Black Sabbath
Seventh Star


2.0
poor

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
May 21st, 2010 | 39 replies


Release Date: 1986 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is not a Black Sabbath album.

Seventh Star shouldn't even have been a Black Sabbath record. Label pressure has led to more dissapointing releases, and the Black Sabbath name suffered from this ill fate just as many others. The group's twelth album, already rather strangely headed with Black Sabbath featuring Tony Iommi, was meant to be Iommi's first solo album, but of course, the label (correctly) felt more money was to be made if the name Black Sabbath was put on the album rather than Tony Iommi. But who's that on the album cover? That's right: Tony Iommi. True Sabbath fans do not even consider this a Black Sabbath album, a claim which is completely justified.

There is nothing Sabbath-esque about Seventh Star. Yes, Iommi plays guitar here, but those lines I hear could come from any other decent 80's rock guitarist. His playing is not necessarily bad, just not distinctive. On all of Sabbath's records up till Mob Rules, it could be clearly heard who was playing guitar. Born Again and this album do not have this, and Iommi was the one that made the band in the first place. Handling vocals this time is Glenn Hughes, formerly of Mark III/IV Deep Purple, on bass we have Dave Spitz (yes, no Geezer either), and KISS drummer Eric Singer can be found behind the kit. As is expected of a solo record though, it is really not those last two that stick out. Iommi rips away, which he still does with some flair, and Hughes performance is overdramatic but also fitting to the sound of the album.

What this all results in is a standard, uneventful cheesy 80's metal album. Tracks such as the short closing ballad In Memory... are pretty laughable, but fans of the typical sound of rock and metal in this decade will find something to enjoy in huge-chorused songs such as In For the Kill and Heart Like a Wheel. Overall though, and certainly as a Black Sabbath album, Seventh Star is rather poor. It is however a step up from the abomination Born Again: this palette of musicians are a much better combination than Ian Gillan was with then original band, and the production is a blessing compared to the horror of the previous album. But all in all: you still won't be going to buy this anyway.

Seventh's Star Black Sabbath *cough* Tony Iommi's solo band was:

- Frank Anthony 'Tony' Iommi ~ Lead Guitar
- Glenn Hughes ~ Vocals
- David 'The Beast' Spitz ~ Bass Guitar
- Geoff Nichols ~ Keyboards
- Eric Doyle Mesinger ~ Drums


TO BE CONTINUED…



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (321)
Chart.
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
PsychicChris (4.5)
Black Sabbath’s twelfth studio album may essentially be the best album that Rainbow never made, bu...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
May 21st 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This might be my shortest review yet.

Foxhound
May 21st 2010


4570 Comments


"cheesy 80's metal album"

pos

BigHans
May 21st 2010


26454 Comments


Album cover is so 80's

Counterfeit
May 21st 2010


17819 Comments


Pretty short, me likes.

pos'd. Own this, never listened. Prolly won't now.

LepreCon
May 21st 2010


4143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Short but still good, pos'ing
Also I like this album a lot, though it was a joke that the record company put the Sabbath name on it, given their fall in popularity I'd say adding their name shifted about 10 extra copies of this at most.

Nagrarok
May 21st 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well, even though they might have not been half as popular as they were, there were surely enough dimwits who don't know if it was an old or new album.

Also I find it funny how you find a way to like all the poor albums Conor.

LepreCon
May 21st 2010


4143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hehe, not ALL, I find Headless Cross and Forbidden to be absolutely dire

BigHans
May 21st 2010


26454 Comments


I like to think I like my hard rock/classic rock, but I think you two (Leper, Nag) have me beat. I will crown you dual Sputnik kings of Classic Rock.

Nagrarok
May 21st 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ok, not all of them. Many of your comments in my reviews lately have been 'I like it a bit better than you do, obviously', etc. though.

And Hans, I feel honoured, but if I see your song lists, I know who really knows his 80s and 90s music.

LepreCon
May 21st 2010


4143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha holy crap I just realised how unvaried my music taste actually is though =P And I've been on this site 2 years XD
@ Nag: Yeah I'm just quite partial to a lot of those albums though so

KILL
May 21st 2010


71955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is a good review

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

EVedder27
May 21st 2010


6088 Comments


This might be my shortest review yet

To the point and that's all that matters. My Paranoid download stopped, but I will be letting you know how it goes very soon.

Nagrarok
May 21st 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I was already wondering about that. And yeah, I think I might actually write more shorties in the future.

Enotron
May 22nd 2010


7695 Comments


Great review, once again!

You certainly are the best of the few discography writers on sputnik.

kygermo
May 22nd 2010


996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

As a big sabbath fan, you are correct in saying the fans do not
Consider this a sabbath album. Regardless, iommi has made me a fan for life, so this was an obligatory listen. Eric Singer rocks


Jethro42
May 22nd 2010


12479 Comments


At that stage, Iommi himself seemed to play with the reputation of Black Sabbath, isn't it. There is a price to pay when the mastermind runs out of inspiration again and again. Quality review Nag. You got my vote.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2010


8371 Comments


Solid reviewing once again Nag, and god, you really are diligent with your discographies haha.

Nagrarok
May 22nd 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks guys, and yes, I know. Luckily have I have nothing in mind to review after I'm done with Sabbath and Crimson. Might take a little break from the whole reviewing business after those, but we'll see.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2010


8371 Comments


Might take a little break from the whole reviewing business after those, but we'll see.
As long as you're cracking out solid stuff like this then there's no need to

Nagrarok
May 22nd 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Of course, but if I keep on going I know eventually my writing will become boring and uninspired.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy