Washed Out
Life of Leisure


4.0
excellent

Review

by AggravatedYeti USER (46 Reviews)
June 30th, 2010 | 53 replies | 13,696 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bedroom pop with a dance hall bump.

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

When twenty-six year old Ernest Greene finished up his graduate degree and was forced to move back in with his parents, he almost took it as a personal hit. Amidst a lack of job opportunities, the budding librarian was also in the middle of saving up for an impending marriage; one could understand his disenchantment with his empty wallet and current residence. Embarrassed Greene would take to his laptop at night, crafting almost delicate electro-pop songs with a woozy shoegaze bend and a love for huge beats. Expecting nothing more than personal gratification out of his Myspace postings, the songs took off, leading Greene to distribution and a tour as Washed Out; not bad for a guy who wasn’t looking for success in the first place. You can’t blame the proponents though; the music is infectious. Greene’s half whispered, multi-tracked coos gently glide over his hazy instrumentals. The back beats melt into the synths and key fills, propelling Ernest’s extremely washed voice to the forefront a la My Bloody Valentine. Like Loveless era MBV as well, his voice albeit pretty indecipherable and certainly washed out, becomes angelic. Really though, it is the laid back aesthetic and dirty production that is the biggest connection between this and the likes of Shoegaze, but it pretty much stops there. Greene tends to infuse his dream-pop beginnings with lush key fills, pounding New Wave beats, and soaring choruses; almost searching for this panoramic sound usually reserved for studio time and successfully nailing it on his MacBook. While only about eighteen minutes long and presumably still riding a certain level of nu-muzak hype, Washed Out and his EP Life Of Leisure positions Ernest Greene at an interesting place. He’s proven he can take a collected bunch of elements and bundle them together for twenty or so minutes of great dancey, dreamy, pop music. Question now becomes: is there life for Washed Out past that laptop at mom and dad’s place?



Recent reviews by this author
Los Campesinos! Hello SadnessM83 Hurry Up, We're Dreaming
Big K.R.I.T. ReturnOf4evaG-Side The One...Cohesive
Blackbird Blackbird Summer HeartDe La Soul De La Soul Is Dead
user ratings (221)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
AggravatedYeti
June 30th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

surprised this had no review. mostly cause its so cchhiilllll.

klap
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2010



10324 Comments


CHILLLLLLL as ice baby

Digging: Literature - Chorus

robin
Emeritus
June 30th 2010



4248 Comments


"no this isn't a thing"

AggravatedYeti
June 30th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks jerkface.

EVedder27
June 30th 2010



6088 Comments


Sounds like such a Yeti album. Review is very good, but I think the first few sentences could use some commas, kinda had trouble reading them.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2010



15016 Comments


i really like this

timbo8
June 30th 2010



618 Comments


this is great stuff. "Feel It All Around" is one of the chillllllllest songs ever

alachlahol
June 30th 2010



7484 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh snap son, you wrote this one up. long overdue

SeaAnemone
June 30th 2010



20012 Comments


yeah I was thinking about taking this just because it so desperately needed a review but I wouldn't have done it justice... you certainly did though.


"New Theory" is my most-played song of 2010 I think, and that's saying something, I think it barely tops "king Of Spain" in terms of plays. Its awesomeness is off the charts.

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Night Country

alachlahol
June 30th 2010



7484 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the sample for "Feel It All Around" was jacked from here.

alachlahol
June 30th 2010



7484 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

most chillwave you find will be in the same vein; anything Neon Indian, Paralyze Humanity Sequence, Toro Y Moi, etc all play it the same way

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2010



31085 Comments


Do I need this Yeti?

Digging: Banks - Goddess

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2010



15016 Comments


i think the last three songs are my favorite

Bitchfork
June 30th 2010



7584 Comments


This is phenomenal (but so is most bedroom-pop)

BallsToTheWall
June 30th 2010



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review, i'll undoubtedly enjoy this.

illmitch
June 30th 2010



5429 Comments


fuckin love washed out

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2010



15016 Comments


yeeeeeeeeee

illmitch
June 30th 2010



5429 Comments


heard about these guys thru hipsterrunoff

have not looked back since

AggravatedYeti
June 30th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Deviant if you like chillwave this is a must have. If you haven't heard any then you'd probably appreciate it a lot anyways. Its a very interesting, laid back take on Trance & House that delves a bit more into Ambient, Dream Pop and New Wave.
As well as you Balls--get this.

Eric I'm sure you'd do just fine by this record ;)

and thanks a lot limonade, I think I may prefer your take on it. Not in the mood or at a place where I can edit but will.

also Robertson last 3 tracks are easily the best yeeaahhhh.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2010



15016 Comments


my favorite chillwave is the song 'blessa' by toro y moi



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy