Justice
Planisphere


4.5
superb

Review

by Simon Harris (SCREAM!) USER (57 Reviews)
August 31st, 2010 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A heavy dance album that manages to be varied and cohesive all at once and has potential to win newcomers over to the genre

Justice came out big in 2007 with their critically acclaimed debut “Cross” which explored many facets of the European house/dance genre. Ranging from the heavy distorted synths of the opener Genesis, to the almost disco sounding Phantom duo, there was something for everyone to be found on it but also something to be disliked by almost everyone due to that same reason. With Planisphère, Justice seem to be more focused on the “heavier”, so to speak, side of their sound which will please the fans of tracks such as Genesis or Stress off their debut but might turn away the fans of the lighter songs such as the single, D.A.N.C.E..

The EP is divided into 4 tracks but as the titles suggest, the EP can and should be taken as one track that has been separated to seem more appealing to the average listener and to make it easier to reach the parts the listener enjoys most as each track does explore different facets of the heavy dance genre Justice plays but are tied together by reoccurring parts that add to the feeling of it being one long song.

The first half of the album is most comparable to Justice’s past work. The heavily distorted synths (almost reminiscent of a distorted guitar) are back coupled with booming drumbeats and the occasional lighter keyboard lead. Planisphère parts I and II meld together into a 10 minute dance epic that goes through a few rhythmic changes and various leads but while maintaining a steady driving, forceful sound that makes it great for either dancing or just sitting and listening.

The EP throws in a new element in Part III with the use of vocals samples as an extra instrument (as no words can are actually used) but while maintaining the same thick backbone as the previous tracks and staying cohesive as a song.

Finally Part III fades out into IV which brings back one of the lighter leads from part I but throws a solo on top of it. YES A JUSTICE GUITAR SOLO! The song itself is very well produced and does flow well with the rest of the album and even manages to remain danceable with its second half that sees the return of the heavy synths.

With Planisphere, Justice have stepped up their game from their debut and created an electronic album that is varied and cohesive all at once. The heavy sound used could easily win over fans of genres such as rock or metal and it retains enough “danceability” to make its way into the hearts of electro lovers.



Recent reviews by this author
All Them Witches Lightning At The DoorAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
Forteresse / Chasse-Galerie / Monarque / Csejthe LégendesFuck the Facts Amer
Maneige Les PorchesDark Castle Spirited Migration
user ratings (71)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
SCREAM!
August 31st 2010


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bet no one was expecting this

Digging: Svartidau?i - Flesh Cathedral

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2010


16137 Comments


I certainly wasn't. But I might just have to go check this out now.

TheSpirit
August 31st 2010


18001 Comments


The first half of the album is most comparable to Justice’s past work. The heavily distorted synths (almost reminiscent of a distorted guitar) are back coupled with booming drumbeats and the occasional lighter keyboard lead. Planisphère parts I and II meld together into a 10 minute dance epic that goes through a few rhythmic changes and various leads but while maintaining a steady driving, forceful sound that makes it great for either dancing or just sitting and listening.




This whole paragraph makes me want this real bad


Digging: The Speed of Sound in Seawater - Red Version

SCREAM!
August 31st 2010


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just noticed the members also like. One of them is not like the others lol

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2010


16137 Comments


Good review once again. Your stuff is pretty much insta-pos anyway.

SCREAM!
August 31st 2010


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, was a little uncomfortable coming into it since its not the type of music im used to covering but im glad it turned out well

bloc
August 31st 2010


35024 Comments


Justice moar liek Justass.

SCREAM!
August 31st 2010


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wut

krig9412
August 31st 2010


794 Comments


Seriously bloc?

Anyway good review. Have a pos

elephantREVOLUTION
August 31st 2010


2791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review. i'm patiently waiting for new justice.

SCREAM!
August 31st 2010


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Is their live album worht getting? All i have is this and cross and im also patiently waiting for new material

fromtheinside
August 31st 2010


19166 Comments


justice rule pretty hard, i'll probably look into this. nice review, have a pos.

Digging: Techno Animal - The Brotherhood of the Bomb

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2010


8393 Comments


good review Simon...I have absolutely nothing else to say

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2010


31629 Comments


Album's k

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

SCREAM!
August 31st 2010


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

better than k. wats yo prob dev

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2010


31629 Comments


I'm just not the biggest Justice fan. They've got a nice sound, but I think they get a bit too abrasive for their target audience. You'll get this dirty low-fi track like 'Waters Of Nazareth' and then something sparkly like 'D.A.N.C.E.', it just ends up coming across like some kind of struggle for a dominant sound in their music

fromtheinside
August 31st 2010


19166 Comments


waters of nazareth is amazing.

SCREAM!
August 31st 2010


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Dev both the songs you mentionned are off Cross and for that album id definately agree with you. However i find that on this ep they really seemed to have focused their sound more on the heavier aspects of tracks like Genesis and Waters Of Nazareth



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy