Young Guns
All Our Kings Are Dead


3.5
great

Review

by KrissWatts USER (3 Reviews)
July 20th, 2010 | 37 replies | 12,050 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: New and refreshing but in need of a push in the right direction.

0 of 1 thought this review was well written

Line-up:

Gustav Wood - Vocals
John Taylor - Guitar
Fraser Taylor – Guitar
Simon Mitchell - Bass
Ben Jolliffe - Drums

Since their relatively unknown EP, Mirrors, Young Guns have managed to take everything that defined their previous sound and improve upon it in almost every aspect, but does this make All Our Kings Are Dead a great album?

My expectations of this album were mixed; with first appearances it seems like yet another mainstream band attempting to follow in the wake of other successes such as You Me and Six and Lostprophets. Without a doubt, Young Guns have traits reminiscent of those bands, however I feel they’ve managed to add their own element to an otherwise bland scene. The first thing that sets them apart is the vocals. Undeniably Gustav Wood carries the album with his soaring voice that gives it a huge sound. The first showcase of this talent is Meter & Verse’s chorus where he really opens up with the line “I’ll never know divinity”.

This neatly steers us onto the lyrical content of the album and it’s fantastic to say the least. With so many lyricists that can’t help but write about themes of heartbreak and bitterness it’s a breath a fresh air to hear other issues being confronted. In ‘Sons of Apathy’ Gustav speaks about the lack of a father figure, “My father conquered seas but he was no help to me”, these moving lyrics are a more tender take on the subject than most but delivered with such energy that it’s a testament to how he’s grown as a person. Not once do we hear a familiar clichéd themes and that alone deserves kudos.

The feel of the album is very cohesive as every song sits well next to the other as well as still offering their own unique characteristics to the album. Although there is the issue that some of the guitar riffs can sound very similar. They’ve definitely found a strong formula yet in some cases they seem a little too comfortable with it. A prime example would be the intros to ‘D.O.A’ and ‘Elements’. I think that both riffs are equally good, however they’re too comparable for comfort. Thankfully the structure of both is diverse enough to differentiate, as the riff in D.O.A isn’t repeated. Another example is ‘Sons of Apathy’ and ‘Crystal Clear’ as they start almost identically until eventually developing into their own individual melodies.

For me, the highlights of the album are ‘Crystal Clear’, ‘Meter & Verse’ and ‘After the War’. They showcase each significant moment of the album whether it be an infectious chorus, belting vocals or crushing riffs. John and Fraser offer a great level of guitar playing and whilst there were no jaw dropping moments, it’s impressive nonetheless. The bass is always audible which is always a good sign of decent production and the drums are consistently tidy and complement everything perfectly. They’ve created a classic sound that to me just screams potential.

What holds this album back from being excellent is simply the restraints they’ve imposed on themselves. They’re an above average band held back by average influences. They’re talented guys and for a debut album this is remarkable but for real improvement they need to push the boundaries of their talent and work on the sound they’ve done such an excellent job of defining. I really believe Young Guns have huge potential but their future success is a sink or swim situation. They could be swept along with the other pale successes such as You Me At Six and Lostprophets or they could continue with what they’ve strived so hard to create and push their sound even further. Either way, I’m looking forward to a follow up album to see where they decided to take it.

Track Listing
1. Sons of Apathy (4/5)
2. Crystal Clear (4.5/5)
3. Meter and Verse (4.5/5)
4. Weight of the World (2/5)
5. D.O.A (3/5)
6. Stitches (3/5)
7. Winter Kiss (3.5/5)
8. Elements (5/5)
9. After the War (5/5)
10. Endless Grey (3/5)
11. At the Gates (4/5)
12. Beneath the Waves (3.5/5)


user ratings (83)
Chart.
3.6
great
related reviews

Bones

Comments:Add a Comment 
TBliss
July 20th 2010



987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love this band, great songs. Good review man.

MUNGOLOID
July 20th 2010



4275 Comments


lol thought this was that deflated rap duo Young Gunz for a second.

"Can't stop won't stop Roc-A-Fella records and uh, get down baby, uh get dowwwwwn."

Norwichdude
August 24th 2010



64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this album! Great debut

Norwichdude
August 24th 2010



64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My ratings:

1. Sons of Apathy (4/5)
2. Crystal Clear (4.5/5)
3. Meter and Verse (4.5/5)
4. Weight of the World (4/5)
5. D.O.A (3/5)
6. Stitches (4/5)
7. Winter Kiss (3.5/5)
8. Elements (5/5)
9. After the War (5/5)
10. Endless Grey (3/5)
11. At the Gates (4/5)
12. Beneath the Waves (5/5)

KrissWatts
August 30th 2010



96 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On reflection, Weight of the World is a good song but the title and meaning is just so cliche'. I really didn't expect such a thing from otherwise brilliant lyrics.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2010



21562 Comments


Me-
1. Sons of Apathy (4/5)
2. Crystal Clear (3.5/5)
3. Meter and Verse (3/5)
4. Weight of the World (3/5)
5. D.O.A (3.5/5)
6. Stitches (5/5)
7. Winter Kiss (5/5)
8. Elements (4/5)
9. After the War (4.5/5)
10. Endless Grey (4/5)
11. At the Gates (4.5/5)
12. Beneath the Waves (5/5)

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

sspedding
December 28th 2010



4751 Comments


this is pretty harmless and relatively enjoyable.

Karstein
April 28th 2011



24 Comments


Great album and enjoyable

Sanders
May 9th 2011



2340 Comments


These guys are great live. Pretty good album.

thumbcrusher
May 15th 2011



3569 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

promising band, weight of the world is a nice song if a little cheesy

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2011



21562 Comments


Weight of the World is actually my least favourite song on here. It's also the only one brought forward from their debut EP

thumbcrusher
May 15th 2011



3569 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i've heard three or so on the radio and weight of the world is the only one i can currently remember in terms knowing what song was what. but i liked the others so this band may be worth checking out more if you say the others are much better

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2011



21562 Comments


Well a lot of people like it but that and Meter and Verse are the only ones I don't. You should definitely check this out. Stitches, Winter Kiss and Beneath the Waves are the best imo but you might disagree

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this. This is exactly the kind of stuff I want rec'd to me. 'Crystal Clear' is so shout out loud catchy.

Delivering a confident, cohesive & sufficiently varied debut LP, English quintet Young Guns play a brand of contemporary hard rock that seems formulaic on paper, yet is fresh in reality. A heavier, more atmospheric Lostprophets would be the best comparison, since many tracks on 'All Our Kings Are Dead' have hooky vocal & guitar melodies that emphasize their anthemic arena rock choruses. The secret ingredient is a detailed & well-crafted lyrical & musical edge, which is difficult to pinpoint, but suggests an extremely promising future for this young band. Recommended Tracks: Crystal Clear, Weight of the World, At the Gates & Winter Kiss.

Sanders
May 24th 2011



2340 Comments


Davey, you might enjoy Francesqa, Kids in Glass Houses and Deaf Havana.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heard of - but not heard - the last 2. Thanks for the recos.

Stb
June 1st 2011



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Compared to these 3, this band goes so far ahead ;)

0.02$
1. Sons of Apathy (5/5)
2. Crystal Clear (3/5)
3. Meter and Verse (4/5)
4. Weight of the World (3/5)
5. D.O.A (4/5)
6. Stitches (3/5)
7. Winter Kiss (5/5)
8. Elements (4/5)
9. After the War (4/5)
10. Endless Grey (4/5)
11. At the Gates (4.5/5)
12. Beneath the Waves (3/5)

scooterthorburn
June 10th 2011



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really enjoyed reading this. I'm totally with you on Meter and Verse and After the War and would put At the Gates alongside them as the best examples on the album of the band maintaining what is appealing about their sound while simultaneously displaying progression and maturity.

The new album is being recorded in Thailand next month I believe. I'm really looking forward to hearing what they come up with....

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Does that say Thailand? Were they part of the cast of Hangover 2 or something?

BrahTheSunGod
June 17th 2011



1279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So this is really good. It's as if Rise Against, Lostprophets, and Thrice had a musical child, and it turned out wonderfully.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy