General Fiasco
Buildings


3.0
good

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
April 29th, 2010 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The proverbial foot in the door… Even if it is five years too late.

Due to the cut-throat nature of the music industry these days, artists are practically expected to make a huge splash right from the get-go. With revenue streams such as album sales being diluted, record labels are now less likely to be patient with musicians, and virtually demand immediate success. Bands such as The Arctic Monkeys and Bloc Party have been able to make an instantaneous impact to set up their careers, however they are in the minority and for every one of those groups, there are hundreds of others trying to get their foot in the door. The likes of MGMT and The Fratellis have released catchy and noticeable debuts that do not realistically capture the true sound of their bands. Meanwhile, others prefer the tried and true measure of piecing together their influences to cater for as wide an audience as possible. On behalf of the latter category, please meet Northern Irish trio General Fiasco.

Consisting of brothers Owen & Enda Strathern and drummer Stephen Leacock, the guitar-driven melodies of General Fiasco will remind listeners of any number of accessible Indie-Rock bands. The Enemy, Snow Patrol and Stereophonics all immediately come to mind, while fellow Northern Irish outfit Ash are also an obvious comparison point. Yet, General Fiasco are in no way a direct facsimile of any of these bands, instead choosing to take a little part of each of them to construct their sound. Unfortunately, this means that they do not deliver anything new on debut LP ‘Buildings’, with originality and complexity clearly not on the menu here. Almost half of the album suffers from a blandness that not only makes some songs blend into each other, but also sees them instantly forgotten as soon as the next track starts.

That is not to say that there is anything awful contained on ‘Buildings’. Searching for a lowlight is quite tricky, while there is undoubtedly a consistency apparent that will be welcomed by some listeners. Furthermore, the relatively front-loaded LP begins strongly with singles ‘We Are The Foolish’ and ‘Ever So Shy’ both exuding a certain indie coolness - no matter how artificial it is - which should resonate with radio stations worldwide. Variety is disappointingly at a premium on ‘Buildings’, with the near-epic title track standing out due to its six minute length and rousing strings & horns arrangement during its extended finale. The climaxes of many songs are actually quite well handled since the likes of lead single ‘Rebel Gets By’, ‘Talk To My Friends’ and the energetic ‘Dancing With Girls’ all eventually come to life. It is just a shame that too many of these cuts fade into the background before they finally rock out.

To put it simply, those looking for an original and innovative album to sink their teeth into are going to be rather unimpressed by ‘Buildings’… In fact, the generic Indie-Rock nature of the sound could even anger some, since it is clearly an LP which would have gone down significantly better five years ago. However, those looking for a safe, competent, consistent and easily digestible collection of ten songs should be satisfied with what General Fiasco have offered up here on their debut release. With ‘Buildings’, the trio have indeed got their foot in the door… Now it is up to them to capitalize on this by fulfilling the scattered snippets of potential evident here, and developing their own true sound next time around.

Recommended Tracks: Buildings, We Are The Foolish & Ever So Shy.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, I know the review reads more like a 2.5, but I like this accessible kind of indie sound a little more than others around here. Plus, there is nothing I’d necessarily call “bad” on this album.

Ponton
Emeritus
April 29th 2010


5803 Comments


u and willie are unstoppable recently

edit: and as usual, good review

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yep, it's Willie & I in a No Holds Barred Cage Match to the death. But he'll win coz he's more metal than I am.

edit: thanks Jared. You may like this a little, although it is likely to be too plain for you.

Willie
Moderator
April 29th 2010


16049 Comments


Hey excellent review, but you know indie isn't my thing.

coz he's more metal than I am.
Ha ha, that's not hard to do.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

Ponton
Emeritus
April 29th 2010


5803 Comments


davey does have Tim McIlrath on his side though

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

... And don't forget JOE ELLIOTT!

Ponton
Emeritus
April 29th 2010


5803 Comments


i was gonna mention something about dep lep, but... yeah, tim's more intimidating to me

not sure about this, you rec snow patrol and a few catchy bands so maybe

Willie
Moderator
April 29th 2010


16049 Comments


Who the hell is Tim McIlrath? I'd rather have Rick Allen anyway. You know that guy can take a beating and keep going.

Ponton
Emeritus
April 29th 2010


5803 Comments


[img]http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/f5/Rise_Against_Live_10.jpg/220px-Rise_Against_Live_10.jpg[/img]

ra singer, im guessing one of davey's favs

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Who is dep lep Jared? LOL. These guys are catchy enough... And yet, there's something just a little too forgettable about them. While their sound is in no way identical to Ash, they give off that presence, in that their sound just floats on by ('Girl From Mars' excluded). The first 2 songs are arguably the catchiest, so maybe give them a go.

Any time that someone says Tim is intimidating, I always think of the 'Swing Life Away' video where he basically gets bullied. He comes off more as a nice guy to me.

And Rick Allen roolz. But everyone knows that.

klap
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2010


10493 Comments


isn't micilrath the guy from sugar ray? sorry if thats retarded im not sober

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Rudy, you're drunk... AGAIN.

someguest, you're being silly. Just remember; how we survive is what makes us who we are.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

On the plane then buddy.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've organized your flight. You are on Oceanic Flight 815 to Sydney. See you when... IF... you get here.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2010


7357 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Good review as ever, Davey. Obviously I didnt like this much

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Ali. As I mentioned in your shout-box, your points are valid & I'm certain you won't be the only one to feel that way.

Plus, we were agreeing on everything too much there for a while. LOL.

Fugue
April 30th 2010


7353 Comments


This that irish/uk album you were telling me about?

Fugue
April 30th 2010


7353 Comments


OK Northern Irish; read the review now ;-).

Edit: It's a good one too, when did you start writing longer paragraphs? Virtual pos.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, this was it Rosco. Good to see you have actually decided to read the review now. LOL.

And yeah, my paragraphs have been getting slightly longer of late. It hasn't been intentional & I wouldn't want them to be any longer than this. My guess is that it has come about simply because I'm trying to keep to 4 paragraphs, but still include as much info as possible.

Fugue
April 30th 2010


7353 Comments


Lol, that's what it's there for. I prefer reviews with slightly bulkier paragraphs, it's probably just due to the way I write but I think bulkier parafraphs can lead to more solid arguements without the need for skipping forward if a point has yet to be backed up enough. Not that you do anything like that anyway of course ;-).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy