Black Veil Brides
We Stitch These Wounds


2.0
poor

Review

by Jonnyborg USER (1 Reviews)
July 20th, 2010 | 337 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: hey, at least the kids got over brokencyde

Coming out of Hollywood California, Black Veil Brides are the next step in the constant repackaging of popular "dark rock", following in the steps of The Used, My Chemical Romance, and other similar Hot Topic bands. BVB, as the band's fans call them, embraces many of the clichés of the aforementioned bands: bleeding heart lyrics dealing with depression, arguably unnecessary screams, pseudo-"gothic" posturing, and flamboyant makeup and dress. Oh, and eyeliner. Lots and lots of eyeliner.

Many people’s relationship with the band began about June 2009, when without any prior notice whatsoever, Black Veil Brides were somehow able to release a professionally produced music video for their song “Knives and Pens.” The video (which currently is sitting at a comfortable 12 million views) successfully catapulted the band from obscurity and into the hearts of mall-rats everywhere via youtube. Their first full-length album, “We Stitch These Wounds” attempts to follow up on this internet success. The odd thing about this is that they waited a year to put out an album, when this style of music has pretty much been out the door since 2004.

The vocals fit the music well, creating some catchy melodies. Catchy, but also very predictable. At about halfway through the album, you know exactly where he's going to go almost every time. That said vocalist Andy Sixx's vocals are more than capable of keeping up with the rest of the band. Andy’s sad lack of major variation in his tenor vocal range very far in any direction keeps his performance in strictly average territory. The band is also fond of backup vocal screams. These will be the first to go when they begin to achieve mainstream success. They sound as if they are coming from within a closet already. It is almost as if they are already putting them away and just wanted to make sure their older die-hard fans were not disappointed. Just as well, as they are completely unneeded and do nothing for any of the songs they are included in.

Lyrical content is what we have all come to expect from bands aimed at school kids, dealing obliquely with teasing, parental and sibling strife, depression, and the like. Even though the band indulges in these clichés, the fashion and all the typical trappings that go along with it, they do maintain a mostly consistent positive outlook with the band’s lyrics, instructing their fans that things are not hopeless: “And I've lost all faith in this blurring light, but stay right here we can change our plight.”

From musical standpoint Black Veil Brides clearly owes a debt to Bullet for My Valentine and Avenged Sevenfold, while citing bands like Mötley Crüe and KISS in interviews. This comes out in the music, clearly being metal influenced. Guitar solos are common and thankfully are not completely pointless, knowing their place well, such as a passable one near the end of the track “Heaven’s Calling.” The musicianship is undeniably passable, but generic. While the guitarists and drummer clearly know what they are doing, what they are doing is not incredible in any substantial way. The bass predictably enough is absent. From my lurking of their myspace and youtube, he never really got any face time anyway, so I am not surprised. When the bass is audible, it mostly hides behind the guitars, apparently ashamed to do its own thing.

In closing, the band does little if any innovation, and sticks to their guns, but this could have been far worse.

Recommended:

Knives and Pens
Carolyn
We Stitch These Wounds


user ratings (671)
Chart.
1.9
poor
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Tremendously average, but brokencyde bad? I think not.

squirrielle
July 20th 2010


33 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

this is worst than brokencyde

Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

eh, either way now the horror that is black.. veil... *cough* brides is on sputnik.

did you know they call their fans bridesmaids? horrifying, truly.

Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

which would be exactly why I tweaked the review and knocked it down to a 2.
that aiden record's only good for laughs. really I don't put that much thought into this shit. I'm constantly changing ratings. i'm one of those guys.

yeah. Didn't really care for on letting go. I'm sorry, did I offend your anthony green-boner?

Crymsonblaze
July 20th 2010


7520 Comments


Pretty generic.

Singer reminds me of a far less cool Ronnie Radke.

Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

their fanbase seems to agree, Crymsonblaze. their last.fm has Escape the fate as a "similar artist"

acADHDemy
July 20th 2010


1124 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Singer reminds me of a far less cool Ronnie Radke.


and that's saying something!

bailar11
July 20th 2010


2433 Comments


On Letting Go was pretty good. Blue Sky Noise is best.


very true. they seem to improve with every album.

bailar11
July 20th 2010


2433 Comments


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/list.php?memberid=433696&listid=47885

yall need to listen to some more shitty music. jsut to see how low it can go.

Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

dude on the album cover, on the band's profile page, person 2nd from the left is a chick all the rest are guys. female drummer.

Blue Sky noise was really good, from what I remember. I need to listen to it again before I give it a rating.



Bitchfork
July 20th 2010


7584 Comments


Should I listen to this for the lul-age or put my iPod in instead?

acADHDemy
July 20th 2010


1124 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

BMTH and ETID toured this year and they're completely different... brokencyde and senses fail toured last year and they fucking hated eachother... what does touring have to do with anything

Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Lul-age, bitchfork. it's just that blah.

two bands being on the warped tour together is kinda a bit of a stretch. I didn't mean to imply they would've been buddies either.

Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I think I'm pretty comfortable with my 2.5's and 2's, actually. though I'll admit some I probably just haven't listened to in ages and forgot that I did like it. like those two bloc party cds.



Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

did i pick up the wrong album then? believe me, I'm more then welcome to the idea of giving them another go.

MrHotMoms
July 20th 2010


617 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Jonny all of their albums are much better than where you have ranked them... it really depends on your tastes. you seem more concerned with dissing women, scared to smile, they called you ugly?

Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I thought the same thing, andcas. Incidentally, what's going on with MCR these days? are they dead or something?



Also, holy shit, what was I thinking, Ruin's pretty good. better then that underoath cd anyway.

Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BShdnDU0cH0&feature=related

this one is the worst song I've heard in a long time.


"you seem more concerned with dissing women, scared to smile, they called you ugly?"
I have no idea what you're talking about.


Jonnyborg
July 20th 2010


232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah, Bob left, didn't he? I'll definitely give that a listen when it comes out.

Titan50
July 20th 2010


4588 Comments


Seriously, Knives And Pens is actually decent for shitty scenecore. Better than half the shitty metalcore Sputnik hype up



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy