Midwest Pen Pals
Inside Jokes


4.0
excellent

Review

by Zach Goldberg USER (5 Reviews)
May 16th, 2010 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Obviously, this wasn't a ground breaking album, but these songs can make me cry.

You know, the Midwest really sucks. Theres nothing there. Just miles and miles of bland, boring wasteland. The Midwest is, though, a great place to go to for two things: extremely flexible prostitution laws, and great Emo. Midwest Pen Pals are proof of the latter, and probably the former as well.

Inside Jokes is a testament to how good a band can get when under the terrible conditions of the Midwest. Add a bunch of kids growing up in a town in the middle of nowhere, hardcore musical talent, and a singer with Dad problems and you get Midwest Pen Pals. This album is stuffed to the brim with moving full band sing-a-longs, melodic and ever-changing guitar riffs, and extremely varied druming. Seriously, I've seen Garret play drums, and it's ****ing intimidating. The amount of rythm he displays under layers of utter fast paced chaos is amazing.

Anyways, I digress. The lyrics alone are truly moving. At one point in Movies Like Juno, Jack screams, almost sobbing:
Dad, I've got some questions.
One, where the f***k is Mom?
Two, is she ever coming home?
Three, why did she leave us?
This kid's had some heart breaks, which is evident in his music. Yes, this band often sings about parents, girls, and other teenage problems, but the way in which they do it makes these issues seem a hell of a lot less cliche. The serious anger and depression that can be heard in Jack's voice makes a listener nothing but sympathetic.

The constant changing from fast paced drum beats and hard guitar to whimpering vocals and slow, quiet guitar and drums combos has never been done better then the presented album. The transitions are fantastic, really. Usually, it's a bit jarring to switch from a slow, sad sound to a fast, hard one, but MWPP were actually able to pull it off well. You notice the change, obviously, but the sounds continues to flow, virtually uninteruppted.

Usually, I would describe this kind of sound as "mostly fun." The created sound really *would* make one want to dance, were it not for the vocals. The vocals really do have that much of an impact on the entire feel of the sound. Without Jack's harsh and troubled screams, I could happily describe these songs as, "Moveable, fun, cool sounding tracks." Alas, I am denied the pleasure. With the addition of vals, though, this collection of songs becomes what it really is: a moving, passionate, interesting, completely f***ing spectacular album.


user ratings (70)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SpaceisGolden
May 16th 2010


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Said "bud" instead of but. Might reflect my lifestyle.

SeaAnemone
May 16th 2010


20300 Comments


sup #1 musical neighbor

Digging: Holy Sons - Lost Decade II

SpaceisGolden
May 16th 2010


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not much, Most Interesting Man. You?

SeaAnemone
May 16th 2010


20300 Comments


not much. try separating this into paragraphs, please. and for future reviews you may want to try taking on a more formal, less conversational tone. just a suggestion. glad you review emo stuff. shits lacking round here.

SpaceisGolden
May 16th 2010


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sorry, lol. I actually wrote it with paragraphs, but when I copied and pasted it into Sputnik I forgot that Sputnik can be a dick.
And thanks. Glad you dig emo stuff.

SeaAnemone
May 16th 2010


20300 Comments


yeah, and you know how to edit, right? (the 'bud/but' thing too)

SpaceisGolden
May 16th 2010


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I do, but I forgot. Better do that now...
I haven't reviewed in forever. Gotta get my ass in gear.

gasmaskman
May 16th 2010


1006 Comments


"You know, the Midwest really sucks"..."the terrible conditions of the Midwest."
huh? the fuck? i take offense.
srsly where do you live?

Enotron
May 16th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well I never tried to change the world but I'm lookin for a new new jersey

Cuz tramps like us, baby we were born to DIIIEEE!

edit: The summary is sort of upsetting, seeing as with each emo album you've reviewed, you've had to add in that it wasn't
groundbreaking in the slightest. Sort of portrays the emo genre as a general supplier of talented, yet unoriginal bands. You
should really review an emo album that you find unique or individual from most in the genre.

Counterfeit
May 16th 2010


17819 Comments


As a midwesterner, kiss my ass. Nah jk. Other than the twin cities you're pretty much right. But still, your lips, my ass.

SpaceisGolden
May 16th 2010


46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Maybe later, Counterfeit.
I'm from Jersey. I would like to say that the Midwest is pretty great for music, though.

TheyTookOurJobs
July 11th 2010


1318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Because he's there and he hates me" is the greatest song ever....

Counterfeit
September 26th 2010


17819 Comments


Still want you to kiss my ass.

Enotron
October 31st 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

DO YOU SEEEE THE BAGS UNDERNEATH MY EYESSS

Counterfeit
December 4th 2010


17819 Comments


kiss my fucking ass

Enotron
December 4th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ew no u ugly

Counterfeit
December 4th 2010


17819 Comments


ugh not u eno dont flatter yourself the reviewer guy

Enotron
December 4th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

midwest is booty though

Counterfeit
December 4th 2010


17819 Comments


if you mean booty as in a sexy ass. then i concur.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 7th 2012


50361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Where did they get this drummer holy shit

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy