Sun Kil Moon
Admiral Fell Promises


3.5
great

Review

by Jared W. Dillon USER (118 Reviews)
August 3rd, 2010 | 15 replies | 7,312 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Admiral Fell Promises" is another great yet flawed record from Mark Kozelek.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Mark Kozelek has never been an easy artist to enjoy. Through his various aliases his music has never been overtly complex. The subject matter of his monikers has always been entrenched in the nostalgic traditions of folk music. Kozelek himself though seems like a very uncompromising person. Judging by various accounts of his behavior at concerts and in interviews there is certainly something to be said for him perpetuating the feelings and situations he presents on his records. Kozelek's unwavering attitude towards doing whatever he wants certainly presents itself through both his persona and music. This balance of longing and selfishness is what makes Kozelek's various projects so successful. They exist in the reality of the gray area of people's personalities rather than casting a black and white view of life. In terms of portraying the true nature of loss and regret Kozelek has few peers.

Musically "Admiral Fell Promises" takes a page from 'Blue Orchids' the closer to 2007's "April". Technically proficient nylon guitar playing over subtle double tracked vocals. Kozelek's music has always had a certain beauty to it, but "Admiral Fell Promises" with its lack of other instruments relies fully on his guitar prowess. In terms of select highlights it makes the entire album a collection of beautifully meandering recollections of thoughts. By that same light though the lack of distinction between the ten tracks on the record makes most of the album blend into one lengthy demonstration of Kozelek's finger picking skills. In terms of artists we should be lucky that there are ones as staunchly set in their own ways as Mark Kozelek, but as fans his tendency to create such impenetrable lengthy records makes it difficult to fully accept his visions. "Admiral Fell Promises" much like "Tiny Cities" is a flawed record that is stitched together by Kozelek's flawed persona. His songs, like old friends, fill roles and shift out of your consciousness and perhaps that is truly the issue with his career work; that it is too human.



Recent reviews by this author
Pygmy Lush Old FriendsPharoahe Monch W.A.R.
My Disco Little JoyBlack Milk Album Of The Year
Flying Lotus CosmogrammaExtra Life Made Flesh
user ratings (105)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
J. Ponton EMERITUS (3)
Not quite another album for the fall season that we had hoped it would be...


Comments:Add a Comment 
PregnantTeen
August 3rd 2010



168 Comments


another dreary kozolek release for grey and rainy days?

RForster
August 3rd 2010



68 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review short but sweet, really enjoyed this record but took me a little longer than his other stuff to get into it infact i still think i have a long way to go. But yeah deffinetly meandering but still a pretty damn beautiful album.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2010



6961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review was short but sufficient. Some might complain that it isn't a review in the traditional sense but I enjoy reading your music journal pieces.
I seem to be one of the few that is really loving this.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Learning

pixiesfanyo
August 3rd 2010



1223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really like it. Just can't justify giving it to high of a rating.

cbmartinez
August 3rd 2010



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this is actually really similar to how i feel. like i acknowledge that the lack of full instrumentation makes it a bit more tedious and in general harder to get into. but i feel like if you are a kozelek fan, you will immediately recognize the familiar traits in the music that make his other albums so fantastic. the devastatingly personal lyrics, the repetitive guitar playing that's subtle but can keep your attention. its a very good album, not as good as the others perhaps, but also not disappointing in the slightest.

thebhoy
Emeritus
August 3rd 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really dig your analysis of it Jared, but I keep feeling like a lot of people are missing what makes this great. I myself haven't quite figured it all out, but I'm leaning heavily towards a high rating so I may review it myself.

kount
August 3rd 2010



1225 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

geetar

Spare
August 4th 2010



5223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

reminds me of every kozelek record as in after 50 listens it'll be holyshitfiveoutoffive

PregnantTeen
August 4th 2010



168 Comments


reminds me of every kozelek record as in i'll never listen to it 50 times got other things to do

Spare
August 4th 2010



5223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

there is nothing only kozelek

PregnantTeen
August 4th 2010



168 Comments


kozelek, me, my headphones, my bed and some drawn curtains blocking out the dank grey 'light' of day

Spare
August 4th 2010



5223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dank as fuck

PregnantTeen
August 4th 2010



168 Comments


it's getting chilly in here and someone has turned off all the lights

Time
August 4th 2010



81 Comments


i'm loving this, it's repetitive and not as good as his others but i dont give a damn

731
August 8th 2010



662 Comments


cool review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy