Eyes Set To Kill
Broken Frames


3.5
great

Review

by HonestIllusion USER (1 Reviews)
June 24th, 2010 | 28 replies | 14,231 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Once again, Eyes Set To Kill recycle and refine themselves into something every label lusts for, emphasizing confidence and consistency over innovation.

13 of 13 thought this review was well written

Pioneers are generally an unappreciated lot. Without an established benchmark, it’s difficult to ascertain the quality of any given technique and/or idea. The comfort of familiarity is non-existent, and without a persistent, loyal fanbase, the ideas fade into a conceptual Abyss, never to be heard from again until another band reintroduces the idea, and the now-grizzly fans of the former band emerge and point their gnarled fingers in contempt. Thieves! Plagiarists! Talentless Imitators!

Eyes Set To Kill doesn’t have to worry about any of that.

Instead of redesigning the wheel (or removing it entirely in favor of sleek and sexier methods of propulsion), they’re content with simply polishing the rims, checking the air pressure, and digging the rocks out of the grooves. The resulting product won’t win over anyone who couldn’t find something to hold on to in previous releases, but for most of the legion of fans Eyes Set To Kill has amassed from two albums and an EP, Broken Frames is a delightful addition to the stereo.

The most dramatic difference is the replacement of screamer Brandon Anderson with Cisko Miranda. The former, it seems, disgusted nearly every listener with a forum account, as he remains remarkably unpopular considering his presence in one of the most ubiquitous core bands. Cisko enters the game with raspy gutturals that showcase both his articulate approach as well as his tremendously limited range. Though I personally prefer Brandon’s throaty monologues, I must admit that Cisko fits the sound very well, if only due to the impeccable production (his live performance is…lacking).

Alexia, who’s nasally charm separates Eyes Set To Kill from the hordes of ( )xC bands, has, at the mention of producer Andrew Wade, stretched her vocal range to it’s limit on this album. While higher notes aren’t to be confused with passion, her high octane delivery makes a convincing argument that the lyrics played an important role in the songwriting. That doesn’t mean they’ll be finding their way into your English Composition curriculum, but they are a notch above the typical relationship-focused ramblings that infest the genre, if only in meaning as opposed to word choice.

Broken Frames isn’t bogged down by a cluttered spotlight. There is a prominent harsh-verse, clean-chorus focus for most of the songs. That being said, it’s apparent nearly every passage of every song is the result of forethought and refinement. The instruments won’t inspire an entire generation to quit their jobs and head to the nearest Guitar Center, but they accomplish their intent: user-friendliness.

This is as radio-friendly as hardcore gets.
It isn’t fresh.
It isn’t surprising.
But there isn’t any reason to hide it when your pretentious friends visit.


user ratings (128)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
elliott1191 (4.5)
Excellent album, and solid all the way around, but still a little room for improvement to be truly e...


Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
June 24th 2010



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Better than the other review, thankfully. Awesome record, a definite step-up over their last one.

Willie
Moderator
June 24th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Excellent first review. I'm glad they ditched the other male vocalist. Now if only Lacuna Coil would dump theirs.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

BallsToTheWall
June 24th 2010



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

123 although on Comalies he wasn't too bad.

Apollo
June 24th 2010



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great first review. Have a pos

LG
June 24th 2010



3049 Comments


Nice review u got mere. Album was destined for greatness the minute Brandon left.

xTevinx
June 24th 2010



104 Comments


The World Outside was the biggest load of bull ever. And a waste. This is above and beyond. I was really surprised.

Zip
June 24th 2010



5313 Comments


Can't stop listening to this it's awesome. Vocal melodies are sick as hell and it's so catchy!

ConsiderPhlebas
June 24th 2010



6157 Comments


Cool review.

Zip
June 24th 2010



5313 Comments


One problem though, Cisko didn't record this album, it was a session musician and right now he's getting a ton of backlash from ESTK fans.

LG
June 24th 2010



3049 Comments


Probably bc the guy sucks live. I don't know why they didn't just keep the guy that actually recorded the harsh vox.

Willie
Moderator
June 25th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's kind if lame. So they got someone good for the album and then swapped him out with someone shitty for the concerts? Which one of the sisters is he fuckin?

HonestIllusion
June 25th 2010



1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really appreciate the feedback.
And I wasn't aware that Cisko didn't record for this album; though, it makes sense considering the contrasting live performances. Haha, then again, ESTK has never had a solid live performance.

dan20290
July 3rd 2010



2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review. I really like this album. I think it's their best yet. Definitely a step up from "The World Outside" which I just found boring. Also, yes, the live screamer isn't very good, but the album screamer works very well. In my opinion they should have kept him on permanently. Hope to see this standard and more in their next release.

LG
July 4th 2010



3049 Comments


He's probably havin threesomes with both. Lucky shitty mothafucka

Torgol
September 30th 2010



32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really don't see why people are giving it higher scores than their previous ones. The guys vox are just as bad as Brandon's. The only thing that sticks out is Alexia's occasional raise in pitch.

GulliKyro
October 7th 2010



357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great Review. Record is one of my favourites of the year.

Willie
Moderator
November 19th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Who knew that the female vocalist released a solo album in October? Second question: has anyone heard it?

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/bands/Lexia/22914/

Acanthus
November 23rd 2010



9510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They have definitely improved, Alexia especially. As far as the screamers go... eh I can take or leave the new or old one. If it wasn't for Alexia's polished delivery I wouldn't have enjoyed this as much.

Yet I still like The World Outside better, too many memories from that album. It's not better in any aspect that should matter, just to me its more enjoyable.

Digging: Symphony X - Paradise Lost

djdougherty
January 7th 2011



52 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

One of the catchiest and funnest albums ive heard this year.

Apollo
January 7th 2011



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

funnest



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy