Etta James
At Last!


5.0
classic

Review

by Maniac USER (21 Reviews)
May 7th, 2010 | 54 replies | 9,483 views


Release Date: 1960 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A commonly forgotten pioneer of Soul and R&B

7 of 8 thought this review was well written

Born in Los Angeles, California in 1938, Etta James had grown up to be one of the biggest Soul/R&B voices to be recorded.
All of you know her song 'At Last!'. It was the single that rose her to fame. It has been played on many commercials, movies, and television shows. It is THE classic love anthem, and will remain so for years to come. But there's more to this album than just the famous song.

If there was one word to describe her voice, it would be sexy. Songs such as: 'I Just Wanna Make Love to You', 'Stormy Weather', and 'A Sunday Kind of Love' make use of her sexy voice to create some of the era's most romantic music. While having great romantic tunes, Etta is also able to show other emotions very, very well with her voice. “My Heart Cries” and “If I Can't Have You” show her ability to convey sadness in a way that to this day is very rarely rivaled. Part of what's so great about this album is the fact that even with the theme of love, longing, and heart wrenching, Etta can still keep things light-hearted in between. “Tough Mary” is an upbeat, fun song where she sings about how to shop for her rather than longing or sadness.

Even with 14 tracks on this record, every song stays beneath 4 minutes long so it never gets old. Etta's big, elegant, yet also gentle and sexy voice never gets repetitive. At Last! remains to this day, one of the best soul/R&B albums. Though Etta never got to be as popular as artists such as Aretha Franklin, she still had the voice and the heart to hold her own with any of her contemporaries.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Swan Black Swan (In 8 Movements)Rishloo Feathergun
Atrium Carceri PhrenitisUnexpect Fables of the Sleepless Empire
Laura Stevenson Sit ResistJulie Christmas Coextinction Release 5
user ratings (47)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tits McGee
May 7th 2010



1876 Comments


good album, but I haven't listened to it in a while. alright review

BigHans
May 7th 2010



26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

At Last is a great, great song.

Inveigh
May 7th 2010



24958 Comments


nice review, love the brevity of it. pos'd.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Inveigh
May 7th 2010



24958 Comments


nah dude, I don't like overly long reviews, unless it's an album I'm like in love with or something, otherwise I get bored. and yes, I did read it Maniac.

Counterfeit
May 7th 2010



17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Little short but well written. Will make sure to get.

*Inserts pos"

Disconnected
May 7th 2010



485 Comments


Nice review. There are way too many long reviews on this site and not enough shorter ones. I just upped your approval rating.

Love and sadness-based lyrics (which, according to your review overwhelm lyrics of most other things on the album) have a tendency to get on my nerves, but I might check out this album some time, if I'm in the mood for it.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2010



15034 Comments


title track is so goooddd

Asiatic667
May 8th 2010



4648 Comments


AAAAAT LAAAAAAAAAAAAASST.........

Meatplow
June 21st 2010



5524 Comments


This sounds fantastic, might have to check it out.

Maniac!
June 23rd 2010



26250 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I wish more people listened to this

Counterfeit
June 23rd 2010



17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was going to, but I kinda/sorta forgot.

Maniac!
June 23rd 2010



26250 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ass

Counterfeit
June 23rd 2010



17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

D:

So sorry.

Maniac!
June 23rd 2010



26250 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Get it now

Counterfeit
June 23rd 2010



17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't. Will when I go to my dads next.

Maniac!
June 23rd 2010



26250 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Promise?

Counterfeit
June 23rd 2010



17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Promise.

Maniac!
June 23rd 2010



26250 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good, now pennywise doesn't have to kill you

Counterfeit
June 23rd 2010



17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pennywise aint got shit on me.

Counterfeit
June 28th 2010



17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One might say, this is awesome.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy