The Books
The Way Out


4.5
superb

Review

by Eno USER (34 Reviews)
July 19th, 2010 | 66 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A jubilant electronic album that delves into psychotic musical realms without ever becoming overdone or bloated.

In past works, Books have always been associated with a sound referred to as folktronica, using acoustic sounds and melodies and juxtaposing them with hazy vocal samples and oddball textures. And what folk influences they had probably reflected on their minimalist sound. Whatever; The Books have ditched all modesty for good on The Way Out, aiming for sound-college grandiosity. No traditional instrumentation is sacred, every loop subjected to mathematical layering. It's an expansion of soundscapery explored on Lost and Safe. The distinction is present, if not tangible, but the full disclosure is that The Way Out's sound lies in its diverse palette of musical techniques and samples utilized. It aims for everything, and god damnit, it achieves it. Sped-up rhythms and twisted vocal samples do create a joyous musical vibe, but the album paces in a diverse and cooling manner. Tense and dynamic tunes such as "I Didn't Know That" are contrasted by tracks such as "Thirty Coming" which swell and build not unlike a post-rock song.

In contrast to many sample-based records, The Way Out is completely fulfilling as an album. It recalls different moods and textures, the second half in particular containing slow-brooding tracks featuring soothing vocals. With the exception of "Free Translator", these tracks tend to diverge from standard songwriting and instead produce a hypnotic sound that works as an alternate to the more upbeat tracks. While its ambition to cover a plethora of sounds could leave one expecting an incohesive piece of art, The Books have created a record made to digest as a whole, each track flowing into new territory. But I digress; The Way Out is crazy fun, small atonal samples layered to produce a stunning musical effect. The vocal samples often define the feel of each track, adding humor, abstraction, and general atmosphere. The entire LP, while channeling the celebratory feel of plunderphonic music, creates something bigger musically, something that will perplex, ease, and engage listeners to the fullest. And that is something for experimental music fans to revel in.



Recent reviews by this author
Beau Navire HoursWeekend Nachos Worthless
Raekwon Shaolin vs. Wu-TangTim Hecker Ravedeath, 1972
Palmkite The Sound Of SnowfallEmeralds Does It Look Like I'm Here?
user ratings (71)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Enotron
July 19th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=128415181

there's the stream.

Enotron
July 19th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thanks bro, check this out it's super duper fun

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2010


15043 Comments


band is alright

Psilocyanide
July 19th 2010


1823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Heard good things about this album, can't wait to check it out.

BallsToTheWall
July 19th 2010


44478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A Cold Freezin' Night WTF. Good album nonetheless and review.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

WeepingBanana
July 19th 2010


10159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is nuts. the books are nuts.

Enotron
July 19th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

haha I love the samples of angry children on Cold Freezin Night. really humorous track.

Enotron
July 19th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

boys are tougher than girls, i know that

joshuatree
Emeritus
July 19th 2010


3742 Comments


like this a lot more than anything else i've heard from them. seems more natural, just flows a lot better than, say, the lemon of pink

and yeah that song is adorable 8)

tinkrbel
July 19th 2010


1698 Comments


pos'd good job Eno
seemed short but u described it in enough detail

WeepingBanana
July 19th 2010


10159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I Am Who I Am is so ridiculously good. my head explodes a few hundred times throughout

Enotron
July 19th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Tink 8]

I've taken a liking to shorter reviews, especially after seeing how well redskyformiles does them. doesn't help that my first 7 or so
were overdone, over-analyzed monsters.

edit: or rather my earlier reviews are part of why I lean towards them

SwagChef
July 19th 2010


283 Comments


And whatever folk influence probably reflected on their minimalist sound. Whatever;


Destroy this, sounds really unprofessional and makes you seem clueless.

It aims for everything and goddamnit it achieves it


Should be "It aims for everything, and goddamn it, it achieves it."

tracks such as "Thirty Coming" which swells and builds


seeing as "Tracks" is the subject, it should be swell and build, not swells and builds

fullest. And that is something for experimental music fans to revel in.


make this "fullest, and..."

really great review, eno.

pos'd.

Enotron
July 19th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thanks man, I'll attend to those errors

SwagChef
July 19th 2010


283 Comments


no problem. imo this should get the feature you requested

Enotron
July 19th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

again I appreciate it

oh I see you are bulldog, why'd you get banned again?

SwagChef
July 19th 2010


283 Comments


for my rick ross review lol.

im writing my concept review for MMLP atm and im just gonna post everything i write for the next week on here and maybe have
them merged.

tinkrbel
July 19th 2010


1698 Comments


aww who negged? at least give reason/justification 4 the neg

i got ur back Eno ;)

SwagChef
July 19th 2010


283 Comments


how long


a week.

Enotron
July 19th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

haha its all good somebody troll neg'd me, look at my 69% approval rating



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy