Autechre
Oversteps


3.0
good

Review

by Cam EMERITUS
March 20th, 2010 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Soothing, but little else.

With their last few records, Autechre managed to go totally off the deep end. They refused to return to the lulling, repetitive sound of their well-known early work, and instead focused entirely on experimentation and abstraction. Albums like Quaristice were mind-bending, abrasive affairs, and usually lasted upwards of seventy minutes: it was like they were perfectly calculated to be nothing but annoying for those unused to that kind of cold, inhuman, and bitingly artificial music.

Oversteps is different. It's not a complete regression, but Autechre reinvents themselves in their former image here, recalling past records without sounding regurgitated. Songs like "qplay" and "os veix3" are perfect throwbacks to the days of Amber: that is, they're propelled by a simple yet aggressive melody, which is subtly accented by various bloops, bleeps, and discordant squeals. Yet everything feels slightly unhinged; the intrusions of these varying effects are much more random and discombobulated than they were on those 90's records. Thus, songs like "0=0" and "d-sho qub" are somewhat off-putting.

Despite this, Oversteps is overall the closest Autechre's ever gotten to easy listening, especially with the added inclusion of numerous ambient tracks, like the soothing "Pt2ph8" and the vast, expressive "krYlon". But even songs that lay more on the IDM side of things simply lounge around, drifting past. Thus, much of Oversteps is fuzzy and unmemorable, which is where my quandary with the album ultimately lays. It's a fine listen, an Autechre album released after 2000 that's actually agreeable and even soothing enough to easily make it through fully without experiencing varying degrees of pulsating anger, or at least without regrets. But the album's lack of personality is a severe drawback, especially since the majority of the album is so low-key; it all just blends together, even for the most attentive of listeners.

So, basically, Oversteps is solid to chill to. But don't expect to be entertained/enthralled in the slightest.



Recent reviews by this author
Beach Fossils Clash the TruthBuke and Gase General Dome
Beach House BloomSun Kil Moon Among the Leaves
ASAP Rocky Live.Love.A$AP.Red Hot Chili Peppers I'm with You
user ratings (114)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Zettel (4.5)
Autechre returns with yet another enigmatic opus....


Comments:Add a Comment 
joshuatree
Emeritus
March 20th 2010


3742 Comments


wrote basically as a counterpoint to that other review

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2010


15035 Comments


hey dude

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2010


31161 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hmmmm.....

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

joshuatree
Emeritus
March 20th 2010


3742 Comments


hi user robertsona

MassiveAttack
March 20th 2010


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just reviewed some Autechre why did I forget to listen to this...damnit

Zettel
March 20th 2010


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Joshua:

I am glad to see a staff Autechre review on this album, I was almost sure it would be overlooked. Of course I do not agree with it, but I clearly see why you do not think it is great.

But:

it all just blends together, even for the most attentive of listeners

But don't expect to be entertained/enthralled in the slightest

The truth is the exact opposite, ;-)






Meatplow
March 20th 2010


5524 Comments


I would agree at this point, even on the note that the last few albums weren't anything particular special.

I'm just hoping they grow on to me because of how highly I regard everything up until about Confield.

MassiveAttack
March 20th 2010


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I loved Qauristice

Ponton
Emeritus
March 20th 2010


5793 Comments


Good review. I enjoyed reading.

klap
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2010


10414 Comments


cam every time you review, a little bit of me perks up and stands to attention and sunlight just fills my day even on the darkest of nights. thank you

Plutonio
March 21st 2010


474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so this is something i completely disagree with.

poweroftheweez
March 21st 2010


1290 Comments


i can do chill, im getting this now.

Shadowed Reflection
March 21st 2010


274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was both entertained and enthralled on first listen, hence your review is wrong. on an objective level. not because I disagree with you but because you are actually wrong.

MassiveAttack
March 21st 2010


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hmmm...I like what I'm hearing, but its no Amber or Incunabula. I'll listen on repeat at work tonight. 2-3 album listens and I should have my set rating.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2010


15035 Comments


I was both entertained and enthralled on first listen, hence your review is wrong. on an objective level. not because I disagree with you but because you are actually wrong.



fucking retarded

MassiveAttack
March 21st 2010


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dawg him > u

btw this isn't anything special I listened to it 4 straight times...its got some nice melancholy stuff, but most of it just treads along, seems a bit disjointed and messy.

alachlahol
March 21st 2010


7489 Comments


track names

Adash
March 22nd 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was both entertained and enthralled on first listen, hence your review is wrong. on an objective level. not because I disagree with you but because you are actually wrong.

legend

Plutonio
March 23rd 2010


474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So because a girl thinks Twilight is exciting and I don't, I'm wrong? mkay.

Shadowed Reflection
March 24th 2010


274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that's different. to me, saying "But don't expect to be entertained/enthralled in the slightest." implies that there is nothing to be entertained/enthralled about on this album, but if even one person is entertained/enthralled, this statement is false.

anyway arguments on the internet are pointless because no-one ever admits they are wrong so I'm not going to bother.

On a different note, generally with autechre releases, if you're not a fan than chances are you won't really be interested much in this album. I think if you are an established fan, you should check this out for sure.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy