Black Sabbath
Cross Purposes


3.0
good

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
June 28th, 2010 | 18 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sabbath make an unexpected second good album with Tony Martin, although it would also be their last acceptable record.

Ever since the late 80's, it was dead clear that Black Sabbath were missing more than they hit. Records such as Headless Cross and Tyr, both recorded with their second-longest-lasting vocalist Tony Martin, were close to being abominations, and the band had strayed far from their amazing compositions in the 70's with Ozzy Osbourne and early 80's with the late Ronnie James Dio. The Eternal Idol, the first album Sabbath did with Martin, however, proved to be quite enjoyable, and 1994's Cross Purposes is really the only Martin-led album that can stand on a similar level.

That said, Cross Purposes is still pretty hit-and-miss. The return of Geezer Butler with the group's preceding album Dehumanizer certainly helps, as the man is one of the most easily distinguishable and influential heavy metal bassists of all time. He provides highlights such as Imacculate Deception and Psychophobia with the basis that Sabbath so gravely missed, and similarly to their previous album, Sabbath sound positively heavy again. They sound like Black Sabbath again.

Though Butler's return was more than welcome, and seasoned Sabbath fan knows the group lives or dies by Tony Iommi's abilities on the guitar. The man has lost the originality factor of the early 70's, but he still handles things they should be handled on this album. Truth be told, some of the riffs are nothing noteworthy, but it's an huge relief to hear how badass I Witness sounds.

But you'll be asking yourselves: does this make Cross Purposes a worthy get? No, not really. The Sabbath fans on the more hardcore side of the fence will like this quite a bit, and it's also the last decent album Iommi and company managed to put out, but any critical music lover will come back to the same conclusion again and again: Sabbath burnt out right after Mob Rules, and that was it. You'll find some material of enjoyable quality in the Martin-era, but you certainly will never be amazed.

Cross Purposes' Black Sabbath was:

- Frank Anthony ‘Tony’ Iommi ~ Lead Guitar
- Terrence Michael Joseph ‘Geezer’ Butler ~ Bass Guitar
- Anthony Martin Harford ~ Vocals
- Robert 'Bobby' Rondinelli ~ Drums
- Geoff Nicholls ~ Keyboards


TO BE CONTINUED...



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (282)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
Willan92 (3.5)
It's could be the "ultimate" Sabbath album. Probably the best recorded with Tony Martin....

blekzebbed (3.5)
Cross Purposes is probably the best Tony Martin era album, but it can't make it to the Sabbath class...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
June 28th 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've been pretty much absent for a week, but here I am again to wrap up Sabbath and Crimson.

BigHans
June 28th 2010


26454 Comments


Yet another Sabbath album I haven't heard. Maybe I need to bone up.

Nagrarok
June 28th 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's only their first 10 albums that you need to hear.

BigHans
June 28th 2010


26454 Comments


Got most of those covered.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2010


8371 Comments


solid review blah blah, looks like you're coming to an end with Sabbath - another discography soon to be defeated!

Jethro42
June 28th 2010


12491 Comments


Nice to read you again Nag buddy.

EVedder27
June 28th 2010


6088 Comments


Pos. They should give you a "discography reviewer" position or something

LepreCon
June 28th 2010


4144 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oooh lookey here, yet another Sabbath album I like better than you do =P

Pos'd on account of being a good review

Jethro42
June 28th 2010


12491 Comments


hey Ved, next ProgJect one's gonna be Triumvirat instead of Yes.

Nagrarok
June 29th 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

another discography soon to be defeated!


Another two, actually. Unintentionally the last review for both Crimson and Sabbath are coming right up now.

They should give you a "discography reviewer" position or something


If that were possible...hehe.

Oooh lookey here, yet another Sabbath album I like better than you do =P


BUT WAIT... Forbidden will soon be coming up, and I bet you will hate it just as much as I do!

rockandmetaljunkie
July 15th 2012


3464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Mediocre record.
The only songs I truly enjoyed were "Virtual Death", "Immaculate Deception" and "Dying for Love". Everything else is either average work or recycled ideas. "Evil Eye" is also enjoyable, but the main riff is very similar to the song Country Girl.

facupm
July 15th 2012


8087 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

album is OK

Digging: Dissect - Swallow Swouming Mass

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


1896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album, although I still can't quite get into Martin's vocals, even though I will admit that he sounds better on here than he did on 'Tyr'. The musicianship is very well done in my opinion, Iommi's riffs proving as mighty as ever.

mark7477
March 7th 2014


394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is probably one of their better albums with Tony Martin not to mention better songs like virtual death and evil eye.However the rest of the album is a little bit once again on the mediocre/generic side of things.

NeroCorleone80
March 7th 2014


29334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

First 2 Martin albums are better

deslad
April 14th 2014


365 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Headless Cross and Tyr were better, The Eternal Idol was probably at the same level.

Digging: Rainbow - On Stage

OmairSh
August 6th 2014


11583 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Young life


Tooo yyooung

Digging: Anacrusis - Manic Impressions

NeroCorleone80
September 8th 2014


29334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Virtual Death brings the doom



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy