Lamb of God
Ashes of the Wake


3.5
great

Review

by Viktor Svensson USER (1 Reviews)
June 19th, 2010 | 29 replies | 3,251 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ashes of the Wake stands firmly as one of the strongest moments in Lamb of God’s career.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

In their 2004 release, Lamb of God has tightened every possible loose aspect found on their earlier records. Most importantly, the vocals of Randy Blythe are very focused and articulate, something he aspired to, but not wholly managed on their previous effort As the Palaces Burn. The dual guitar work of Mark Morton and Willie Adler originates from the cold forests of Scandinavia, while infused with an American rage recalling influence Pantera and their likes. The drumming of Chris Adler complements the forefront perfectly and lays a bone-crushing groundwork. And yeah, I guess there’s a bass somewhere in the mix, too. One would probably notice the lack of power without it, but Campbell doesn’t act as more than a supporting pillar for the guitarists.

The opening tracks of Ashes of the Wake surpass the usual one-two punch and extend it to a five finger death punch. Laid to Rest, their arguably most popular song to date, is without a doubt one of the (if not the) best song on the entire album. Ominous melodies, a technical rhythm section worthy of reverence and a killer collection of riffs earn this song the status it has. The following Hourglass further explores their Scandinavian technicalities. Now You’ve Got Something to Die For is, as Blythe himself has stated, “…our version of a little emo sing-along.” The eponymous chant is instantly rememberable, once again backed by furious riffing and a strong backing section. The Faded Line bears musical similarities to “Hourglass” in its melodic and galloping guitars. Following a statement of the code of honour, Omerta is arguably the heaviest song on the record, bearing a main riff fit for a breakdown (which the song, like most tracks on this album, features.) The middle section of Ashes is relatively disappointing, relatively being the key word here for while none of these cuts are inherently bad, they do not live up to the standard set by the opening tracks. However, the second to last song, the title track, is a step up to this quality. An instrumental, interesting riffs are interspersed with audio clips from an interview with ex-Marine Jimmy Massey regarding the war in Iraq (this is not the only political song here; earlier tracks touch upon this subject.) Featuring guest solos by Alex Skolnick and Chris Poland alongside their own Mark Morton, this is one of the most impressive tracks of Ashes, while also being the longest (clocking in at 5:45.) The closing Remorse Is For the Dead is standard-fare Lamb of God, and in comparison to previous cuts, does not stand out.

This may be the second most accessible Lamb of God record to date (the first being their follow-up Sacrament, released in 2006.) The high production values and the remarkably memorable choruses of certain cuts all help to establish this statement. But make no mistake, Ashes of the Wake is a violent assault on your senses. There is little to no reprieve from the double-kick drums and the chugging guitars that will pummel their way through your speakers. It is in no way a record that intentionally leans toward the more commercial aspects of the industry. Though bearing the label metalcore, this is not melodic metalcore along the lines of Killswitch Engage, Trivium or early Avenged Sevenfold (bear note; I do not despise these bands, I merely punctuate the difference.) This is metalcore of smoking barrels. This is a metalcore record that stands just a cut above all else.

Recommended tracks:
Laid to Rest
Hourglass
Now You've Got Something to Die For


user ratings (1951)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album

Comments:Add a Comment 
Helvete
June 19th 2010



1354 Comments


very good review, especially for a first

this sentence doesn't seem to make sense though:

while infused with an American rage recalling influence Pantera and their likes
maybe "while infused with an American rage influenced by Pantera and the like"?

Mclovin
June 19th 2010



293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As Helvete said, great first review. But, a lot of people will get up in arms for bolding the shit out of a review. Try using quotations around song titles - just a suggestion!

edit: By the way, if "five finger death punch" is in reference to the movie it ACTUALLY came from, kudos to you! If it is in reference to the band, TAKE IT OUT. >

Helvete
June 19th 2010



1354 Comments


what there isn't that much bolding lol. it makes the review look better anyway

Mclovin
June 19th 2010



293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What I meant is using bolding for song titles or something consistent like that; personally, I don't mind it though. People say that it's better to leave consistent things for italicization, and only bold things for emphasis occasionally.

thedreamforce
June 19th 2010



8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To Mclovin: Yes it's a reference to where it came from (if it came from Kill Bill, then it is.) I know it's called "five point palm exploding heart technique" but in relation to "one-two punch", FFDP worked better. And I was curious about how I would highlight the songtitles. I originally had quotation marks actually, but replaced them.

To Helvete: Yeah I was curious about that sentence too. I knew there was something sounding a little bit off, but I couldn't put my finger on it.

Mclovin
June 19th 2010



293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, I gotcha. I love that part. On my first review, I did the same exactly thing, but people seemed to have a problem with it. Try italicizing album titles and putting quotations around song titles. But as I said, good review. Your thoughts on the album summarize mine.

Thor
June 19th 2010



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is metalcore of smoking barrels. This is a metalcore record that stands just a cut above all else.

Except that it's not metalcore.

NeutralThunder12
June 19th 2010



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not metalcore and awesome record any way

Helvete
June 19th 2010



1354 Comments


if this isn't metalcore, what would you guys say the genre is?

Emim
June 19th 2010



26570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Groove/Post-Thrash.

Helvete
June 19th 2010



1354 Comments


i always thought 'post-thrash' was a posh way of saying 'groove metal'.

but yeah this definitley isn't metalcore, but there is a metalcore influence to their sound

Emim
June 19th 2010



26570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It more or less is. That's why I put the /

East Hastings
June 19th 2010



4391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great album, great review, etc. pos'd

Crimson Death
June 19th 2010



533 Comments


Because I'm so ADD, I love reviews with bold, helps me get through them easier. Pos'd. I think this band is extremely mediocre though.

thedreamforce
June 19th 2010



8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would argue that Wrath is more groove metal oriented. Ashes has tons o' them breakdowns (I don't mind 'em; as long as they're badass I'm fine with it) which is why I in the end label this record as metalcore. But it's also very groove metal-ish, no doubt. So... groove metalcore?

thedreamforce
June 19th 2010



8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Metal-Archives.com calls it Groove Metal/Metalcore and I'm willing to trust that.

ConsiderPhlebas
June 19th 2010



6157 Comments


Trust the band themselves and call it metal

Emim
June 19th 2010



26570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thrashgroovecore

Crimson Death
June 20th 2010



533 Comments


Pantera had a lot of breakdowns, and from what I hear they were the first to do breakdowns in metal. They were also one of the first Groove Metal bands. Having a lot of breakdowns does not define a band as being Metalcore. Song structure, riff choices/style (usually up-beat, 'happy', simple, repetitive, and sometimes Gothenburg style) and even lyrical themes are also important things to consider. I haven't heard enough Lamb of God though (hence no rating) but I don't think I'd call them Metalcore from what I've heard.

fr33convict
June 20th 2010



11687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I would say Slayer kind of did breakdowns.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy