Brandon Flowers
Flamingo


3.0
good

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
September 7th, 2010 | 112 replies | 17,119 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A sound & consistent Killers-like solo debut that is anything but killer.

Most things are obvious in retrospect. Looking back, it is easy to determine whether or not you should have had that last drink, dated that girl/guy, or drafted a running back instead of a quarterback as your fantasy football first pick. At a specific point in time however, some things are not so easy to identify. For instance; when Las Vegas quartet The Killers broke on to the scene in 2004 with their catchy brand of new-wave pop, lead vocalist Brandon Flowers appeared to be the least likely front-man to ever go solo. Raised a Mormon, the then 23 year old singer practically had to be coaxed into taking on the lead role for the band, his inability to smile and genuinely awkward demeanor struggling to answer even the simplest of questions put to him. Those that were close to him knew of the charisma that lay underneath however, and as time passed, eccentricity turned to ambition… Dare we ever forget Flower’s infamous “one of the best albums in the past twenty years” quote in reference to his band’s second album ‘Sam’s Town’.

So here we are six years later with the release of a Brandon Flowers solo album. In retrospect, its existence was an odds-on inevitability that could have bankrupted a Vegas bookie. Yet, reports suggest that ‘Flamingo’ did not come about as an alternative outlet for the vocalist, rather a testament to his workaholic nature. Listening to the album, those reports ring true since ‘Flamingo’ does not depart too significantly from The Killers discography, grabbing bits and pieces from each of their three studio albums. Laying the conceptual foundation of the LP (Flamingo refers to the name of a Las Vegas casino & road), the clichéd and wordy lyrics of theatrically satisfying opener ‘Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas’ could have opened ‘Sam’s Town’, the dated – but catchy – new-wave pop of ‘Was It Something I Said?’ would have fit perfectly on ‘Hot Fuss’, while the Lou Reed inspired sub 3 minute closer ‘Swallow It’ is weird enough to have felt at home on the polarizing ‘Day & Age’.

Unfortunately, ‘Flamingo’ comes off as anything but a ‘Greatest Hits’ package, simply because there are no hits as such. Bass-driven lead single ‘Crossfire’ is the highlight, yet even it required Charlize Theron and some ninjas to keep people interested for long enough to allow its subtle hooks and Flowers’ gorgeous falsetto to endear. The vaguely afro-pop harmonies of ‘Only the Young’ got the gig as second single, although most may feel that energetic radio-rocker Jilted Lovers & Broken Hearts (containing more gambling metaphors than you can a roll a dice at) would have been a better choice. Alternatively, ‘Flamingo’ does not surprise with anything significantly new. The Americana theme begun on ‘Sam’s Town’ does lead to gospel-drenched ballad ‘On The Floor’ and some twangy slide guitar filled alt-country moments - six minute confessional ‘Playing With Fire’ and a duet with Rilo Kiley’s Jenny Lewis on ‘Hard Enough’ - yet nothing really wows and it is all unlikely to have you coming back in six months time.

What ultimately holds ‘Flamingo’ together is its consistency; a trait which is not exactly synonymous with The Killers. It could be argued that there is not a single bad song included amongst its ten tracks (although it pays not to closely inspect the four bonus cuts included on the Deluxe Edition of the LP) and all are in some way catchy. It makes for a sound and interesting listen, but one which still leaves listeners a little disappointed. It could be that more should be expected of an album containing a range of producers as successful as Stuart Price (Madonna, Kylie Minogue), Daniel Lanois (U2, Bob Dylan) & Brendan O’Brien (Bruce Springsteen, Pearl Jam), or maybe the constantly tame laid-back pacing eventually takes its toll. The missing ingredient could in fact be Flowers’ three band-mates, who may somehow subliminally guide their charismatic front-man to a more immediate sound. Whatever is lacking; it does not derail ‘Flamingo’, it just makes it anything but killer.

Recommended Tracks: Crossfire, Jilted Lovers and Broken Hearts & Hard Enough.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (112)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Dick Face (3.5)
The Killers front man makes an album fabulous enough to justify the moustache...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2010



20805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hope this does not come off sounding like a 2.5… Because it’s more of a high 3, if anything.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2010



17114 Comments


finally something to break my grip on the frontpage

Digging: Sad Lovers and Giants - Feeding the Flame

morrissey
Moderator
September 7th 2010



1688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

damn this is quite the review

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2010



20805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Adam Thomas domination shall soon be over.

This will probably come back to haunt me, but the Fantasy Football line is dedicated to Jom.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2010



20805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Amanda. I was actually just reading your Sam's Town review yesterday. If you have yet to hear this album, you'll like it to some extent, but it's a 3.5 at the very best.

Thanks Chambered. It was probably that “one of the best albums in the past twenty years” quote that annoys you. Either that or his bank balance.

klap
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2010



9994 Comments


bahahaha fantasy football. fuck that draft

DiceMan
September 7th 2010



7068 Comments


his bank balance... zzzz

brandaao
September 7th 2010



74 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great Review!

I was thinking this would suck, but this album is actually pretty good....

JWT155
September 7th 2010



9183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Swallow it is such a retarded song, great review as always Davey, I'm fond of Brandon's voice so I gave it a little more slack but I pretty much agree with all your points.

Digging: The Menzingers - Rented World

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2010



20805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh Rudy, you just need to get your priorities right.

Thanks brandaao. Nah, this doesn't suck, as much as it doesn't wow.

Thanks Jim. Yeah, 'Swallow It' is the really odd one here. It could be a 'love it or hate it' track.

His falsetto on 3 or 4 points throughout this LP is damn good. The "lay your body down" part in 'Crossfire' could actually be the most memorable part of the album.

morrissey
Moderator
September 7th 2010



1688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Davey Boy Thanks Amanda. I was actually just reading your Sam's Town review yesterday. If you have yet to hear this album, you'll like it to some extent, but it's a 3.5 at the very best."

I'm sure I'll like it, I've liked all the Killers stuff to varying extents and while "Crossfire" didn't knock my socks off it was still right up my alley. Still, I'm a little bit frustrated with artists like Flowers settling for competent material when their ambitions and (imo) talent demand so much more. I want the Killers to actually release the album of the decade, not just claim they have.

The thing I don't really get from your review, is this at all bombastic? You say it has "tame laid-back pacing" but maybe what's it's missing is more pomposity, not less. A song like "My List" is boring as shit but tame and laid-back, something like "the River is Wild" or "When You Were Young" are so grossly overblown and brazen that you admire them. I guess I can't really comment until I've heard more than the lead single.

JWT155
September 7th 2010



9183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Only the Young and Crossfire were the highlights on my first go through, need to listen to again but I got some much on my plate trying to catch up with all the new stuff and 2010 stuff I've skipped this year.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2010



20805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Amanda, I feel very similarly to you about The Killers discography thus far. And ditto on the frustration of Flowers/The Killers releasing a genuine classic... It's in them. Hence my almost questioning uncertainty over the disappointment in my concluding paragraph.

As for your "bombastic" question, it's here in fits & bursts. It definitely exists on the opener (I used the word "theatrical") and is laced throughout the entire final half.

BTW, I also disliked 'My List'... & with this being his/their most consistent release to daye, I have to wonder if Flowers has not taken the "front-loading/inconsistent" criticism of 'Hot Fuss' to heart & cannot let it go.

JWT155
September 7th 2010



9183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You have to admit that the Crossfire vid is so epic.

Burning_October
September 8th 2010



162 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

As much as I love The Killers, nothing here really grabbed me. It's good in places (the last half of Only The Young, the first half of Playing With Fire), but overall it's rather dull. None of the energy that characterized a lot of The Killers best tracks.

bailar12
September 8th 2010



1766 Comments


bailamos davey boy

another one to add to the davey boy collection tab

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2010



20805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jim, the 'Crossfire' vid rules. Some people can watch it without realizing there is a song playing.

Can't argue with much of what you state BurningOctober. Album definitely needs more energy & I agree with your comment about some songs being good in patches, but not the whole.

The DaveyBoy Collection... Out now at your nearest retailer.

SowingSeason
Emeritus
September 8th 2010



14510 Comments


great review, sounds pretty much like what i would expect from a brandon flowers solo album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2010



20805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks SS.

Hmm, I'm unsure if your comment is just a throwaway one, but I can't say this album sounded like I expected it to. I thought he'd really stretch himself into that bombastic territory he has done previously (whether it be for better or worse). I mean, he doesn't get kidnapped by aliens on this.

bailar12
September 8th 2010



1766 Comments


how much better is this than day and age davey?

enrique needs to know if its worth his time



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy