Camel
The Snow Goose


4.0
excellent

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
August 8th, 2010 | 39 replies | 4,461 views


Release Date: 1975 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Unique and skillfully composed, The Snow Goose is a journey rather than an album.

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Camel’s third record (Music Inspired by) The Snow Goose is a rather unique entry in their discography. Following the positive experience of the Lord of the Rings-inspired White Rider suite which appeared on Mirage, the band sought to further explore the creation of conceptual, storytelling compositions. Eventually they settled on Paul Gallico’s novel The Snow Goose as a basis for their entire next album. What makes the record even more of an odd bird (no pun intended) is that it tells the story without the use of any language: instrumental themes are woven together into a 43-minute suite, and the little vocals that are used are all wordless.

Now, as both of their previous showed, Camel’s type of music never was too focused on the vocal department. It seems only logical that an album such as The Snow Goose would appear in their bulk of work someday, considering their ability to display mood and emotion with their instruments. If any group could manage to translate a book into a piece of music, it would be Camel.

It isn’t for naught that this is one of the group’s most popular records, many of their fans even citing it as their best. The band did an excellent job on fulfilling the original goal they set for themselves: the entire composition is carefully put together and contains some very memorable themes. Because it is more atmospheric and less energetic than other classic Camel albums, it’s best moments are not as impressive as those on Mirage or Moondmadness, but due to the coherency of the tracks, which often flow into each other, it stands its own against the group’s best two albums very well.

Because the record is entirely instrumental, the listener’s imagination can fill in the story for himself, provided he is not familiar with the book. Each of the twenty movements (within sixteen tracks) has its own niche. The slightly ominous Great Marsh theme, the quirky and playful Rhayader, the tranquil Sanctuary, the emotional title theme and the climatic Epitaph: they will all not fail to gain your attention.

Describing the music in too much detail would however be a waste, as it is best just to listen. Take a dive into The Snow Goose, and let it take you away. Camel’s music can take you places, and this is one of their works that shows it best. Original, well composed and always keeping you interested, the group’s third album is another of their greatest accomplishments, and also one of their most accessible ones.

The Snow Goose’s Camel was:

- Andrew Latimer ~ Lead Guitars, Flute, Vocals
- Peter Bardens (R.I.P.) ~ Organs, Moog, Pianos, Synthesizers
- Douglas Ferguson ~ Bass Guitar
- Andrew John Ward ~ Drums, Vibes, Percussion


TO BE CONTINUED...



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (362)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
fireaboveicebelow (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
August 8th 2010



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Somehow I had a lot more trouble with writing this than the previous two. Moonmadness will follow tomorrow as promised.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2010



5915 Comments


well written review, pos'd.

During the songs' mood description in the 4th paragraph, you could link the songs with the content of the book Camel are adapting in this record.

In addition, more information about the book would be greatly appreciated.



Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism

EVedder27
August 8th 2010



6088 Comments


album art is umm interesting

Nagrarok
August 8th 2010



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

During the songs' mood description in the 4th paragraph, you could link the songs with the content of the book Camel are adapting in this record.

In addition, more information about the book would be greatly appreciated.


I decided not to write anything about the content of the book because I doubt many people will have read it. Besides, the album really works well without having done so; it's completely interpretable with one's imagination. I would no doubt having included info about the book were the album to contain lyrics.

album art is umm interesting


yeah, I don't like this one so much either.

Motiv3
August 8th 2010



8920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. Definitely a unique experience and album, definitely has its high points. Well worth getting, tho it still doesnt quite match the greatness of Mirage.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

Nagrarok
August 8th 2010



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^or Moonmadness.

jrowa001
August 8th 2010



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah Moonmadness and Mirage are by far their best albums. i like this album a lot! but it is one that i tend to skip for some reason. nice review btw

NeutralThunder12
August 8th 2010



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this more than Moonmadness and Mirage, but I haven't listened in so long, I'll give them another listen soon maybe. I think I like Snow Goose the most because it seems like an instrumental adventure, and it's actually quite funny at some points. I'll have to listen again though, haven't heard them in quite some time, but their still one of my faves. Excellent review per usual Nag.

salival13
August 8th 2010



264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is good but I always end up listening another album if I'm in the mood for Camel

Motiv3
August 8th 2010



8920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i prefer moonmadness slightly better than this, it trumps their debut with ease tho, i find their debut very boring.

Motiv3
August 8th 2010



8920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck you double post.

vanderb0b
August 8th 2010



3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fantastic review, as usual. Never really got around to listening to this album, I'll check it out.

cinaedus
August 8th 2010



26298 Comments


I'm gonna look for some Camel on my next trip to the record shop. One of their first four. Nice review, Nag.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Jethro42
August 8th 2010



12377 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I prefer the softer side of the band, if compared to the harsh/non defined soundscape found on S/T and Mirage. Snowgoose and Moonmadness are the very best works done by these fellas. My 3rd one is Mirage, followed by 'Harbour of Tears' and 'A Nod and a Wink'.
Zing.
the highlights on here are:
Rhayader/Rhayader goes to Town
The Snowgoose
Migration
La Princesse Perdue

Nagrarok
August 8th 2010



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i prefer moonmadness slightly better than this, it trumps their debut with ease tho, i find their debut very boring.


No way, the debut is excellent (as you have probably already read in my review, haha)

I'm gonna look for some Camel on my next trip to the record shop. One of their first four.


If you really want the best definitely go with Mirage or Moonmadness.

I prefer the softer side of the band, if compared to the harsh/non defined soundscape found on S/T and Mirage.


It's the other way around with me, I prefer a shot of energy with my prog. Moonmadness is very close to Mirage for me though. I actually skipped the rec tracks section that I normally always do here because it's really one big track.

Thanks everyone.

cinaedus
August 8th 2010



26298 Comments


Moonmadness sounds the most appealing to me, so that's probably the one I'll be getting first. Not a huge fan of instrumental stuff, except Rush's instrumentals, some God is an Astronaut, etc.

NeutralThunder12
August 8th 2010



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey Nag, I was listening to just a few songs again from each album on youtube. I think Mirage may just trump Snow Goose for me, but I'll have to listen to both in full again

KILL
November 15th 2010



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

album has grown on me like fuck almost as good as the 2 classics

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

KILL
November 15th 2010



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

dude get mirage this and moonmadness all omfg

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2010



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Got Mirage and Moonmadness on vinyl. Should probs start looking for this one too.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy