Foxy Shazam
Introducing


3.5
great

Review

by Travis Marmon USER (32 Reviews)
March 31st, 2010 | 20 replies | 12,137 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You cannot escape these choruses.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Cincinnati's Foxy Shazam! are one of the stranger bands to come out of the midwest in...well, ever. Their 2005 debut, The Flamingo Trigger, combined pop hooks, breakdowns, amazing piano-playing, surreal lyrics, airplane noises, and just plain madness into forty-plus minutes of fun and confusion. This time around, Foxy have stripped themselves of their aggression in favor of even more pop sensibility. While not as musically inventive as their debut, Introducing is surely one of the catchiest rock albums you will ever here.

Foxy Shazam! are:

Eric Nally - Vocals
Lauren Turner - Guitar
Schuyler White - Piano/Keys
Daisy - Bass
Joseph Halberstadt - Drums

I'm going to be up front here--"The Science of Love" may be the catchiest song I've ever heard. Literally every time I hear anything about Foxy Shazam!, its chorus immediately pops into my head and stays there for weeks. Close behind "The Science of Love" in terms of hooks is "Red Cape Diver," with its mighty chorus of "Fire torpedoes, kiss your lolitas, let them know you might die." Schuyler White's piano and Eric Nally's relentless energy complete dominate every aspect of this album. While those two were the highlights of The Flamingo Trigger, everybody got a moment to shine on that album. Here, the other three members take a backseat.

Also gone from the debut is the band's heaviness. There are no songs like "Across the Golden Field" or "NO! Don't Shoot," with their utterly ridiculous breakdowns and palm-muted riffs under Mally's unique screams. Every song on Introducing is pure piano-driven power-pop--although the band did not lose their penchant for the ridiculous (see: the lyrics to "Ghost Animals"). There is nothing inherently wrong with that--every song on the album is solid--but after their wild debut, it feels like Foxy are playing it safe, or at least as safe as they are capable of playing. There is not a bad track on this record, but there is nothing that will blow a listener out of the water like "The French Passion Animality Opera" or the pair of songs mentioned above.

However, this album does have as many, if not more hooks than the debut did. The songs on Introducing latch onto your mind, and their grip is much stronger than anything Lady GaGa has ever done. White's piano-lines are mesmerizing, and Nally's singing is improved at the expense of his manic shrieks. When deciding between Foxy Shazam! albums, it really depends on the listener. If you are looking for a super-creative and diverse album, The Flamingo Trigger is the way to go. But if you just want pure fun or have trouble with anything heavier than Weezer, get Introducing. Just prepare to have your mind plagued by Eric Nally for the rest of your days.



Recent reviews by this author
Electric Wizard DopethroneEntombed Left Hand Path
Dead Kennedys Fresh Fruit for Rotting VegetablesNeil Young After the Gold Rush
Lucifer's Friend Lucifer's FriendThe Allman Brothers Band Idlewild South
user ratings (239)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
nodontshoot (4)
With less madness and more pop sensibility, Foxy Shazam returns with triumphant results....


Comments:Add a Comment 
TerminalC
March 31st 2010



239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I LOVE THIS ALBUM.

DoubtGin
March 31st 2010



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i love this band ;c

HenchmanOfSanta
March 31st 2010



1858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Who neg'd?

Digging: Afflicted - Prodigal Sun

WeepingBanana
March 31st 2010



10103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i plan to review the new one for my firsts review. but yeah, this album kicks copious amounts of ass

xxKillWithASmile
April 1st 2010



240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well done bro, but check the end of the first paragraph...
Wrong form of "hear."
Also, it's Eric Nally.

HenchmanOfSanta
April 1st 2010



1858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

RateYourMusic says Mally, didn't feel like checking on MySpace.

HenchmanOfSanta
April 1st 2010



1858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also, they have a different drummer, but I don't know if he was on this album or is new.

xxKillWithASmile
April 1st 2010



240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I knew it was Nally, but I can understand the confusion. I used to think it was spelled Gnaughley or something to match the "what the dicks" quotient the band already brings to the table.
Other than that, it's a pretty badass review, bruh.


Spec
April 10th 2010



27153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is the vocalist on crack? He's fuckin insane

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them

JWT155
April 10th 2010



9220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Foxy Shazam rule.

bbdmittenz
May 3rd 2010



218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tight review. Love the album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

On their 2nd LP 'Introducing', Foxy Shazam predominantly ditch the post-hardcore leanings of their weird & messy debut, and give their flamboyant piano-driven rock a slightly poppier bent. Thankfully, it is for the better, especially when it comes to Eric Nally's vocals, which this time resemble a heavier Freddie Mercury, rather than an injured animal. The songwriting has clearly improved, but there's still an inconsistent sense that Foxy Shazam are searching for their true sound. In the meantime, at least Sky White's wondefully hyperactive piano melodies can be enjoyed this time. Recommended Tracks: A Dangerous Man, Red Cape Diver & It's Hair Smelled Like Bonfire.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

...which they found on the latest album.

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bing bing.

Spec
January 20th 2012



27153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

THE WAY YOU MAKE ME MOVE

elry2k
February 15th 2012



115 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wtf? Introducing is a 3.7 versus a 3.9 for the s/t? Introducing is the better album in my opinion. If the s/t is a 4 than introducing is nothing less.

ohfoxxxycole
February 21st 2012



4353 Comments


this band makes me laugh

Chippy
January 7th 2013



7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It seems whenever this album is in rotation you can't help but giggle, smile, laugh and wanna dance around like a boy with a child like sense of wonder.

ZrankFrappa
January 19th 2013



43 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A damn fun album!

kroglor
July 31st 2014



39 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sounds like what Jaguar Love tries to be

Digging: One OK Rock - Zankyo Reference



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy