Unwritten Law
Here's to the Mourning


3.5
great

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
April 9th, 2010 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Ahh, watching the snow melt away on a gorgeous day full of sunshine is one of the better sights there can be after a long and tiring winter. True, the surroundings look muddy and dirty, but a warm ray of sunlight wrapping you into itself is enough to make even the coldest old hag smile. So what will you do on this splendid day? Well this is what you should do: approach your cd collection, pull out an album of blithe nature, start the engine of that old, lovable, wreck of a car, and hit the road.

Unwritten Law’s Here’s To The Mourning is just the kind of album you need on a trip like the one described. Fun, upbeat, simple, catchy, full of merry sing-alongs. From the opening seconds on "Get Up", you’ll know you’re in for a good time. The light-hearted punk rock sound that Unwritten Law have got going for them is perfect to drive to, and is also stunningly good in live setting. Since I'm fairly certain you do not have the opportunity to go and catch Unwritten Law live right this second, I'd recommend a car drive. To where? A ride to nowhere is in order, of course.

Here's To The Mourning isn't spectacular from an artistic point of view; actually, it isn't really that great at all if you're going to do serious thinking while blasting the album, or if you’re going to look for even remote intricacies in here. Instead, Here's To The Mourning is a ridiculously good album to listen to when you’re trying to get away from things; when you just want to relax, take it easy, and forget all about the outer bull***. Take some friends with you, go out, and have a good time, all the while playing Here's To The Mourning. Why? Because this album's one of the safest bets in situations like these.

May it be because it’s nostalgia-provoking, or just simply offering a jolly good time, Here’s To The Mourning has a certain charm to it; the kind of charm bands like Blink 182 also possess. On one hand the music is simple and even derivative at points, but on the other it is also very charismatic in its own catchy and alluring way.

Here’s To The Mourning is a great, poppy punk rock album and it succeeds because it’s not trying to be something it clearly isn’t. Effortlessly varying between more guitar driven tracks, like "Celebration Song", and the poppier cuts, like "Because of You", the album doesn’t have a chance to sound repetitive – it could've even been a few tracks longer, because clocking in around 40 minutes, you’re forced to press the replay button quite frequently. Lead by frontman Scott Russo’s powerhouse vocals, Here’s To The Mourning is simply a great collection of charismatic, catchy and poppy punk rock songs. Nothing more, nothing less.

So is it a sunny, post-winter day for you down there? If so, better go search for those car keys…



Recent reviews by this author
Atrum Tempestas NeantEluveitie Origins
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
user ratings (92)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Mookid (3.5)
Supported with enjoyable and refreshing choruses, along with tight instrumentation, (but sadly shado...

Big Tone (3)
...

michael1145 (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

didn't see this coming from me did you

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2010


16440 Comments


Really good review dude, don't think is my cup of tea but hey, you never know!

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Crysis. Haven't seen you around much lately - any specific reason for that, or have you just been busy?

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2010


16440 Comments


That and it's been pretty boring here in the past week or two. Nothing really interesting being posted and whatnot.

Masochist
April 9th 2010


8051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really enjoy this album, for all the reasons you mentioned. Pos'd.

One thing, though...the album is called 'Here's To the MoUrning'.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

k man, but it has been quite boring here for a lot longer than that ;). There's a big lack of interesting threads in the metal department on the review site (I'm not really familiar with the forums so).

Thanks Masochist, and good catch, dunno how did I make such a mistake every single time haha.

Ponton
Emeritus
April 9th 2010


5804 Comments


Nice, I really loved save me when it became fairly popular in the states.

Review is good, though at time i feel just as much, if not more, attention is placed on the car ride than the actual music haha, but that's just a personal preference thing, and you seem to succeed in what you set out to do here.

Need a period after "Nothing more, nothing less" Pos!

Willie
Moderator
April 9th 2010


16051 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't have the time to read this right now, but here's a pos for leaving your comfort zone ;)

This album is ok, but you need to hear Elva if you haven't.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review is good, though at time i feel just as much, if not more, attention is placed on the car ride than the actual music haha, but that's just a personal preference thing, and you seem to succeed in what you set out to do here.
naah I wouldn't say I place more emphasis on the car ride than on the music, but I did want to integrate some sort of a small concept to this review. My last two reviews have been awfully music based (yeah I know this sounds weird, but wait for it) as in I only talked how the album at hand sounds, but didn't elaborate too much on how it feels. This time I wanted to make sure the reader will also know when, where, and under what circumnstances the album has a great impact. Hope this made sense.

I don't have the time to read this right now, but here's a pos for leaving your comfort zone ;)

This album is ok, but you need to hear Elva if you haven't.
haha, well, the thing is that I can actually move out of my comfort zone without facing any great difficulties (imo), but I just choose to write about metal most of the time because I find it the best for me to write about (as in, I love writing about metal the most, but that doesn't mean I cannot write about stuff like this).

And I do have Elva and I do like it - why else would I rec it ;)?

manicman
April 9th 2010


1 Comments


Good review, but I've never been into these guys for a reason. Check out the last album of Say Anything for quality pop punk.

BigHans
April 9th 2010


26454 Comments


I love Elva, haven't heard this. Good review.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

if you love Elva chances are pretty high that you'll also love this. Looking at Willie's rating I take it he'd disagree, but at least according to me, you can't go wrong with this if you liked Elva.

SCREAM!
April 9th 2010


10226 Comments


Almost missed this one. Very nice review but im with crysis in thinking this might not be for me...Maybe next time i hit my paramore mood ill get this to go along with it

Nagrarok
April 9th 2010


8259 Comments


Not a metulz review? I am stunned. Nice work styles.

BigHans
April 9th 2010


26454 Comments


The songs I love off Elva are Geronimo, Up All Night, Seein Red, and Rest of My Life. Anything on here similar?

SCREAM!
April 9th 2010


10226 Comments


I just remembered I heard F.I.G.H.T. on Midnight Club a few years back. Used to like it back then, dont really remember it anymore

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd just say that the best preview songs from this would probably be "Get Up", "Celebration Song", "Rejections Cold" and "Because of You". If you like those, you'll probably like the whole album, if you don't you probably won't. If you're indifferent, then I'd guess curiosity will eventually get the best of you if you loved Elva ;)

Thank you, Nagrarok and Simon

EDIT: well Simon, youtube is only about a click away ;)

FourthReich
January 15th 2014


17920 Comments


EASE UP A LITTLE BIT

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2014


19933 Comments


album takes me back

Digging: Coldworld - Melancholie

FourthReich
January 15th 2014


17920 Comments


yea that was a hardcore nostalgia bump



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy