Big Boi
Sir Lucious Left Foot


4.5
superb

Review

by Peter Tabakis USER (8 Reviews)
July 10th, 2010 | 23 replies | 3,497 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The unsung half of Outkast proves he's just as much a visionary as what's his name.

2 of 3 thought this review was well written

To read the critical reaction to Antwan "Big Boi" Patton's new album, Sir Lucious Leftfoot...The Son of Chico Dusty, is to witness the intersection of whiplash historical revisionism and a small cultural awakening (of which I, too, am guilty). Conventional wisdom has it that Outkast, arguably the most popular and critically beloved rap group ever, was the product of a polished MC (Patton) and a wild near-genius visionary (André "3000" Benjamin). Exhibit A, and the example par excellence, is Outkast's last official album, Speakerboxxx/The Love Below, essentially two solo albums glued together. Dre's half was ridiculously hailed (largely, and understandably, due to "Hey Ya!"), while Patton's half was, to be generous, merely admired (when discussed at all).

History revised: seven years later, André's The Love Below sounds better in memory than it does playing through speakers. As is the case with the product of any visionary, the excitement of the new overshadowed deep flaws. Speakerboxxx, however, sounds better than ever: tight, muscular, and assured. "Hey Ya!" got all the attention, but "The Way You Move" is almost as wonderful and, since it wasn't nearly as overplayed, it still sounds fresh.

The catalyst of this revisionism, via the advance tracks to Sir Lucious Leftfoot, almost three years in the making, was the realization that perhaps too much credit was heaped on André 3000. The cultural awakening is realized with every repeated listen to the album proper. Lean by Outkast's standards (just 15 tracks), Sir Lucious Leftfoot is great throughout and shows that Big Boi doesn't lack for flourish, while also maintaining a staggering level of competence that approaches virtuosity. I don't mean to insult by faint praise: real competence is hard to come by.

Much like Janelle Monáe's The ArchAndroid, which Patton had a hand in, Sir Lucious Leftfoot reaches an early zenith with a triple play. "Follow Us", "Shutterbugg", and "General Patton" could each carry an album single-handedly. In the case of "Follow Us", the catchy modern-rock-radio chorus by Vonnegutt is elevated by the surefooted funk that surrounds it. "Shutterbugg", the album's giddy first single, pounces with an unstoppable beat ("Cut a rug!"). The bombast of "General Patton", with it's glorious sample of a Georg Solti aria, obliterates any notion that Dre was Outkast's only visionary.

Singling out these three seems unfair, as the rest of the album is nearly as great (see: "Shine Blockas," "Tangerine," "Hustle Blood," "Be Still," "Fo Yo Sorrows," "Daddy Fat Sax," etc.). The large roll call of artists (including the aforementioned Janelle Monáe) who contribute to the album never overtake Patton's gift -- the deft turn of phrase -- that is the album's true highlight. The surprise, and the bottom line, is that Sir Lucious Leftfoot is as good, if not better, than any Outkast release.

André who?



Recent reviews by this author
Robyn Body Talk Pt. 2M.I.A. Maya
LCD Soundsystem This Is HappeningGorillaz Plastic Beach
Rufus Wainwright All Days Are Nights: Songs for LuluJanelle Monae The ArchAndroid (Suites II and III of IV)
user ratings (592)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Adam Downer STAFF (4.5)
Sir Lucious Left Foot is a brilliant record according to the classic barometers, but you really don...

Joe Schmoh (4)
Its flaws in composition are made up for in pure skill, power of reference, and like-ability....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Bulldog
July 10th 2010



3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

digging this album

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2010



30297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^
No shit

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

fromtheinside
July 10th 2010



16386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ok this album is getting so much praise i can't believe i haven't gotten it yet. best rap album of the year people or no?

Digging: Lord Mantis - Death Mask

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2010



30297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah, but its good

Ghostechoes
July 10th 2010



1353 Comments


Good stuff. I yet have to find a review for this that does not mention André, though.

fromtheinside
July 10th 2010



16386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

see the thing with andre though is he isn't afraid to experiment. Big Boi as seen with speakerboxxx sticks with what he knows and makes it work. so i can't say its a fault.

Ghostechoes
July 10th 2010



1353 Comments


Well, he might not be as authentic as Andre, but the content of this album is definitely varied, creative, and enjoyable.

MrHotMoms
July 10th 2010



617 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what the hell does "authentic" mean?

Ghostechoes
July 10th 2010



1353 Comments


That his music is somehow different from that of the stereotypical hip-hop artist.

MrHotMoms
July 10th 2010



617 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That his music is somehow different from that of the stereotypical hip-hop artist.


i'm pretty sure you're using a very liberal construction of "authentic" here. I think you may have confused "authentic" with "innovative"

Ghostechoes
July 10th 2010



1353 Comments


I generally don't like semantic discussions, but I think innovation (something new or different) implies being authentic (not copied). Or maybe I chose my words poorly -- it's 2:52 AM.

MrHotMoms
July 10th 2010



617 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

no that's a fair point, although I would say that in most uses, authenticity is applied as an expression of that which is 'genuine' or 'substantiated' (a formalist construction) instead of narrowly conceived as 'not copied.'

thererfore we would expect an 'authentic' rapper's music to conform to the predetermined, archetypal norms of hip-hop...

although both definitions work, i guess. authentic can mean 'real' and it can mean 'reaaaaaal'

jaws3ppl0
July 10th 2010



45 Comments


merp

MrHotMoms
July 10th 2010



617 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

chambered89 you my ninja

ptabakis
July 10th 2010



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Innovative? I'm not so sure. Brilliantly executed? Absolutely. I'm perplexed by any question of its "authenticity." Is The Love Below more "authentic?" To me it sounds labored and self-conscious. It just doesn't hold up, "Hey Ya!" notwithstanding.

Tupik
July 10th 2010



667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have to listen to this again.
Oh, and I think Andre 3000 is (or was ?) way better than Big Boi, but it has nothing to do with Speakerboxxx/The Love Below, as I think Speakerboxx blows the shit out of Love Below.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 10th 2010



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

ugh i am so sick of the andre/ big boi comparisons. they dont even do the same thing.

fyr, idlwild was the last proper outkast release. honestly, i didn't even like speakerboxxx/love below a whole lot tbh.

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins

MUNGOLOID
July 10th 2010



4267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i probably won't get shit when i say this was better than Speakerboxxx, not that that was a bad album in the first place.

Ire
July 10th 2010



41453 Comments


great review

PatchworkNeurology
July 11th 2010



352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shine Blockas wins soooo hard. Fuck this album is almost close to being perfection



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy