Veil of Maya
[id]


4.0
excellent

Review

by bdeal2 USER (1 Reviews)
April 22nd, 2010 | 137 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: To give synopsis to my thoughts: The sophomore release by Veil of Maya, [id], is an excellent follow up to their big success, The Common Man's Collapse, though I have a few grievances with it, it is all in all a great album.

This is my first review, I read some reviews on the site, and felt as if some of them were lacking. So this is my attempt to do them one better. The album in question is the highly-anticipated sophomore album of the Chicago-based death metal band Veil of Maya, [id]. The album title references an idea held by Sigmund Freud and his followers that the mind could be divided into three groups: the id, the ego, and the superego. The id is the part of the brain responsible for the unconscious thoughts we have, such as killing others, our primal urges to have sex, and other such fun stuff.

That brings us to the basic premise of the album which is, you guessed it, primarily about the mind. Which is interesting because it is essentially a cluster *** from start to finish. **Important note: Veil of Maya is literally one of my favorite bands of all time, so if you catch any bias on my part, do not hesitate to call me out.** Now of course each individuals perception weighs heavily with how much, or how little they enjoyed the album, so try to stay away from being nit-picky and lets just get to the brass tacks.

Like how truly great albums should, IMO, this album is non-stop start to finish, all the tracks flow well into one another, a few times you don't know where the songs end and the instrumentals begin, such is the case with the transition from The Higler to Martyrs. Some argue that the guitar work on this album is "a little less than what was expected" but from an actual guitarists perspective, Marc Okubo explored more into the realm of chord melody rather than sticking to the Major 7th(pardon my technical jargon) based driving riffs he was so acclaimed for on TCMC. Which is admirable in a way, but was met with much skepticism. The vocals on the album were at first glance seemingly thrown together, but to read the lyrics along with the album they seem a bit more well thought out than previously imagined. Brandon Butler also experimented more with layering vocals on this album that its predecessor.

I was completely against all the hype around the album and how they had it in 4 colors, and also had a contest and blah blah blah. Folks need to realize; that was the work of Sumerian Records, its like a bipartisan relationship, VoM makes the music, Sumerian makes the profit. So all these gimmicks and such should not be reflected on the band as they have no say in the matter, because, as any up coming musician can tell you, when you get signed they literally have you by the balls.

The drums and bass, didn't vary much from the last album, though props to Matt Pantelis for attempting to step outside the box with some bass lines. Sam Applebaum followed essentially the same formula for drums as the last album, by following the guitar on drums, and essentially commiting himself as a highlight musician rather than a stand-alone piece of the band.

All in all this album was very inspirational to me as a song writer. The music in general is well thought out and precise. Anyone who calls it a "so-so attempt at technicality" obviously doesn't quite grasp the premise of technicality, in my opinion. Not every band is technical in the same way as the Faceless, or Necrophagist. Oh well, different strokes for different folks I guess.

I hope you didn't find me too lenient, I genuinely enjoy this album and am eager to see what the future holds for this extremely talented band.


user ratings (729)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Neenahskater (3.5)
...

mrodizzle (3.5)
Veil of Maya keeps it chuggy, keeps it proggy, but also keeps it short.....


Comments:Add a Comment 
bdeal2
April 22nd 2010


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let the hate ensue.....

CrimsonChin
April 22nd 2010


116 Comments


i liked the review, but it's not their sophomore release

cvlts
April 22nd 2010


8955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

first two sentences should be removed and put into a comment.

To give synopsis of my thoughts:...

that can go too cause thats essentially what the summary is for.

but good review.

bdeal2
April 22nd 2010


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha yeah you got me, All Things Set Aside definitely came first....is it bad that I generally don't count it? lol

bdeal2
April 22nd 2010


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for reading by the way!

Comatorium.
April 22nd 2010


4115 Comments


eh, this album is alright, vocals are kinda monotonous. good riffage though.

Digging: Silverstein - This is How the Wind Shifts: Addendum

bloozclooz
April 22nd 2010


1770 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i'm glad that you're offering a different opinion, but don't spend half of the review talking about yourself. and don't use phrases like "IMO". in a review

bdeal2
April 22nd 2010


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can definitely agree with that, they are a little bland, but he utilizes them well and atleast he wasnt beating us over the head with it during every part.

cvlts
April 22nd 2010


8955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Its not unacceptable to use the first person in a review. But yeah, agree with the IMO thing.

bdeal2
April 22nd 2010


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@bloozclooz: Thanks for the advice! are you suggesting that I stay in 3rd person? Also, I figured it would be passable to use colloquial phrases/acronyms, I mean I'm not writing for the Boston Globe, but again thank you.

Dryden
April 22nd 2010


12928 Comments


not even close to a 4

bdeal2
April 22nd 2010


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To each his own friend. Thanks for reading.

NeutralThunder12
April 22nd 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Like this band a bit, but they are inconsistent.

InFiction
April 22nd 2010


3660 Comments


Not bad for a first review, but I agree with 'bloozclooz' when they say not to talk about yourself too much and to stay away from acronyms. Still, it's well written. Admittedly, not a huge fan of this band but this album isn't too bad. I'd probably give it a 3 or 3.5.

bdeal2
April 22nd 2010


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feedback, thanks even more for reading!
Allow me for a moment to clarify, when you say I shouldn't talk about myself are you saying that I shouldn't use the 1st person? Or that I included too much personal information?

bloozclooz
April 22nd 2010


1770 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

lemme give an example:

"I was completely against all the hype around the album and how they had it in 4 colors, and also had a contest and blah blah blah. Folks need to realize; that was the work of Sumerian Records, its like a bipartisan relationship, VoM makes the music, Sumerian makes the profit. So all these gimmicks and such should not be reflected on the band as they have no say in the matter, because, as any up coming musician can tell you, when you get signed they literally have you by the balls."

this kind of stuff. cut it out, and talk more about the music. maybe read my review of this album, even though it is harsh

bdeal2
April 22nd 2010


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm, thanks, I'll keep that in consideration. This is gonna sound like a biting remark but its a completely legitimate question, isn't the point of a review to give MY opinion on all aspects of the album? Cause from what everyone is saying it seems to be more of a catalog of facts about the album rather than how I feel about it, if this is the case please tell me, as I have completely misjudged the true purpose of a review.

bloozclooz
April 22nd 2010


1770 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

no no.

this is good voice...

"The vocals on the album were at first glance seemingly thrown together, but to read the lyrics along with the album they seem a bit more well thought out than previously imagined."

this is just filler...

"I was completely against all the hype around the album and how they had it in 4 colors, and also had a contest and blah blah blah."

get it?

po0ty
April 22nd 2010


488 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I get that you love the band and I agree that they're technically very sound and can bring some killer tracks, but there is really nothing on this they haven't done already. Save for the crappy synth-core shit. They play a dissonant off minor guitar note that waves in and out and go straight into the chugging breakdown. Happens so many fucking times.

botb
April 23rd 2010


9673 Comments


i need to hear this. the songs i heard that they put up on the myspace off this were pretty sweet



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy