Green Day
Dookie


3.5
great

Review

by Carlos Von Sextron USER (11 Reviews)
April 6th, 2010 | 25 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Green Day's best album musically, but doesn't live up to the hype.

When I picked up this album, I was expecting it to be better than it actually was, because of all the hype. I had heard the singles (Basket Case, When I Come Around, She, Welcome To Paradise and Longview) and expected the lesser-known songs to be great, if not better. I found that, with the exception of a couple excellent unknown tracks, I wasn't missing much. Many of the unknown tracks sound much like the same, and all of them are pretty short. Good examples of tracks that are just filler are "Sassafras Roots", a rather funny song with a good beat, but that's it. "Emenius Sleepus" and "Chump" don't have much memorable about them. There are no real bad songs on the album, but some of it is medicore.

There are some good unknown tracks, though. F.O.D (stands for "F**k Off and Die") is an excellent track and my personal favorite with great lyrics, starting out acoustic and then erupting into a great jam, with Tre Cool at his best. "Having A Blast" and "Burnout" are fun catchy songs to listen to while having fun. "Pulling Teeth" is one of the more poppy songs, but pulled of well. I especially like the lyrics. "In The End" is a great fast-paced hard rocker. I'm not sure what the story behind "All By Myself" is, but I presume that it's something Tre wrote just randomly and when they were done recording the song before that ("F.O.D") he just started playing that (you can hear people laughing in the background while he sings). Seriously it sounds like a better Adam Sandler song (Tre even makes his voice like his). If you don't know, it's about a guy/kid who sneaks into a girls house (yes, all by himself) and into her room, presumably panty raiding and/or masturbating.

Something very rare on this album is that the best songs are the singles. "Longview" is about a person who is super bored and just keeps masturbating in his house. This song contains my second favorite bass-line of all time (first being "Schism" by Tool). "Basket Case", "She" and "Welcome To Paradise" draw apart from the rest of the album. Good thing. They are all catchy and will not leave your head for a while. "Welcome To Paradise" is one of the best Green Day songs musically, with Tre ripping up the drums, one of the best guitar and bass riffs I've heard (3rd favorite bass line).

The whole album musically is very well done, with most of the songs having supurb beats. Tre Cool really is at his best on this album, with drum fills around every corner that are oh-so great. Billie may not be the most skilled guitarist, but he sure knows how to make a catchy riff. I also admire this album because they make the bass actually heard. Not only that, but it sounds good. Many bands make the bassist heard, but that fact is, they aren't that good. I always thought Mike didn't get enough credit, because he really is a great bassist. Everything flows great in the songs also. I just feel that the majority of the songs sound the same. Is this album overrated? Yes. Is it as overrated as American Idiot or 21st Century Breakdown? Hell no. In all this is a great album, with great instrumentation but some duds.

TOP 5 TRACKS (no order):
-F.O.D
-Pulling Teeth
-Longview
-Welcome To Paradise
-When I Come Around

SETBACKS:
-most of the unknown tracks sound the same
-lyrics are nothins special for the most part
-some songs unmemorable
-most of the songs are pretty short (15 tracks and 38 minutes?)



Recent reviews by this author
The Dead Weather Sea of CowardsRadiohead The Bends
Alice in Chains Jar of FliesJimmies Chicken Shack Pushing the Salmanilla Envelope
The Smashing Pumpkins Teargarden by Kaleidyscope, Vol. 1Beck Sea Change
user ratings (2930)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
April 6th 2010


17931 Comments


ehhh

BigHans
April 6th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good job, pos'd. I disagree with the rating, but then again I was probably your age when this came out, so this has a huge nostalgia factor for me.

LepreCon
April 6th 2010


4144 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your summary actually sums up American Idiot for me, personally

PearlDrummer20
April 6th 2010


1089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@BigHans yeah, i don't know, maybe i've just listened to the singles too much
I got it 4 days ago, and I still can't remember anything about Sassafras Roots or Emenius Sleepus.

PearlDrummer20
April 6th 2010


1089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@LeperCon American Idiot was alright musically, but I really don't like concept albums for the most
part. American Idiot's lyrics were pretty bad, and it was REALLY overrated.

NeutralThunder12
April 6th 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album has been with me since I was but a lad, and even though I don't really listen to it any more, it's truly the first album I ever loved, and yes, it does live up to the hype. Also, don't say the tracks are too short, because in punk, a normal song typically is around 2-3 minutes in length, especially 80's and 90's punk. Alright review, some things made no sense, and I don't think you know enough about the genre to review this, but your writing was decent, so I will not pos or neg. Keep working.

Titan50
April 6th 2010


4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

meh review

And All By Myself was sung by Tre Cool

NeutralThunder12
April 6th 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album has been with me since I was but a lad, and even though I don't really listen to it any more, it's truly the first album I ever loved, and yes, it does live up to the hype. Also, don't say the tracks are too short, because in punk, a normal song typically is around 2-3 minutes in length, especially 80's and 90's punk. Alright review, some things made no sense, and I don't think you know enough about the genre to review this, but your writing was decent, so I will not pos or neg. Keep working.

porch
April 6th 2010


8459 Comments


This would've been better if the songs were 8-10 minutes long

ReturnToRock
April 6th 2010


3448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review, but I SO disagree with you!

There is NOT ONE weak track on here, apart from maybe Coming Clean. Burnout is epic as an opener, Welcome To Paradise is the best punk-pop song ever, Longview has "that" bassline, Emenius and Sassafras have great choruses, and how can you not even MENTION In The End!?

5/5 if I ever saw one. That said, well written review, and a pos.

PearlDrummer20
April 6th 2010


1089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^ I mentioned it, second paragraph, and I said that there were no bad tracks in the first paragraph.

Yotimi
April 6th 2010


6523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tbh, review was pretty choppy. If you heard this back in 1994 you'd think it was one of the best pop/punk albums of all time. I wouldn't like it nearly as much if I just heard it 4 days ago. When I Come Around will always be my favorite Green Day song.

PearlDrummer20
April 6th 2010


1089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^ this is just my opinion, as a 14 year old just picking it up last week, but I've heard the singles, I guess I just had too high of expectations, thinking the lesser-known tracks would be as good as the singles. The singles are kick-ass, and When I Come Around was my favorite for like 3 years.

Yotimi
April 6th 2010


6523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't worry I wasn't knocking your opinion. It's cool man, it's just one of those albums people in their mid 20's usually love b/c at the time it stood out way more than it would now.

PearlDrummer20
April 6th 2010


1089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^that's what my dad was telling me, he's the one who recommended it to me! He lost his like 10 years ago... he was saying how everyone liked it so much back then, because it was one of those stand-out albums. We need Green Day to make another Dookie or Insomniac more than ever.

asaf
April 6th 2010


888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Green Day's best album musically, but doesn't live up to the hype.

whhaaaaaaat are you talking about?! this is as american as grilled cheese!

Crymsonblaze
April 6th 2010


7495 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album blows.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2010


17222 Comments


it was impossible to be alive in the 90's and not have Dookie. thems was the rules.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2010


17222 Comments


holy fuck I'm staff!?

Ire
April 6th 2010


41804 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wut?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy