Paramore
Brand New Eyes


2.5
average

Review

by honeysuckle USER (5 Reviews)
July 25th, 2010 | 32 replies | 2,579 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I can't say I'm all that impressed.

3 of 4 thought this review was well written

I get the whole Paramore thing, sure – they’re a pretty pop rock band on a label that seems to specialise in hit-and-miss sparkly rock music. So they’re within comfortable boundaries and they’re marketed well and I’m happy to agree with anyone that says they write decent music in that lovely hit-and-miss kinda way. But my god are they hyped, and my profuse apologies go with me saying that no-one would give a ****ed watermelon about Hayley Williams’ cheerleader voice if she didn’t look like she does.

Pop music follows the “easy to do, hard to do well” rule, and in fairness to Paramore they have the potential to do it very well, and if they keep going then chances are they’ll get better and write an album that isn’t laminated in superficiality. Brand New Eyes is, and despite a couple of nice tracks it’s not such a huge step towards the matured masterpiece that the band and everyone else has seemed to excite themselves over, mainly because the album’s writing is set around a female fronted band that didn’t see the big ****-stained elephant in the rehearsal room telling them that the media might take a special interest in the angsty teenagers’ dream that was singing for them. Maybe Tennessee hasn’t heard of No Doubt.

Despite it’s naïve foundation and safe sponge padding it’s not a failure as an album, because if anything it’s accessible, and there’s a strange feeling of ease you get when listening through it that you don’t tend to find with other pop rock albums; as musicians they know their jobs and the songs are very tidily arranged and produced, but then the smooth sailing is spoiled a little with the token sing-along song “Where the Lines Overlap” and the just oh-so-lovely “The Only Exception”, but it’s not like they can’t get away with those being that a large chunk of Paramore’s audience is made up of 14-year-old girls and their boyfriends, and if they like them then fine.

The albums lyrics aren’t quite as filled with tasteless melodrama as they could be, but how is it fun to listen to a woman in a band as successful as this, who has also won “Sexiest Female” in 2008 and 2009s Kerrang Reader’s poll and 2009s NME awards, sing about how her life is in any way less pleasurable than your average teenager’s.

If this album has been sitting docile on your iPod since it came out, then I’d suggest firing it up when you want something “easy” to listen to. Its melodies will give you the occasional jolt and as long as you don’t play it in front of all your alpha-male friends you could enjoy it, but don’t expect such epic maturity and substance from this band at the moment.


user ratings (1116)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 25th 2010



6959 Comments


Review is wrong, this is a great album. And I don't get what you are trying to say in the 2nd to last paragraph. Because she was votest the "sexiest" in some magazine then that makes the problems she complains about less convincing?

Digging: Wild Beasts - Present Tense

honeysuckle
July 25th 2010



7 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well it's a little bit like Brad Pitt telling the elephant man that he understands what he's going through, in principle.

uberdeathmetal
July 25th 2010



32 Comments


why brad pitt can rap well too m8

mvdu
July 25th 2010



595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I don't think substance is a problem; you can get a lot out of simple relationship-oriented lyrics. The key is how you tell them, and Paramore does that well IMO.

Quen
July 25th 2010



1633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

All We Know is Falling is a pretty awesome album, I liked it better than Riot!. Haven't given this a quality spin yet though.

Quen
July 25th 2010



1633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked the vibe and energy more than Riot!, both are great albums imo though.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 25th 2010



6959 Comments


This is better than Riot!

dr2den
July 25th 2010



1342 Comments


do something about it

hoipolloi
July 25th 2010



152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i cant stand that song "the only exception", its just not paramore imo, im used to them being fast and catchy

tiesthatbind
July 25th 2010



7360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Riot! is a bit better but this album still rules, particularly the first half.

Knott-
Emeritus
July 25th 2010



10193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what the fuck is this review

Quen
July 25th 2010



1633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"seems more moody to me. like a majority of this album puts me in a depressing mood haha."

Yeah I know what you mean, but I liked the slower songs on AWKIF showed some versatility. I just noticed you changed your avatar again, one picture a day?

Eclectic
July 25th 2010



3302 Comments


mainly because the album’s writing is set around a female fronted band that didn’t see the big ****-stained elephant in the rehearsal room telling them that the media might take a special interest in the angsty teenagers’ dream that was singing for them. Maybe Tennessee hasn’t heard of No Doubt.

Am I an idiot, or does this make no sense whatsoever?

Quen
July 25th 2010



1633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

THAT MADE SO MUCH SENSE DOOD....GET IT TOGETHER

Quen
July 25th 2010



1633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Andcas, do you like Fall Out Boy, or are they just meh?

Quen
July 26th 2010



1633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nothing, just wanted your opinion. Was relistening to their albums last night.

Quen
July 26th 2010



1633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Would you consider Infinity on High new or old school FOB? And lol I don't even own Folie a Deux.

honeysuckle
July 26th 2010



7 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@Eclectic - it was naive of them not to realise that Hayley Williams would be singled out from the rest of the band by the media, and Gwen Stefani and No Doubt are a previous example of that happening.

Quen
July 26th 2010



1633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's a great point.

SlightlyEpic
July 26th 2010



5780 Comments


[img]http://i26.tinypic.com/1fg65k.jpg[/img]

me and hayley are tight



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy