This? not so much... good review

Digging: As Cities Burn - Come Now Sleep

Crymsonblaze
September 15th 2010



7315 Comments


Album name is pretty funny.

But...sounds like it sucks/isn't my thing.

Burnyourface
September 15th 2010



223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review, but i agree with nikkolae that its a bit short... sometimes bands like this are labeled as "not technical" which is true in the realm of musical theory and song structure, but BYD's drummer is fantastic. although the guitarists aren't running through obscure scales on the fretboard, to record and perform this music tight, requires plenty of technical proficiency.

Zizzer
September 15th 2010



915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I used to like this album quite a bit, but not so much nowadays.

ThePalestMexican
September 15th 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually read a while back that Myke (the new singer) doesn't like the new material and said it was "too slow" for his liking. So it's probably the drummer and guitarist fucking things up for the band now.

Drunk
September 15th 2010



229 Comments


LWLZ THIS BND

Maniac!
September 15th 2010



26187 Comments


review sucks ass

negnegnegnegnegneg

ThePalestMexican
September 15th 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're dead to me Maniac

Maniac!
September 15th 2010



26187 Comments


All I hear is "waahhh wahhhhhhhh"

LG
September 15th 2010



3049 Comments


Hmmm....I hate this more then I like it.

brutebeard
September 15th 2010



1655 Comments


rating is too high.

good summary though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy