The Ocean
Heliocentric


3.0
good

Review

by eternium USER (16 Reviews)
April 9th, 2010 | 72 replies | 3,345 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If Precambrian was Master of Puppets, Heliocentric is The Black Album.

6 of 8 thought this review was well written

The Ocean is a unique band from Germany. Led by Robin Staps, the band produced two great records (Fluxion and Aeolian) before releasing Precambrian, arguably one of the best metal albums of the last decade. The album was based on the development of the Earth and is divided between the heavy-as-hell metalcore of Hadean/Archaean and the epic, progressive post-metal of Proterozoic, which still retained some of the heaviest drop-A riffs mixed in with quieter sections, often mixed with an orchestra.

Heliocentric is the follow-up to, and will continue to be compared to, the Proterozoic side of Precambrian. The band again set up a concept, this time a history of the faults of religion and creationism against the rise of science and evolution. A pretty cool concept, but the music itself simply does not meet up. While Heliocentric has its moments, the earthquake-worthy riffs are mostly gone and the expansive orchestra-backed post-rock parts have been replaced with more jazzy space-rock. Change can be appreciated, but the music seems uninspired and even boring throughout the hour-long album.

The biggest change is the switch in vocal duties. Precambrian highlighted one vocalist with a deep-growl, but also included guest vocalists who showed nearly every possibility of the male voice (sorry, no power metal falsetto), including screaming and singing combined. Heliocentric has an entirely new vocalist and gone is the variation. The man, Loïc Rossetti, has a great scream, but perhaps only five percent of the album shows that. Instead, he uses his singing (which does sound like a deeper Dustin Kenstrue from Thrice) that remains at an almost monotone throughout. The biggest problem with this is that the vocals are mixed so high that it distracts from the music behind, in the same way Lars Ulrich distracts from everything else in Death Magnetic.

This album does have its positives. While the music is not as dramatic as the band's previous works, it is still miles ahead of the average metal band. Guitars sometimes sparkle in an uplifting way, while they also give headbanging-worthy climaxes. Even the piano is well done when it appears. These moments are short-lived, however. The vocalist is rather talented, even if he does not appear to have very much of a range. His screams and roars are certainly massive, giving hopes for Anthropocentric (the heavier sister to this album), the band's next release in 2010.

Heliocentric is a good album, even if it is often boring. The music has highpoints and the singing is not horrible. The album has its faults, but it only has one curse: It came after a masterpiece.



Recent reviews by this author
Portraits Of Past 01010101Barnswallow Twos
Some Mistakes Glamorous ThoughtsRorcal Myrra, Mordvynn, Marayaa
Noisear Subvert the Dominant ParadigmCorrupted Se hace por los suenos asesinos
user ratings (465)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Eli EMERITUS (3)
Whereas "Precambrian" was like a fierce hurricane, "Heliocentric" is the harmless breeze that follow...

Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS (3.5)
An overall interesting experiment that sorely lacks in consistency and creative focus....

Benjamin Bland (2)
The first major disappointment of 2010...and it's a big disappointment....


Comments:Add a Comment 
tuk
April 9th 2010



151 Comments


I dunno but when an album is often boring it can't be great in my book. Listened once and yeah it's a major letdown after Precambrian.

FadeToBlack
April 9th 2010



10913 Comments


good review, but it reads more like a 2.5 - 3

eternium
April 9th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It isn't a bad album and it isn't boring the entire time. It just is a lot of the time, especially the quieter songs. It's only bad when you remember what came before it.

So.. how's my first review guys?

bloozclooz
April 9th 2010



1770 Comments


too many generalities

eternium
April 9th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How so?

taquitos
April 9th 2010



74 Comments


too many bad users

HenchmanOfSanta
April 9th 2010



1852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I kept expecting you to come up with positives after the negatives, but the review ends rather abruptly. This reads like a 2.5 at best.

bloozclooz
April 9th 2010



1770 Comments


when you say "Heliocentric is a good album, even if it is often boring.", i don't understand what you mean, because all you talked about were the vocals.

and i can't tell if that was an insult taquito, so just stop

Phantom
April 9th 2010



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

too many bad users


eternium
April 9th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Probably should have mentioned positives more..

eternium
April 9th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I did talk about the music itself, bloozclooz. It's the second paragraph.

bloozclooz
April 9th 2010



1770 Comments


earthquake-worthy riffs are mostly gone and the expansive orchestra-backed post-rock parts have been replaced with more jazzy space-rock.

is this the only time you mentioned the instruments?

eternium
April 9th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Change can be appreciated, but the music seems uninspired and even boring throughout the hour-long album.

And this. There isn't really much to say about it, especially after describing Precambrian's music and that Heliocentric's is basically a watered down version of that.

bloozclooz
April 9th 2010



1770 Comments


there's the problem. i haven't heard anything before this, so those references don't do me any good.

i'm not trying to start an argument, but you asked

eternium
April 9th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the heavy-as-hell metalcore of Hadean/Archaean and the epic, progressive post-metal of Proterozoic, which still retained some of the heaviest drop-A riffs mixed in with quieter sections, often mixed with an orchestra.

The description of Precambrian. Of course you have to have some kind of background information to know what I'm talking about completely, but that's with anything.

BrahTheSunGod
April 9th 2010



1279 Comments


Good review, about how I feel on this. The vocalist just needs to take a big step back and realize how amazing of instrumentalists he has behind him, and let them do their (fucking magnificently epic) thing.

Thank you for keeping the review short too btw. Conciseness ftw

eternium
April 9th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The mix was just right on Precambrian, so I don't know what was going through their heads. I'd probably have a higher opinion of the album if I could have heard the music more, rather than the singing.

acorncheese
April 9th 2010



7119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I highly doubt Robin Staps would sit there and let the vocalist take control of his band. In other words, it was the mastermind behind the band that thought it best that the vocals were as prevalent as they apparently are throughout the album.

eternium
April 9th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, I'm sure that the guy had a big say and Robin probably didn't feel like looking for another vocalist. I don't know, I've had so much respect for Robin in that he composed all the amazing songs before, but he's seemed to have slipped.
We can only hope that this is the only slip.

Yazz_Flute
April 9th 2010



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's well written but it's more like a long soundoff than a full-length review.

Digging: Cormorant - Dwellings



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy