Thy Art Is Murder
The Adversary


2.5
average

Review

by BroManCaptainGuySirDylan USER (19 Reviews)
August 21st, 2010 | 39 replies | 18,118 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Take a good Tech Death album, strip it of emotion and variety and you will get The Adversary.

7 of 9 thought this review was well written

After releasing their first EP back in 2007, Thy Art Is Murder went under a few line-up changes regarding their ex-vocalist Brendan Van Ryn and since then, have welcomed newcomer vocalist, CJ McMahon. With the new line up ready to go, Thy Art Is Murder went to the studio to record their debut album. So, how does The Adversary hold up?

Well, not great to be honest.

It’s all around a very solid album, ticking the boxes for both technicality and brutality, and new vocalist CJ is more than capable of dishing out the deep, guttural vocals. The problem really lies in the repetition and tediousness of each and every song. Because of the way the new material sounds, it’s very hard to differentiate between each track, which in turn, makes it hard to tell where one song ends and the next begins. I found that the record as a whole failed to maintain my interest for too long and soon noticed that I quickly went from tracks 6 through 10 without noticing much of a change in sound at all.

I also noticed that the construction for every song is relatively similar to the one that precedes it. It starts off with some slow chugs or heavy drum beats and then moves onto a range of fast brutal spasticity. Throw in a breakdown or two and then keep going on until you get to the sudden climax. It may sound harsh, but the whole record feels like a 40 minute improvised jam, which has been arbitrarily divided and named.

Each member can perform exceptionally with my only gripes concerning the vocalist and bassist. While the vocals are harsh sounding and brutal, they get to the point where they become a little too deep and it becomes hard to decipher what he’s saying. Even for music such as this I expect a little flexibility. The problem with the Bass is common for a lot of bands in which it is practically inaudible, which is a shame because a good use of bass could have really added an extra dimension to the whole album.

I can admit that I’m being quite harsh on the band, because it is a solid album, and they all play their respective instruments well, it just lacks variety. Die-hard fans of the band are sure to dig it, but there’s really not a lot to be found here, especially considering so many other bands pull off the genre better (The Red Shore and The Faceless to name a few). In the end, Thy Art Is Murder’s debut album is a fast and brutal technical death metal album, but its absence of variety and sheer repetitiveness makes it hard to recommend.



Recent reviews by this author
MGMT MGMTCode Orange Kids Love Is Love // Return To Dust
The Amity Affliction Chasing GhostsThe Faceless Autotheism
Will Haven Voir DirePsycroptic The Inherited Repression
user ratings (178)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
InFiction
August 21st 2010



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Just a quick review, but feedback would be great.

Ray91
August 21st 2010



150 Comments


I like the review,because it really describes what I think about the album.
I have no idea why almost every freaking deathcoreband isn´t able to write one single memorable song.

InFiction
August 21st 2010



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks man, I appreciate that.

ButcheredChildren
August 21st 2010



5591 Comments


This is a good review, I really was expecting more after their EP, Whore To A Chainsaw was brutal and fun to sing along to amongst many other of their tracks. You review left nothing unsaid about their debut, well done.

dnor
August 21st 2010



3978 Comments


I'm not really into deathcore anymore, but when I was TAIM was one of my favorites...This saddens me to hear that there first LP was disappointing.

dnor
August 21st 2010



3978 Comments


nice review btw

InFiction
August 21st 2010



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks guys!

HumanGenome
August 21st 2010



195 Comments


actually their LP was pretty sick, and i think it's funny how you think that tech death has emotion and variety

MyDearWormwood
August 22nd 2010



225 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"and i think it's funny how you think that tech death has emotion and variety" Haha, this.

I actually like this album a lot. Soldiers Of Immortality, Laceration Penetration, and Decrepit Putrification are great songs.

pillowswantyoursoul
August 23rd 2010



923 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I know these guys in real life.
Too bad they failed to put out much of an album.

TRMshadow
August 23rd 2010



4982 Comments


Thy art is hard.

Review is good for a beginner, but you really need to cut back on the first-person viewpoint though, a review is supposed to be objective. pos'd but it isn't really that amazing.

Nikkolae
August 23rd 2010



4391 Comments


^that, althought my reviews arent that great either, still pretty good write up and i am still to listen to this album, any recomended tracks?

Digging: Corrupted - Paso Inferior

InFiction
August 23rd 2010



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I honestly can't think of any, so I'd just go with what MyDearWormwood said.

vomitgrinddeath666
November 4th 2010



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I couldn't disagree more. Their LP was sick and I can easily differentitate between most songs. I'll admit there a few that kinda seem like filler songs, but even with that being said this band has really put out a hell of an album. So your trying to tell me that a song like cowards throne sounds the same as soldiers of immortality or engineering the antichrist? These songs may have similar elements but who really cares. They all sound great. And as for the complaining you can't understand the vocals, then dont listen to it if that bothers you. Its not meant to be clean, its not meant to be pretty. Its meant to grab you by the throat and not let go and thats just what this album does.

InFiction
November 4th 2010



3587 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's not that I couldn't understand the vocals, I just wish they had a bit more variety.
As I was saying, it's definitely not a bad album, but I personally believe it could've been much, much better.

Shadein
November 27th 2010



336 Comments


Yes, this had potential, but it was pretty repetitive like most deathcore. The breakdowns in Laceration Penetration are fucking sick though.

pillowswantyoursoul
December 2nd 2010



923 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Incredibly forgettable album.

xstaytrue18x
December 18th 2010



550 Comments


It's still a solid album for me, i've only had one listen through so far but this band and album slays.

Digging: Crown of Thornz - Train Yard Blues

VanitySeason
April 7th 2011



396 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Laceration Penetration is the balls.

Eulogize
April 27th 2011



2966 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Infinite Death > The Adversary.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy