Slayer
Reign in Blood


5.0
classic

Review

by Luke M. Jenkins (Confessed) USER (58 Reviews)
September 26th, 2005 | 90 replies


Release Date: 1986 | Tracklist


This is, without a doubt, 'Slayer' and thrash metal at its very peak. Marvellous drumming, brutal vocals, rip-roaring riffs and scorching solos.
Other than boasting some of the fastest riffs ever conceived by man, this CD boasts the undeniably brilliant 'Angel Of Death'. As gruesome as it is, it is most probably Jeff Hannemann best work to date.

What Is Good About The Album?

There are so many great aspects of this album. Firstly, the production is fairly good. The drums sound good, the guitars heavy and Tom Arayas voice is definitely on form. The album opens with the eponymous 'Angel Of Death', a tribute to the infamous Auschwitz doctor of death Josef Mengele. The lyrics are horrific to say the list and the blistering guitar work of King and Hannemann is mind-bogglingly. When I first heard the solos I was like what the hell just happened. My brain literally exploded due to the incredible technicality of it all. My friends reaction was completely different- he simply uttered the simple profanity known as 'that was some sick sh*t'.
There are a number of filler tracks present on this record, but they are not so bad that the listener is likely to get bored. Fortunately, Slayer realised this album was good as a short one otherwise the listener may have got a bit bored. The shortest song is a mere one and a half minutes to two minutes or so which is quite small. However, it sounds as if the band were on speed mixed with ecstasy and everything is just so effin fast it is almost hard to comprehend. The closing track (on the expanded edition there are two bonus tracks) is also a masterpiece-'Reign In Blood'. It is undoubtedly my most favourite Slayer recording and will always be. It begins with a riff very reminiscent to the one that featured on the Alton Towers advert (you will know what I mean if you listen) and fetures a whammy-bar driven face melter of a solo.

What Is Not So Good About The Album?

You won't find any ballads on this album. Heck, you won't even find the guitar amps on a clean channel. Every song is out and out brutality and supreme aural punishment for the ears. Occassionally there is the odd filler track ('Reborn' and 'Epidemic' are the only real spoilers in my opinion). Other than that it is pretty tight. The lyrics need refining on the odd track and the bass is sometimes completely drowned out by the exemplary guitar work that is happening. Thankfully, the production is great, as expected coming from the great Rick Rubin.

Why Buy?

Because you would be purchasing a worthwhile addition to your fast growing metal collection. This is probably the greatest thrash record of all time so it is worth buying. Also, you may like to know that the expanded addition features an all new track and a pretty good remix of the brilliant 'Criminally Insane'.

Track Ratings (Oh, and I hope the review was actually worth reading)

Angel Of Daeth 5/5
Piece By Piece 5/5
Necrophagic 4/5
Altar Of Sacrifice 4/5
Jesus Saves 4.5/5
Criminally Insane 5/5
Reborn 3/5
Epidemic 3.5/5
Postmortem 4.5/5
Reign In Blood 5/5
Aggressive Perfector 4/5
Criminally Insane (Remix) 5/5



Recent reviews by this author
War from a Harlots Mouth MMXPig Destroyer Terrifyer
War from a Harlots Mouth TransmetropolitanDevil Sold His Soul A Fragile Hope
Coheed and Cambria No World for TomorrowPig Destroyer Painter of Dead Girls
user ratings (3533)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ace_of_Bass2112
September 26th 2005


257 Comments


its a good album just i dont think its a perfect 5

Confessed2005
September 26th 2005


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I wud actually giv like 4.9 when i actually think about.This Message Edited On 04.22.06

_unknownST
September 26th 2005


256 Comments


A good album but i agree with Ace of bass not a 5

Best song - Angel of Death

P.S - 'twas worth reading

wikuk
September 26th 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review but it's not a 5 star when you have got also 3 and 3.5 grades
This Message Edited On 11.19.05

Zmev
September 26th 2005


983 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not a great review, and the cd would've been a lot better if it wasn't the same song 10 times.

M A D R I G A L
September 26th 2005


103 Comments


Definately worth a 5 in my opinion. It is a VERY definitive album and "Reign In Blood" definately became a staple in the roots of thrash metal.

Killtacular
September 26th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really, really don't like this album. At all.

Jawaharal
September 26th 2005


1832 Comments


slayer aren't very good to begin with.

Shadows
Moderator
September 26th 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good review. I guess I can understand why people like this, even if Slayer does bore me to tears.

Thor
September 26th 2005


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is the definitive Slayer album, although I liked South of Heaven more. Great review.

Digging: Black Crown Initiate - The Wreckage of Stars

Priestmetal
September 26th 2005


542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The most hardcore metal album... but not quite the best. Good review but I would have given Reborn more. Its a cool song. Epidemic really sux IMO.

Apocalyptic Raids
September 26th 2005


810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Classic... but not my favourite Slayer. I prefer Hell Awaits a bit.

Highlights for me would be Angel Of Death, Altar Of Sacrifice and Epidemic (the most underrated Slayer track!)

Neoteric
September 27th 2005


3243 Comments


What annoys me about your review is the track listings at the bottom, they'd look better if you got rid of them.

Confessed2005
September 27th 2005


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Okay... but they are there so that you lot know my opinions of the tracks. Who else reckon they shud be scrapped.

Zmev
September 27th 2005


983 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The most hardcore metal album


You don't listen to a lot of metal, do you?

YDload
September 27th 2005


1207 Comments


Well, if it was actually a HARDCORE metal album, then it would probably be really bad.

Also, note to the reviewer: "Angel of Death" isn't eponymous because that word is used for title tracks.

Shattered_Future
September 27th 2005


1541 Comments


Good review...

Slayer really bores me if I listen to a whole album by them though...one or 2 tracks is enough for me. They offer up little to no variation in their sound.

With that being said, though, they were one of the most influental bands in the history of thrash...so kudos to them.

The scream that Araya emits in Angel Of Death is flat out scary...

heavy metal kid
September 27th 2005


174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

imo, this is indeed a 5 star album, Araya's voice is awesome, the guitar work is very well done, the lyrics are very cool, altough the bass isn't much sounding, the basslines are insane.

And the album structure is perfect, best half hour of music.

Killtacular
September 27th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wow. I think I disagree with every single you've said.

heavy metal kid
September 27th 2005


174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^why?
it would be interesting to know different opinnionsThis Message Edited On 09.27.05



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy