Bullet For My Valentine
Fever


3.0
good

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
April 28th, 2010 | 310 replies | 46,652 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is slick, well-produced, mainstream metal. If you're into that style of music then feel free to pick this up.

George Carlin once did a routine about phrases that we use every day that don’t actually make any sense. One in particular – Tell us in your own words – stands out because it could be applied to music too. After introducing the phrase, George Carlin proceeds to ask the audience if they have their own words, and then answers his own question by stating that he’s using the same ones as everyone else. The connection to music is simply that no matter how “innovative” a band is, they’re still just using the same ideas as everyone else. However, even by that standard Bullet For My Valentine are not what you’d call an innovative band. They’re definitely just using the same ideas as everyone else without making much of an effort to change them. If that’s the case, a better question to ask is whether or not they’re using these ideas in a way that is entertaining – the whole point of listening to music for most people.

Considering the demographic that this band appeals to the answer is yes. The riffs are heavy enough to retain fans of their debut, but catchy enough to keep those that prefer the sophomore album. The same general idea could also be applied to the vocals. The clean singing that dominates a majority of the album is strong and catchy and they utilize the screams just enough to accentuate the appropriate sections without overdoing it. In fact, compared to their previous two albums, they’ve pretty much improved on every aspect of their formula (especially the vocals). The songwriting has definitely improved to the point that each song is strong and memorable (if a bit similar), and the band’s metal-lite approach to the riffs is finally moving away from blatant hero-worship and towards something that they could almost call their own. As far as the lyrics go, they’re still pretty generic and cheesy but that didn’t seem to affect fans of the last few Metallica albums (a fan base that could probably appreciate this album).

Nobody, including the band themselves, ever tried to say that this was supposed to be innovative or original. It’s only supposed to be a great alternative for those sick of Trivium or for those looking for something with a bit more balls than Senses Fail. In the end, that’s exactly what this album is and it fills that niche very well. So, this might sound terrible to those that were never into this style of slick mainstream metal, but this was never meant for them. It also wasn’t meant for those that can’t be bothered to turn on a radio or that only listen to bands that count multiple genres among their influences. This is a mainstream metal band that probably puts just as much emphasis into their marketing as they do their music, but, like it or not, they’ve also released their best album so far and it’s actually pretty entertaining.



Recent reviews by this author
Flotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014Mindcage Our Own Devices
Fates Warning Darkness in a Different LightQueensryche Queensryche
Skinny Puppy WeaponThe God Machine Scenes from the Second Storey
user ratings (1084)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is less a review and more a response to some of the things I've read on this site. This is good for what it is and really good compared to their old albums.

I wrote this in about 15 minutes on a whim just now.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

bloc
April 28th 2010



34491 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

You are unbelievable

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

Ponton
Emeritus
April 28th 2010



5775 Comments


good review

I agree with a lot of your points. what ive heard from this has been pretty catchy, not that bad really

Digging: Mimicking Birds - Mimicking Birds

Relinquished
April 28th 2010



22350 Comments


nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 28th 2010



15988 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Great review Trey, I'm surprised you like this enough to give it a 3.5.

Digging: Thergothon - Stream From The Heavens

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I do like it. It's good gym music and it's one of those albums you can play with the windows down without losing some of the sound due to wind and traffic noise.

I almost posted this under an alt. account just to see how many times it got negged and how many people I know would call it shit ;)

butchinette
April 28th 2010



210 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i liked "The Poison" a lot but got bored a little by "Scream, Aim, Fire" though there's a few good songs on it. i heard "Your Betrayal", so i'll get this and give it a try.

Digging: The Used - Imaginary Enemy

butchinette
April 28th 2010



210 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

forgot to say that i was surprised a bit by the small change in their sound and the voice especially, when i heard "Your Betrayal". but it still sounds like BFMV

LG
April 28th 2010



3049 Comments


I got a soft spot for this band, and I prefer cleans to screams, so less screams doesn't bother me in the least. Good review Trey.

Ponton
Emeritus
April 28th 2010



5775 Comments


At the gym yesterday I was thinking about doing a counter opinion like this, but glad I waited

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If I had got to work and saw that someone else had written a counter opinion then I wouldn't have done one just because I hadn't planned on it. That doesn't mean that you shouldn't write one anyway.

Thanks Libson, I hated their second album so this was a surprise.

Relinquished
April 28th 2010



22350 Comments


I didn't know you had a soft spot for this kind of cr-music

R6Rider
April 28th 2010



4064 Comments


I don't get it Trey. You talk down on a band like Scar Symmetry but give something like this a 3.5?

Although I am glad you judge the quality of some albums based on if it is good lifting or driving music.

Digging: Homewrecker - Worms and Dirt

Ponton
Emeritus
April 28th 2010



5775 Comments


If I had got to work and saw that someone else had written a counter opinion then I wouldn't have done one just because I hadn't planned on it. That doesn't mean that you shouldn't write one anyway.


nah, its cool. I've only heard a few songs anyway and would be late with putting one out. That and I had another one to work on.

LG
April 28th 2010



3049 Comments


I didn't care much for their second either. A lot of people prefered ASF because the vocals had a more scratchy kind of scream( Not really sure how to describe it besides this). It irritated me through-out most of the album.

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't know you had a soft spot for this kind of cr-music
I do like this crap. I like all the Trivium albums, Senses Fail, Story of the Year, the latest Metallica album. Just good, slightly heavy, mainstream metal(ish). It's a nice change once in a while.

I don't get it Trey. You talk down on a band like Scar Symmetry but give something like this a 3.5? Although I am glad you judge the quality of some albums based on if it is good lifting or driving music.
I like that style of music, but I don't like how Scar Symmetry do it. I don't like the huge contrasts between the verses and choruses (my main problem with a lot of metalcore, too). Ha ha, is that second part sarcasm?

R6Rider
April 28th 2010



4064 Comments


Fair enough.

Actually it's not lol. I'm kind of a gym freak so I need stuff that sounds good.

TheSpirit
April 28th 2010



16661 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Trivium bar most of Crusade is great and Senses Fail rules

Digging: Sexdrome - Grown Younger

bloc
April 28th 2010



34491 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Clearly Trey gave this album a 3.5 because it's Spring time. If he reviewed this back in the winter, it'd be a guaranteed 1 ;)

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Actually it's not lol. I'm kind of a gym freak so I need stuff that sounds good.
The last two Sick of it All albums are gold for the gym.

@bloc: I love spring. It's warm enough to surf without a full wetsuit and the damn tourists haven't shown up yet.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy