Deftones
Diamond Eyes


5.0
classic

Review

by Dr Hank Paulson USER (6 Reviews)
April 30th, 2010 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A perfectly shaped ball of dung

It is of course a well worn cliché, but the Deftones of 2010 can best be described as a wounded dung beetle. In tests, male horned dung beetles were able to pull 1,141 times their own body weight - the equivalent of a person dragging six fully-laden double decker bus.

On Diamond Eyes, (interestingly enough their sixth full length album), they have once again crafted a perfectly shaped ball of dung and moulded it into compact disc form, this time without the help of comatose bassist Chi Cheng. The formula is well worn at this point and this album should not surprise anybody who has heard their previous efforts. Pristine production, relentlessly chugging riffs and of course, lead singer Chino Moreno’s patented half crooned, half screamed vocals are the hallmarks of any Deftones album and this is no different. I live near an airport, and while listening to the album I sometimes like to stand outside and raise my fists to the sky as the roar of passing jets shakes the asbestos tiles of my house. Of course, this album isn’t all about the riffs. It can be argued that Moreno’s consistently impressive lyrics are at an all time high here. On ‘Rocket Skates’, an instant classic, Chino describes how the technology of the future may result in dangerous footwear.

GUNS, RAZORS, KNIIIIIVES!

In this way, Chino is showing that he is capable of aggression. On Sextape, Moreno describes having sex with a female fan while her boyfriend waits outside for him to sign an autograph as the sound of the waves collide. It’s a beautiful image and really illustrates Chino’s newfound body confidence since losing weight.

All in all, the album is an enjoyable listen and I recommend it heartily. I place it next to Audioslave, The Prodigy, Stone Temple Pilots and Guns N Roses in my music cabinet. It is quite a good album and therefore I give it a 5/5 immediately.



Recent reviews by this author
Emery ...In Shallow Seas We SailThe National Boxer
Maroon 5 Songs About JaneTool Lateralus
Brand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me
user ratings (3285)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brylawski
April 30th 2010


709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

indeed

tombits
April 30th 2010


3470 Comments


i don't know what dung beetles have to do with this but i pos'd.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2010


28655 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

interesting

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

Asiatic667
April 30th 2010


4648 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

trolling at its most subtle

Yazz_Flute
April 30th 2010


18811 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha excellent

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

Captain North
April 30th 2010


6789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Niiiiice.

Yazz_Flute
April 30th 2010


18811 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On ‘Rocket Skates’, an instant classic, Chino describes how the technology of the future may result in dangerous footwear.


hahahaha

DDconjoined
April 30th 2010


326 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

troll

renegadestrings
May 1st 2010


1450 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

love it

Wizard
May 1st 2010


19523 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

What a fucking bizarre review. Have a pos' for being unique!

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Knott-
Emeritus
May 1st 2010


10198 Comments


I live near an airport, and while listening to the album I sometimes like to stand outside and raise my fists to the sky as the roar of passing jets shakes the asbestos tiles of my house.

Brylawski
May 1st 2010


709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

asbestos is dangerous kids

Crimson Death
May 1st 2010


533 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Best review ever.

porch
May 1st 2010


8459 Comments


bump

Sound
May 1st 2010


3903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha what a 'shitty' review. pos'd, although I doubt that is the story behind Sextape lol



Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is quite a good album and therefore I give it a 5/5 immediately
This is such a good gibe at sputnik users' rating habits haha, nice job.

Romulus
May 2nd 2010


8443 Comments


This review is awesome

qwe3
May 2nd 2010


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

why woudl you do that

JAV
May 2nd 2010


1943 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Weirdest analogy ever.

Titan50
May 5th 2010


4588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

brilliance



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy