Eyes Set To Kill
Broken Frames


4.5
superb

Review

by elliott1191 USER (1 Reviews)
June 9th, 2010 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Excellent album, and solid all the way around, but still a little room for improvement to be truly exceptional.

This is an excellent cd from Eyes Set to Kill. I have listened to them for a couple years now, and I think this might be their best album yet. With the replacement of screaming vocalist Brandon Anderson, the new screamer (Justin "Cisko" Denson) does a satisfactory job, and hopefully will will imporve furthur as time goes on. Where this cd shines though is the overall composition and Alexia's outstanding vocals. The contrast of Alexia and Cisko (the new screamer) creates an effect on some tracks that is incredible. Not only that, but there are some tracks on the cd that Alexia really takes over and sounds fantastic all on her own. The overall sound is quite a bit different on this album than on the band's previous efforts, with Alexia singing an octave higher and of course the addition of Cisko.

Alexia singing an octave higher was actually suggested by producer Andrew Wade (also produced A Day to Remember's "Homesick") and pushed Eyes Set to Kill to try things outside their comfort zone, discovering a sound that really seems to fit well with their style.

In my opinion, the two best tracks on the album are The Listening and Escape. They are both fantastic tracks, and showcase the band as a whole. The Listening really is a track with potential as a single, and is one of the strongest songs in the genre that has come out recently.

Perhaps with their next album in a year or two, we will see them develop even more, especially cisko, and hopefully we will see an album that is truly impressive. This band has the potential to reach greatness, and as evidenced in this album, they are moving in the right direction.

*I edited this review to hopefully be a little more clear and word some things better.


user ratings (130)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
HonestIllusion (3.5)
Once again, Eyes Set To Kill recycle and refine themselves into something every label lusts for, emp...


Comments:Add a Comment 
LG
June 9th 2010


3049 Comments


Albums fantastic, soundoff is okay.

Brandon Anderson is a terrible vocalist. His screams and cleans were horrible, I'm glad to see him gone.

BallsToTheWall
June 9th 2010


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

123 what that guy said.

elliott1191
June 9th 2010


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree that Brandon Anderson is not a very good clean vocalist, but I feel he was a great screaming vocalist most of the time

Willie
Moderator
June 9th 2010


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was hoping that one of our regulars/contributors would review this. I dibsed this, but was looking for an excuse to not do it.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

BallsToTheWall
June 9th 2010


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This certaintly doesnt do the album any justice. This is The Shaggs of music reviewing.

elliott1191
June 9th 2010


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review now updated, sorry for the insufficient review the first time, hopefully this is an improvement.

IllPromiseYouThat
June 9th 2010


427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

review doesn't do justice. I'm going to review this tonight. I would have a few days ago but I wanted to let it set in. I'm thinking a 4.

Willie
Moderator
June 9th 2010


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The review doesn't do the album justice; I'll agree with that. On the other hand, it's not bad for a first review and probably didn't need the negs. I also appreciated some of the facts that you added (such as Alexia singing an octave higher due to the suggestion of the producer). I knew she was singing 'differently' than before but I couldn't put a finger on why.

Comatorium.
June 9th 2010


4195 Comments


Yeah this is better than their last 2 fer sure. Review is lulzy.

IllPromiseYouThat
June 9th 2010


427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I started an intro for a review a few days ago. I'll finish tonight.

Zip
June 9th 2010


5312 Comments


Psyched for this I like this band

Apollo
June 9th 2010


10373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

review is too short and non-descriptive. Just awkwardly written ie ( of course Cisko added to the mix) and some spelling mistakes (ie. 'screaming vocalisst', 'for a couple years now'). Aside from that, its your first review and its not completely shit.

I_feel_so
June 9th 2010


33 Comments


Crisko didnt do the screams on the album. One of there good friends did it for them. Crisko joined after they recored.

IllPromiseYouThat
June 9th 2010


427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ knowledge

I_feel_so
June 9th 2010


33 Comments


thanks?

Apollo
June 9th 2010


10373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it was a compliment

I_feel_so
June 9th 2010


33 Comments


still need to listen to the album. review isnt that great

Spec
June 9th 2010


27298 Comments


Band is dull.

Mordecai.
June 9th 2010


8282 Comments


i want this so i can pretend im banging the girls when they r screaming

Bitchfork
June 9th 2010


7584 Comments


album is lulzy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy