Old Man's Child
In Defiance of Existence


4.5
superb

Review

by superpeer USER (22 Reviews)
September 30th, 2005 | 73 replies | 11,549 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Old Man's Child, a black metal band who aren't exactly the most respected in their genre. In fact they are probably the most hated after the ex-black metal bands Cradle of Filth and Dimmu Borgir. Because they share some members with the terrible two? Because they include melody in a genre that's supposed to be raw? The use of keyboards? The fact that they're fairly popular? Who knows. But this isn't reflected in the quality of their music. Personally I think it's a good thing to share the two most talented (ex-)members of those two bands, namely Galder and Nicholas Barker. As a whole Old Man's Child looks like this:

Galder - Vocals, Lead & Acoustic Guitars, Bass, Keyboards
Jardar - Lead & Acoustic Guitars
Nicholas Barker - Drums

This album is arguably the finest work Old Man's Child has ever put out. Contrary to some of the band's earlier work, this isn't drowned in keyboards or synths, something that might have put off some people. The keyboards are used appropriately, only to create an atmosphere or add a touch of melody. And this is done with great skill. The production is crystal clear and sounds really great (So what if they didn't record in some cellar?) The keyboards are more in the background, where they should be. They give the album a dark and mystical sound, suited for the genre, there are even some chanted vocals to add to that atmosphere. The other vocals have a layered effect and sound good. The guitars and the drums are the most prominent. And with good reason!

The riffs on this album are superb, Galder is certainly a talented guitarist. Every song contains at least a couple of creative riffs and here and there a nice solo. The guitar work has quite a bit of death metal influence and it certainly sounds a lot fuller and chunkier than other black metal. And they mix very well with the keys, there's even some acoustic work around, mainly intros but 'In Quest of Enigmatic Dreams' is fully acoustic and instrumental.

The drums sound perfect in the mix and they really are some of the best I've heard. Barker is an amazing drummer, despite of being so hated. He does some great blast beats, but he's more than that, he has some wonderful fills and his double bass work is furiously trampling and fast as lightning. He's really the driving force of this album.

I can really say this is a very enjoyable album, great production, brilliant song writing, mixing melody and occult lyrics with speed and aggression of the drums and the guitars. And even though the sound of this album is too full and melodic to be accepted by the elitists this is a strong recommendation.



Recent reviews by this author
Therion TheliTherapy? Semi-Detached
Darkthrone Soulside JourneySoulfly Primitive
Therapy? One Cure Fits AllBob Marley and The Wailers Babylon By Bus
user ratings (157)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rudd13
September 30th 2005



952 Comments


Was this one removed?

Shadows
Moderator
September 30th 2005



2530 Comments


I thought it had more posts than this...?

Med57
Moderator
September 30th 2005



1001 Comments


It was removed as the band page screwed up along with the album name for some reason. Thanks for re-submitting it Superpeer.

Thor
October 1st 2005



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nick Barker is such an awesome drummer, I need to give this thing a listen then.

Good review.

I'm Charming
October 5th 2005



332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album by old mans child here. Vermin is better though.

Good review too.

circleofdeadchildren
October 5th 2005



119 Comments


Nice review,I wrote a review for this one.

Aakon_Keetreh
October 7th 2005



448 Comments


this is an awsome cd, good work on the review

Thor
January 22nd 2006



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh man, I just got this CD and I love it. Excellent review.

You also said that Nick Barker is hated. Is he really? I find him to be one of the greatest drummers of all time.This Message Edited On 01.22.06

Aakon_Keetreh
January 22nd 2006



448 Comments


Thor what cds are u writing a review for right now?

Thor
January 22nd 2006



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dumb comment***This Message Edited On 12.17.06

Apathy
January 22nd 2006



645 Comments


Done, Necromancer.

Thor
January 22nd 2006



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wouldn't say that it's "pure" black metal, but it certainly is good.

Thor
April 14th 2006



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Black metal "purity" shouldn't really matter if the music is still good, which is the case with this album.

"Felonies of the Christian Art" at 1:54 = awesome breakdown!

Cravinov13
April 14th 2006



3854 Comments


This is a good album, but I think Vermin is bit more accesible as a whole IMO.

TheDevilsOwn
May 23rd 2006



91 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think this band's best album is Vermin, but this is great as well. Why is it taht I had to browse these guys cause they didn't come up on search when I typed the name in (and i know I spelled it right)

JumpTheF**kUp
May 27th 2006



2710 Comments


Black Seeds on Virgin Soil is a great song. And what an intro! Happy times. Anyway, good review, could've been better. But then again I've never written a review so who am I to judge?

Cravinov13
July 12th 2006



3854 Comments


I'm gonna write the review to Vermin most likely in the next couple of days. As long as Sputnik doesn't start doing the reason I havn't been on in a few days, and that's not connect properly to my computer.

superpeer
July 12th 2006



257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That would be interesting.

Phil Anselmo
August 6th 2006



18 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Allthough I strongly disagree with most, if not all of their lyrics, there is no denying the beauty and intensity involved in this album. The guitar solos are very melodic but at the same time very atmostpheric. Galder's vocals fit the music perfectly and the lack of clean vocals is welcomed, and only adds to the terrific quality of the album.

jk2two
September 7th 2007



105 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great review on this album. This is by far one of my favorite black metal (?) albums of all time. Though you can debate genres to death, it is simple enough to say this album has some of the best riffs ever written in thrash/speed/death/black metal. I swear Galder needs to cite video game music as a reference - some of his passages just scream "megaman" to me for some reason. But it works.
And Dimmu has been so lucky to have him writing for them as well.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy