Curren$y
Pilot Talk


4.0
excellent

Review

by 1MicLight USER (5 Reviews)
August 14th, 2010 | 62 replies | 12,707 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: JETS FOOOO

This is the first LP that was released by Curren$y after being held out for many years due to label issues. He used to be Lil Wayne's sidekick, but that soon fell out. Even before that he was signed to the wanin No Limit "gangsta rap" machine. A former generic Southern rapper, all those events changed his lyricism for the better and it shows in this album. This album is mostly about weed and bragging, but how Curren$y tells his stories is rather interesting.This album is handled mostly by Ski Beatz, who employs live instruments for good measure. To warn some people who like choruses, there isn't a lot in this album.

Curren$y kicks off with the track "Example" which is a fine intro. The next tracks "Audio Dope II" and "King Kong" are head bobbing songs. Seat Change also contains a nice Snoop Dogg verse. Breakfast is a funky affair and Roasted is also a fine track. Skybourne is the most chill track of this weeded out album, The Hangover is decent, (Mikey Rocks doesn't add much input). However, next is The Day, which showcases not only Curren$y, but also Mos Def and Jay Electronica. Jay steals the show, reminding us why he is hyped. Prioritize is an average track, Chilled Coughphee is hilarious, with Devin da Dude and Curren$y spitting nice rhymes but is too short. Address is another nice track, woth Curren$y lacing some great rhymes. It ends with Life Under the Scope, in which Curren$y take shots at haters and celebrating the rapper he has become.

What I like about this album is how consistent Curren$y is on this album. Although it can drag on a bit at times, Spitta drops some gems. Although some people may have to get used to his weeded out flow, Curren$y is one of the most underrated rappers in hip hop today. Even if you hate weed, you will at least like this album for what it is.


user ratings (142)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Enotron
August 14th 2010


7695 Comments


get rid of that first sentence and the first word in the second sentence

AggravatedYeti
August 14th 2010


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

album is bomb 36 you should check it out. it was back when wayne wasnt a whore.

EnCrypt.
August 14th 2010


882 Comments


I dont think currency is spelled that way

AggravatedYeti
August 14th 2010


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

is that so?

cirq
August 14th 2010


9264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just Enjoy This Shit

Bulldog
August 14th 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cirq's rating - 5.5/5

lobby
August 14th 2010


1251 Comments


oh yeah, lets just review everything underground that pitchfork likes...

hydeyomoney
August 14th 2010


934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh yeah, lets just assume people weren't fans of Curren$y before pitchfork's glowing review.

retard.

RainingMen
August 14th 2010


8 Comments


review is balls but i won't neg it though.

MUNGOLOID
August 14th 2010


4292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

never hated on this dude, he gets extra points for outshining lil wayne on pretty much every song he was ever featured on with him.

cirq
August 14th 2010


9264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

curren$y is that dude..


lobby
August 14th 2010


1251 Comments


oh yeah, lets just assume people weren't fans of Curren$y before pitchfork's glowing review.

retard.


think that was a joke dude

1MicLight
August 14th 2010


80 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the critique on my review, I know it's pretty bad, but on the flipside this album is awesome

lolololol pitchfork
their ratings are full of shit half the time

brutebeard
September 18th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Curren$y is dope. Fresh beats, pretty good flow.

deathofasalesman
September 22nd 2010


5842 Comments


This is some nullified gangsta shit.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2010


7265 Comments


Don't put yourself down so quickly - if at all (referring to the first sentence of the review).

Good stuff otherwise. Enjoyed reading.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2010


15035 Comments


skybourne is jam

Tupik
November 27th 2010


671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Re-listened to this yesterday, a lot better than I remembered. I guess I wasn't in the good mood the first times, this is just something you smoke a blunt to and enjoy the sounds. Really good, I will bump my rating.

Digging: Mick Jenkins - The Water[s]

Mista666
November 29th 2010


41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fly

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
December 19th 2010


15035 Comments


breakfast and skybourne are excellent. this is pretty cool so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy