Sabaton
Coat of Arms


4.0
excellent

Review

by SomethingSimilar USER (5 Reviews)
May 28th, 2010 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Power Metal with an extra dose of Power. Sabaton do it again.

Swedish band Sabaton's latest studio album, Coat of Arms, stays true to the themes of most of their work that comes before it, and I'm not complaining. Their formula: catchy, powerful, often keyboard-driven Power Metal with lyrics about war and battles (and I'm not talking the Battle for Middle-Earth here, this is real and historical).

Sounds cheesy? Whilst the lyrics tell the stories of the battles very well, I have to admit to wishing I could hear the words "artillery" or "gun" a little bit less when I'm listening to them. If you're tired of 'typical' power metal about swords & dragons with high-pitched Guitars and singing, however, Sabaton provide a refreshing change with Joakim's low, very enthusiastic singing and guitars that often play second fiddle to work on the keys.

Coat of Arms is the blistering opener to this album. This tells the story of the Greco-Italian war, and (as is so often heard in Sabaton's tales) describes the story of one side greatly outnumbered and fighting bravely. A little cliché, perhaps, but it makes for a great song. It's fast-paced and the lyrics make for a chorus you'll be mouthing along with after a few listens. The guitar is a little repetetive, but it really only provides the background to the rest of the song and blends everything in very well.

Uprising is the second stand-out track of the album, with lyrics about the Warsaw Uprising, again in WW2. But really, there's little more to add than my praise from Coat of Arms over again. The chorus ("Warsaw! City at war! Voices from underground, whispers of freedom...") is once again a bit of an earworm.

The Final Solution provides the first slight change and a minimal respite from the continuous power of the previous tracks, and... I don't need to tell you what it's about. The keyboards courtesy of Daniel Mÿhr really come into own in playing the melody in the middle of this track. And of course, where would a Sabaton album be without their almost trademark song paying tribute to other metal bands - Metal Ripper? Whilst the lyrics in this song are as practically nonsensical as their previous 'Metal' offerings, it's still a good song.

I feel like I'm not doing the album justice by not posting why each one of the tracks on this album is worth listening to. If you're a Power Metal fan, you'd be doing yourself a disservice if you were not even to take a glance at some of the tracks from this album. It's a little short, but it's definitely better this way rather than being dragged out.
Whilst the repetition may be a little overdone in terms of the choruses and guitar work, and the music sticking to the formula of their previous releases, it really doesn't drag down this album of less-than-typical Power Metal with just that extra dose of power.

Sabaton are:
Joakim Brodén - Vocals
Rikard Sundén - Guitar
Oskar Montelius - Guitar
Pär Sundström - Bass
Daniel Mullback - Drums
Daniel Mÿhr - Keyboards

Recommended Tracks:
Coat of Arms
Uprising
Saboteurs
White Death


user ratings (106)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SomethingSimilar
May 28th 2010


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was my first review, so any constructive criticism would be appreciated. Tried to keep clear of the track-by-track review style.

Emim
May 28th 2010


26675 Comments


The logo looks like the Nazi bird.

BludgeonySteve
May 28th 2010


558 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was just about to review this. These guys are like Manowar meets Rhapsody and it works really well for them.

My criticism would probably be to go into more detail regarding the overall sound of the band and the many facets of the album. And sex it up more, but that comes with more experience. All in all it's a good first effort.

BludgeonySteve
May 28th 2010


558 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was just about to review this. These guys are like Manowar meets Rhapsody and it works really well for them.

My criticism would probably be to go into more detail regarding the overall sound of the band and the many facets of the album. And sex it up more, but that comes with more experience. All in all it's a good first effort.

Zion
June 6th 2010


812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I shamelessly love Sabaton, and will undoubtedly get this.

qwe3
June 6th 2010


21368 Comments


PRIMO VICTORIA

junjunjunjunjunjunjunjunjunjunjunjunjunjunjunjun

Zion
June 6th 2010


812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think three of these tracks now qualify as three of my favorite Sabaton songs. (3, 4, &5)

Zion
June 6th 2010


812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd, but I'd veer away from saying things like "I feel like I'm not doing the album justice..." I understand why you put it there, but that's something you think to yourself as you're writing it, or post as a subsequent comment, it shouldn't be in the body of the review itself.

SomethingSimilar
June 7th 2010


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feedback Zion.
3 & 4 are good, the Final solution hasn't grown on me yet. I have a strange liking for White Death.

when_darkness_falls
July 12th 2010


107 Comments


White Death is genius.

Literally only got into Sabaton after they were announced for Sonisphere Knebworth, but I can't wait to see them. And then see them again in London later in the year.

Truly a hidden gem in the power metal world!

CalluminRemorse
August 14th 2010


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

midway is such a win

Poet
August 19th 2010


5935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Midway is like the most badass song released this year.

lobby
August 24th 2010


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I liked Coat of Arms but this doesn't have enough highlights. Uprising and title track rule

Mercurion
October 21st 2010


1 Comments


"If you're tired of 'typical' power metal about swords & dragons with high-pitched Guitars and singing, however, Sabaton provide a refreshing change with Joakim's low, very enthusiastic singing and guitars that often play second fiddle to work on the keys."

Well i would have wished a bit more critics. Evan if i like a few songs of Sabaton its a bit sarcastic to say the change from swords & dragons to "the final solution" is refreshing.
I dont realy know if the sound fits to the dramatic of some of the world war 2 songs.


SomethingSimilar
November 6th 2010


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Mercurion - Yeah, I understand what you mean. The point I was trying to make that it isn't your typical Power metal cheese - or at least, IMO it isn't.

Metalseeker
May 25th 2011


4 Comments


to RNR:---Its not their first effort, idiot! They are a grammy-nominated group and is their 6th effort...they formed in 1999! Classic power metal at its best

however...good review!

Poet
May 25th 2011


5935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

idk why I'm going to respond to you....prolly cause I'm bored, but RNR was saying "All in all it's a good first effort." because this was the reviewer's first review.

Stryfe14
December 30th 2012


65 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wish the exception of some highlights, (Midway, White Death, and The Final Solution), I thought this was a very average effort on Sabaton's part. Sabaton's one of my favorite bands and I prefer Carolus Rex, Primo Victoria, and The Art of War (the albums) to this.

I really hope that their next album is better than this, especially if it's not a concept album like CR, and they just hit around with war songs again.

robaug
January 8th 2013


1 Comments


I think that the eagle on the album cover is based on the eagle from the polish "coat of arms" i myself being polish greatly like the themes of this album but also respect their music.

MO
August 1st 2014


19078 Comments


WARSAW
CITY AT WAR

Hail Poland and the Warsaw uprising m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy