Rikets
All American Death Cult


4.0
excellent

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
April 21st, 2010 | 40 replies | 9,840 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A true testament that not all former nu metal bands are stagnant and hopeless

Despite the fact they were one of the better nu metal bands back in the day, Rikets, like everyone else in their position, had to progress away from the dying genre in order to stay relevant. Even in 2005, when they released their first album, a five-track Ep called Anything For The Devil, Rikets had clearly missed the train. The Ep was good, yes, but by that time, was already superfluous; just a solid effort to go down as one of the last good nu metal records to see the daylight (which is actually saying something, as there wasn't exactly an overabundance of good nu metal albums)

Rikets clearly took the time to fully evaluate the situation they were in after releasing Anything For The Devil, as All American Death Cult is the best kind of album one could desire from a former nu metal group. During the last few years Rikets have progressed from a solid nu metal band to a full-forced modern metal act. They haven’t completely shed their nu metal roots, which pop up from time to time on All American Death Cult, but now Rikets can best be described as an aggressive, industrialized modern metal act (Note: not to mix up with industrial metal).

What makes All American Death Cult so great (of a surprise) is the band’s skill to use their main musical weapon to maximum effect. The thick, groove-filled, chunky riffs the guitarists belt out are powerful, catchy, strong and most notably, memorable. What Rikets lack in technicality they make up with aggression and fierceness. The slightly distorted guitarlines coupled with Scott Rose’s dominant, screamed vocals make for an excellent pair. Add to that the carefully implemented industrial undertones, and you’ve got a winning combination. Straight from the boisterous "Program The Dead", the album sets itself to an aggressive, burning path; a path Rikets inexorably follow to the end.

All American Death Cult displays Rikets as an all grown-up band of musicians. True, the boys in Rikets are still obviously extremely hate-fueled, but they’ve traded overbearing angst for true aggression and instead of expressing their antagonism exclusively in immature and corny lyrics, like they did on the Anything For The Devil Ep, they now deliver it in a well-packaged ball of musical fury. The lyrics are still Rikets’ weak spot, but they have significantly improved since the Anything For The Devil Ep days, and Rikets now exhibit such musical proficiency which enables to overlook a weak lyric or two.

Especially noteworthy about this album is how even the smallest of details and touches work to the fullest due to the massive amount of chemistry Rikets exhibit as a unit. The best example of this is the song "Sold Me Out". Tell me, how many other metal bands you know can make a near four-minute song that mainly stays in the boundaries of 3-4 notes, yet doesn’t get boring one bit? That’s exactly what Rikets did with "Sold Me Out" - a song that almost never leaves its comfortable 3-note zone, yet is infectiously catchy and has surprisingly sound replay value. The rest of the album is also riddled with well-working little details akin in importance; shaky little things which usually might break an album, but in Rikets' case, only strengthen it.

All American Death Cult is a testament that not all former nu metal bands suck serious dong, and Rikets are one of the most sure-handed exceptions to the rule. While the fundamental elements for Rikets' sound will forever lie deep down in nu metal, they’ve done well to work themselves up to a venerable modern metal act. If they continue to undertake things like the brilliantly executed remake of 1980’s cult classic "Cry Little Sister" (featuring no other than the man behind this dazzling song, Gerard Mcmann), Rikets have a very bright future ahead of them.



Recent reviews by this author
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
Iskald Nedom Og NordPsyclon Nine [Order of the Shadow: Act I]
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2010



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Although I was quietly hoping this would turn out well, it turned out spectacrular instead and is the surprise of the year so far to me.

SCREAM!
April 21st 2010



9964 Comments


Very nice review. Not sure if this is for me though

Digging: Agalloch - The Serpent and the Sphere

Ponton
Emeritus
April 21st 2010



5784 Comments


a job well done, magnus, seriously ;)

I need more metal, so I may surprise you and give it a listen. I'm busy with an album right now though

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2010



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys. Yeah, actually this is the first review I can say I'm 100% satisfied with since Finntroll. I had a lot of fun writing it, and I feel I do the album justice with this piece here.

Powerban
April 21st 2010



2380 Comments


Checked out their myspace. They sound like Bloodsimple mixed with a mix of say Powerman 5000/Dope/NIN/Manson imo.

I would of liked this a few years ago but it isn't for me now.

jingledeath
April 21st 2010



7104 Comments


Great review as usual dude but yeah like Screamo and Powerban said, this probably isn't for me now.

ThePalestMexican
April 21st 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably the best nu metal band in recent times....possibly all time

Willie
Moderator
April 21st 2010



15876 Comments


I listened to the Myspace songs and it reminds me of Orgy with a bit more balls. Cool/catchy electronics, lots of screams, chorus-driven, and basic guitar riffs. It's not bad, I could probably listen to this from time to time.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

SCREAM!
April 21st 2010



9964 Comments


Good job on the feature mang

Inveigh
April 21st 2010



24752 Comments


huh, this kind of metal has never been my thing but this review's so good it makes me want to try this out. well done metalstyles.

sexpoi
April 21st 2010



599 Comments


seriously good review... I actually listened to the Anything For The Devil Ep and I liked it when it came out. I haven't listened to this style of music in ages but I'm definitely gonna check this out cuz they were like the only nu metal band that had any replay value for me.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2010



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you lads and yea, as far as nu metal is concerned these guys are most definitely up there in the top 5 nu bands ever.

Inveigh
April 21st 2010



24752 Comments


whoa, better than Deftones, Sevendust, Taproot, System of a Down? or are they just the fifth band after those four...? gimme your top 5

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2010



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

k so top five (in no particular order): 1. Nonpoint
2. Nothingface
3. Mudvayne
4. Rikets
5. P.O.D. (yeah I know, not a standard pick, but I really dig these guys and have a certain emotional connection with their music)

I'm guilty of only knowing White Pony and Diamond Eyes from Deftones' catalogue.

Also, I'm pretty sure you meant Drown, not Down. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Masochist
April 21st 2010



7961 Comments


Reminds me a bit of Celldweller, actually, though not so industrial.

Inveigh
April 21st 2010



24752 Comments


nah, System of a Down -- not the band Down (although they're awesome). I liked Southtown way back in the day, but didn't really listen to much P.O.D. after that. I'm actually guilty of not listening to really anything by Nothingface or Nonpoint (except their Phil Collins cover).

I really like nu-metal more for single albums than bands' entire discos. Deftones really only had one true nu metal album, same with Papa Roach, Taproot, Staind etc before they just went alt/metal. I like

Sevendust - Home
Deftones - Adrenaline
Taproot - Gift
SOAD - Toxicity
Staind - Dysfunction
Papa Roach - Infest

remember Spineshank?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2010



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh damn, how did I not see it was System of a Down, not Down haha. And man, Spineshank had two excellent albums, how could I forget them! It's actually very hard to make a nu metal top 5 for me, as the genre is better than it's given credit for (well, there's somre real crap in it too, obviously, but the good bands are great).

really like nu-metal more for single albums than bands' entire discos.
same here, although I usually still end up looking into the bands' other albums too.


TheSpirit
April 21st 2010



17130 Comments


Review is great. Album sounds interesting and Nonpoint rules

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Inveigh
April 21st 2010



24752 Comments


oh yea me too, once I like a band I usually at least pay attention to what they release even after I'm "over" them. well, there are exceptions to that I suppose (Staind, Linkin Park, etc) but yeah, Spineshank definitely had two good albums.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2010



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you Spirit and glad to see another Nonpoint enthusiast haha.

Inveigh - Spineshank were supposedly coming out with a new album this year. I don't know if that still stands true though, as Santos is focusing on his decent, but ultimately run-of-the-mill metalcore band Silent Civilian.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy