Dream Theater
Images and Words


5.0
classic

Review

by temporary USER (14 Reviews)
September 15th, 2005 | 1279 replies | 65,184 views


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist


14 of 22 thought this review was well written

If one was to make the mistake of judging the entire music scene by Sputnik and her sister sites, one would make a huge mistake: that Tool and Dream Theater are the most popular modern rock bands. Neither of these currently get any air time, but their massive fan base is what keeps them alive. Dream Theater, in particular, is a band that has always gone against modern trends. To this day they continue to write multi minute epics, filled with blistering solos. The band's amazing line up at the time was:

James LaBrie: Vocals
John Petruci: Guitar
Kevin Moore: Keyboards
John Myung: Bass Guitar
Mike Portney: Drums and Percusion

James LaBrie is an underrated vocallist, with people go so far as to say the band would be better off without him. His signiture high pitched way of wailing out lyrics is evidencesed on this album quite well. John Petruci really needs no introduction as a gutarists, he's one of the greatest ever, playing with speed that few can equal. Some dislike him (and Dream Theater as a whole) because many of his solos are increadably fast and technical just for the sake of being so. I myself think his solo's go far beyond technical wankery. Although the bands current keybordist Jorden Rudess has more talent than Moore, Moore easily prooves himself as a better composer, as well as a brilliant player. John Myung is sometimes hard to hear over the rest of the band, but when he solos its always increadable. Finally, Mike Portney is an increadable drummer, using double bass drum hits wonderfully and never falling into repitition.

The album itself is their second studio album, released in 1992 and prooved them to be the champions of modern Progresive Rock.

Pull Me Under: The album is kicked off with a simple clean guitar riff, soon joined by drums and keyboards. The song gets a heavier about a minute in with the guitar gaining distortion, and continue to hold the song up with the keyboards until a minute later with LaBrie entering the song. These certainly aren't his best vocals, but the work pretty well. Petruci severs up a mini solo, before LaBrie sings "Pull Me Under/Pull Me Under/Pull Me Under/I'm not afraid!" The songs slows down a bit later, with Petruci soloing until LaBrie sings the reframe. The song faids out to a heavy riff. A fairly good opener, although not of it really strikes me as genius
8.5/10

Another Day: One of the most un Dream Theater songs the band has released, Another Day is far from a fan favorite. Its short (clocking in at about four minutes) and features no fashy solos. Its actually rather inspirational. It deals pretty much with living another day, and not giving up. They use an alto sax, which, doesn't really seem to fit their style, although it comes off pretty well. By far the best part of the song, though, is LaBrie, who serves up some amazing vocals. A lot of people won't like the song, but I actually do. Its improved quite a bit on the version from Live Scenes From New York, as well.
9/10

Take The Time: Some real classic Dream Theater, it starts of with some odd keyboards, before a simple bassline comes in. Petruci comes in soon, and Moore pulls off and increadable solo, before Myung segues into the vocals. The vocals themselves are actually pretty weird at first. Portney complements the vocals perfectly, and the fast continues, untill about three and a half minutes in when the piano makes an entrance. It speeds up a bit with some excellent playing from Petruci and Myung. Petruci and Moore serve up a great syncronized solo, before some awesome riffage comes in from all the instruments. Another awesome keyboard solo comes in, and continues until LaBrie returns to the song, and piano comes in to harald a slower guitar solo, untill vocals return, and the song fades out to a killer guitar solo.
10/10

Surrounded: A cool synth/piano part opens at a slow temple, before LaBrie comes with some soft vocals. Bass and Guitar don't come in until a minute and a half have passed. Theres not really much I can say about this song, its probably my least favorite on the album, although its in no way filler.
7.5/10

Metrapolis: This is pretty much recogized as the fan favorite, for some very good reason. Every members of the band is absolutely amazing. It starts off with a bit of percusion, and a quiet, lonely keyboard part and a bit of guitar. Portney and Petruci explode into the song, with Petruci playing one of my favorite of his riffs. Portney owns throughout the whole song. LaBrie's vocals are amazing, with him singing his signiture style the best he ever has, with much of it at the top of his range. The intstumentals in the center are unbelievable, with both Portney and Myung getting their chance at the center stage. I'm not sure how this song ties in with their later release Metrapolis Pt. 2 Scenes From A Memory (probably their best album after this one) but this song pretty much sums up everything I like about Dream Theater definitly a:
10/10

Under A Glass Moon Another amazing song, its started with a heavy, slow guitar riff, before Portney begins to pound away on the drums, and Myung comes in. Its also a great song for LaBrie with him singing pretty much like he does on the previous track (although the lyrics make no sense.) By far the best part is Petruci's insane solo, heralded by a quick bass fill. Petruci prooves why some consider him such a guitar god. Truely a:
10/10

Wait For Sleep: A short song, which somehow feels like the centerpoint of the album to me. Its just piano and vocals, and serves as an intro into Learning to Live, both musically and lyrically. I'm not going to rate it though, because of this, although its one of my favorite Dream Theater songs.

Learning to Live: F-ing fantastic is the first thing that comes to mind when I think of it. Its the logest track on the album at nearly twelve minutes in length. Its started off with a great keyboard pattern from Moore. The lyrics deal with someone who's observing the world, and learning how to become part of it. I've always thought that Wait For Sleep is a specific description of something this person has observed. The excellent vocals continue, until another great keyboard solo. The song takes another change with a nice acoustic solo from Petruci. The songs continues on track wonderfully, with Petruci's guitar now distorted, and LaBrie does a great scream, before a really strong guitar solo, and an awesome repeated riff. The song stops for a second, and Moore plays the exact some piano intro to Wait For Sleep, except a lot faster. The rest of the band joins him soon, and play excellently until LaBrie comes in to sing an increadable reframe of: " The way your heart sounds/makes all the difference/It's what decides if you'll endure the pain that we all feel/The way your heart beats/makes all the difference In learning to live/ Spread before you is your soul/ So forever hold the dreams within our hearts/ Through nature's inflexible grace/ I'm learning to live." Myung the takes center stage with a nice bass solo, before the rest of the band come in to majestically end this increadable song, and increadable album.
10/10

I'd recomend this band to any fan of Progresive rock, Metal or just excellent musicionship. This is my favorite prog metal album, and one of my favorite albums of all time. All the musicians are virtuosos. If your looking for other great Dream Theater albums, I'd recomend A Change of Seasons, Scenes From a Memory, or Live Scenes in New York.



Recent reviews by this author
Patti Smith Trampin'Black Sabbath Master of Reality
Alice In Chains MTV UnpluggedCream Live At the Royal Albert Hall
Peter Gabriel SoIron Maiden Piece of Mind
user ratings (2193)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dragon_Prince
September 15th 2005



272 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a better revieuw then the other one I like this album, I only think you've rated some songs to high

Thor
September 15th 2005



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Definetly an improvment from the last review, that one was totally crappy.

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

blahsunghoon
September 15th 2005



3 Comments


It's Petrucci not Petruci

shimmy
September 16th 2005



41 Comments


Great rewiev man!!!i agree with more or less everything you said above,andi think this is really a great album,followed by metropolis part II....
every member of the band really shows how to play each instrument in this album with amazing solo's and fills!!!
simply great!! ;-)

scenesfromatheater
December 28th 2005



11 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

5/5. Best album apart from Awake. Labrie's vocals on this album show why I think he's one of the greatest vocalists ever. Metropolis and Learning to Live, awsome.

arifandi
January 27th 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

very good review.

Myung is absolutely briliant.

eug008
March 1st 2006



97 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Learning to live is one of the best songs ever.

Bfhurricane
March 1st 2006



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album... I heard "Pull Me Under" on Headbangers Ball (the only time ive ever heard DT on that show) and that got me into them. This is one of my favorite albums by them, along with Train of Thought

fisky009
March 9th 2006



813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is an excellent album. The rest of the DT stuff is different to this album, but thats good how Dt's sound changes over the albums.

Thor
March 11th 2006



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh, how I love Metropolis. If they made all of their songs as good as that one then this album would be a classic in my eyes.

fisky009
March 11th 2006



813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I cant stop listening to metropolis part 1, it is so emense and just awsome! The rest of the album is just excellent.

Aw3someman
March 12th 2006



24 Comments


I heard Pull Me Under was based Off Hamlet or sumthin.

finallyfree
March 17th 2006



1 Comments


is metropolis, not metrapolis; is portnoy not portney or the hell how you wrote it; is PETRUCCI NOT PETRUCIThis Message Edited On 04.10.06

Concubine
March 17th 2006



333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ahahahaha......lol

MidnightRider
March 18th 2006



18 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is my favorite DT album.

Jim
March 25th 2006



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just getting into this. Man the solo in Under A Glass Moon is freakin' awesome.

10th man down
April 3rd 2006



39 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

DT's best moments imo

YouGottaBeCrazy
April 13th 2006



37 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

IMO, this is the best DT album. 4.5/5

Remial4
April 14th 2006



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Awsome Review. Everything is perfectly said and rated! No arguments from me. :D

raavail
April 16th 2006



10 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah nice review !!

hmm i liked the part where you talkied abt how sometimes john and rudess overdo their solos . hmm some of my frnds dislike Dream theater for that reason..



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy