Bison B.C.
Dark Ages


4.0
excellent

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
April 16th, 2010 | 75 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Excellent sludgy stoner metal with doom undertones

It’s very hard to actually place Bison B.C. under a specific genre; to fully categorize them. On Dark Ages there is so much going on the listener will simply be either overwhelmed or terribly pleased after the disc has ended. Going from full sludge metal cuts, like "Fear Cave", to more stoner styled songs, like "Melody, This Is For You", Bison B.C. are always able to keep things interesting and fresh. With their sophomore full length, Bison B.C. have firmly placed themselves on the top end of new-wave stoner/sludge bands.

On Dark Ages, the band do an excellent job in mixing hard hitting rhythms with a dim atmosphere, while the screamed/shouted vocals are piercing through the thick sound. The distorted basslines are especially great to listen to, as they, along with the drumming, create a strong backbone for the songs. Thanks to a very refined and thick rhythm section, the guitarists have more leeway to experiment with different time signatures and add in slightly higher-pitched leads, which are still by all accounts, pleasingly heavy.

Dark Ages is definitely an album that should be listened to in one piece. While the songs all sound great individually, when listened to in full, Dark Ages becomes an experience one into metal shouldn't want to miss. The way the songs all melt together into 40 minutes of stoner/sludge bliss is well-worth envying. There’s not a single part that sounds recycled or repetitive; not a single boring section. Like the animal the band is named after, Bison B.C. can turn from your average jogging tempo to a lightning-quick sprint effortlessly, while still sounding graceful and unforced. From calm to aggressive, quick to slow, chill to crushing, Dark Ages is varied and excellent regardless of which nook you are looking it from.

With Dark Ages being only the second album by Bison B.C., it will be more than interesting to see where these guys will stand in about 10 years time. Can they make the jump from great to grand is to be seen, but for now, Dark Ages is exactly the kind of album a metal band wants to have as their sophomore outing – hard hitting, fresh, heavy and intense. Bison B.C. is worth looking out for, and Dark Ages is worth the price your local record store is selling it at.



Recent reviews by this author
Atrum Tempestas NeantEluveitie Origins
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
user ratings (68)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
FearMonger (3.5)
A journey within your smoke filled internal darkness....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was expecting this to be pretty good, but not THAT good. Seriously, get this album, it's ridiculous how good it is when you're in the right mood for this kind of stuff.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


16467 Comments


Nice, been looking for sludge to listen to as of late. I'll be checking this out. Excellent review as usual.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man. Yea this one was a real surprise, I still can't believe how good it turned out.

Also, if you haven't already, check out the new High On Fire album. Both are great stoner/sludge records

Slum
April 16th 2010


2579 Comments


Not into this kind of music but good review. pos.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


16467 Comments


Also, if you haven't already, check out the new High On Fire album. Both are great stoner/sludge records

Will do, haven't heard anything by that band before.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well me neither, but the new album (Snakes For The Divine) was great.

Thank you Slum

SCREAM!
April 16th 2010


10331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. You actually made me wanna chec kout one of your bands :P

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you also checked out Dagoba and Metsatoll volunteerly during the last month ;)

SCREAM!
April 16th 2010


10331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You estonians are really bad with jokes arent you

Willie
Moderator
April 16th 2010


16117 Comments


Nice review. Stoner/Sludge is definitely not my thing, though.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey I only "rec'd" you Dagoba. Metsatoll was 100% your own decision.

EDIT: thank you (as always) Trey

ThePalestMexican
April 16th 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Discovered these guys yesterday...truly awesome sludge/doom/stoner metal.

Blindsided
April 16th 2010


1871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This IS for me. I got it just haven't listened to it yet.
Good review too per usual, have a pos.

Mikesn
Emeritus
April 16th 2010


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty good for the most part. it's an improvement on the last one for sure

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Blindsided.

I'm glad more and more people are reading this review and checking this out. Really, this is top 10 metal of the year so far material.

bigguy69
April 16th 2010


199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Dark Ages is worth the price your local record store is selling it at."

well worth the 7.99 i paid that's for damn sure

Nagrarok
April 16th 2010


8298 Comments


Nice work Styles, short and to the point. Pos'd, of course. Although this definitely sounds interesting, I haven't got much time on my hands atm.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Nag and glad to hear you're interested. Sadly, I know exactly how you feel (regarding time) - I have those intervals too, more then I'd like to, tbh.

Dryden
April 16th 2010


13127 Comments


cool

combustion07
April 16th 2010


5420 Comments


Good review, I actually am one of the few that dug their first album so I'll get this for sure



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy