Enfold Darkness
Before The Final Reckoning


3.0
good

Review

by FeralMemories USER (4 Reviews)
March 19th, 2010 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Before Our Final Reckoning" has plenty of potential, but it falls short because of it's sloppy production and the inclusion of lackluster interludes.

Enfold Darkness Is:

Matt Brown: Lead Guitar & Support Vocals
James Turk: Rhythm Guitar & Support Vocals
Justin Corser: Vocals
A.J. Lewandowski: Bass
Jack Blackburn: Drums

Enfold Darkness is a difficult band to classify. Some people say they have "core" elements, writing them off as another "sumeriancore" band. The band plays what is best described as a very technical version of blackened death metal, with some influences from hardcore and even folk metal. Surprisingly, they originate from not only the USA, but in one of the places we'd never even expect to get any type of Death Metal: Tennessee.

This is the bands first recording released, and it's a short one at that. Coming in at 26 minutes, it has 4 songs, and 3 interludes. These interludes are comprised of an ambient, folk metal feeling. Enfold Darkness was trying to enhance the mood of the album with these interludes, but none of them feel like they fit in the album. This form of contrast is made infinitely better in their debut full length, "Our Cursed Rapture", where there is one interlude, and it is extremely well written and placed write before the 8 minute closer. However, in this EP, these interludes do almost nothing for the album.

Luckily, Enfold Darkness wrote 4 quality blackened death metal songs for this album, one of which, "Dead In The Brine", made it over to the debut album. The highlight of the EP however, is "An Enemy Brought The Plague". It begins by kicking you full power in the face with one of the best riffs I've heard in a while. The guitarwork for this band is exceptional, but it is really highlighted in the solos. This band has the ability to craft solos like a band that's been doing it for 20 years. This gets even better on the next album, especially in the song "Exaltations Pt. 1".

If there is one thing about the album that brings it down, it is definitely it's production, specifically: the vocals. If you weren't turned off by the vocals in the debut, then you probably will be now. The high vocals have a raw feeling, and it does detract from the albums potential. The guitars feel very muddy, which is not a good thing if you're aiming for something that's relatively technical (Unless you're trying to go for something like Portal, which these guys are clearly not). Since the production is rather lackluster, we hardly get to hear any bass at all. The drums are impressive, but again, it feels like they just aren't loud enough, being engulfed by the vocals and the guitars.

I would recommend the song "An Enemy Brought The Plague" to anyone who liked the debut album, but overall, this album is probably best saved for people who loved the debut album and want more. The sloppy production and excessive use of interviews detract from an album that could have been very good, luckily, we eventually got that album with "Our Cursed Rapture".


user ratings (3)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
bloc
March 19th 2010


35024 Comments


Oh shoot, didn't know these guys had another album

ButcheredChildren
March 19th 2010


5590 Comments


i love watching the bassist's videos on youtube but i dont like enfold's music, it sounds the same as EVERY technical/progressive death band in the industry

bloc
March 19th 2010


35024 Comments


Haha, me too Butch. I saw him do a cover of some Brain Drill song and was just loving it.

FeralMemories
March 19th 2010


680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha bring on the negs. Whatever

combustion07
March 19th 2010


5420 Comments


Pos'd review doesn't deserve a neg. I might check this out next time I'm bored.

bloc
March 19th 2010


35024 Comments


It really doesn't, this is a great review, I am not sure why someone would think it's badly written.

bloozclooz
March 19th 2010


1770 Comments


pos from me, you obviously put work into this review, as most of us do, there's just assholes out there

FeralMemories
March 19th 2010


680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well thanks guys. It is a bit on the short side, but hey, a short review for an EP isn't too far out there.

ButcheredChildren
March 19th 2010


5590 Comments


i didn't neg the review, i neg'd the band :]

bloozclooz
March 19th 2010


1770 Comments


@ butchered children you're really bad at wording things dude

FeralMemories
March 19th 2010


680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you neg'd the band, you'd give the album rating a 1. You negged how the review was written.

Brokenjewel
March 19th 2010


1247 Comments


Good review, man.

bloozclooz
March 19th 2010


1770 Comments


yeah i know that feral, but he has no rating posted, either way, someone withdrew their neg

ButcheredChildren
March 20th 2010


5590 Comments


i like that you guys waste your time talking about me so i wont bother rating

FeralMemories
March 20th 2010


680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Naw man, I was talking to Butchered. I dont mind if I have a neg, I dont care what you think of this band. I just wanted to make sure you knew which one was which.

OceanOfWisdom
March 20th 2010


99 Comments


Insanely presumptuous of you to think that Tennessee or ANY State in the SouthEast for that matter is incapable of producing talented Musicians - Albeit mostly true, still - It sounded rather condescending, considering it was pretty much like you saying "HOLY SHIT, someone in this band is from the SOUTH?!" LOL

Anyways, good review - A damn shame AJ was kicked out of Enfold. I've been talking to him a lot on YouTube recently, he mentioned possibly looking into playing Bass for Portal. Hope it works out for him.

Needless to say - I've lost all faith in Enfold Darkness now that AJ is gone - Not to say I didnt like "Our Cursed Rapture", in fact I loved it - But I'm no longer exactly looking forward to hearing their new stuff anymore.

FeralMemories
March 20th 2010


680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude I live in Florida xD I know the southeast produces the best musicians ever, like Chuck. Still, Im pretty sure they're the first band that I listen to that is from Tennessee, so I thought I'd include it

TruthBeard
March 20th 2010


3 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's insanely presumptuous, OceanOfWisdom, to think that the loss of AJ, who didn't join the band until AFTER they had written and recorded "Our Cursed Rapture" (and had been signed, for that matter), would have any effect at all on their future output. Your rationale for discounting the band is a non sequitur. AJ was a hired gun, and while he is very talented, he had nothing to do with either the success or presumed future failure of the band.

FeralMemories
March 20th 2010


680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Where'd you guys hear he got kicked out? They still have him listed as a member on myspace.

TruthBeard
March 21st 2010


3 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

One of AJ's buddies wrote a blog about it:

http://www.heavyblogisheavy.com/2010/02/22/a-j-lewandowski-is-kicked-out-of-enfold-darkness/

Also, check this vid from their most recent tour, featuring James back on bass, and Malcolm from Inferi and Diskreet on guitar:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRs8cmolr4c




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy