Within the Ruins
Creature


3.0
good

Review

by Keilo USER (6 Reviews)
March 18th, 2010 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An excellent August Burns Red ripoff.

A good buddy of mine (who has similar tastes in extreme music) recommended this album to me. So obviously, I checked it out, hence this review. And the first thing that came to mind was how close to August Burns Red this group sounds like. I'm not kidding. The guitar tone and vocals and drums and progressions and start-stop chug chug riffing are nearly EXACT. I can't stress that enough. In fact, if I had been presented with this album under the pretense that it was the new August Burns Red album, I would have believed it. But you know... they say copying is a form of flattery...

This is not a bad disc by any means. It's just that it so blatantly emulates ABR that I'm a bit torn. There are certainly parts that are better than anything ABR has done... but the rest is just kind of blah... if WtR had come out before ABR, they'd be all the rage... but they didn't (to my knowledge), so they're just rehashing a proven formula. And I hope they break away to their own style, or they will just get largely unnoticed.

The vocals are not terrible, but Tim Goergen is nothing special. He just belts it out and the music can hold its own regardless. He occasionally varies his vocals between a high scream and a midrange scream, but nothing that really makes your skin crawl... nothing he does makes you feel anything.

The drummer is tight. Seriously... dude is tight. And it's not that he's extremely creative... but he does what he does and he backs the band well, and even occasionally makes me tilt my head like wtf totally badass transition! He's technical, virtually flawless, and gets the job done... but that doesn't always make for a passionate percussionist.

The guitars are... well damn... these guys (Jay and Joe) seriously shred. There's no denying it. Their fretboard mastery is intense... but... I've heard it all before on every August Burns Red album. I'll admit... they occasionally slice off a piece of rifftastic grandeur... but it's usually short-lived and stuck between bits and chucks of metalcore palm-muting. The rare solo is not really worth writing about.

And my biggest beef... as it tends to be lately... is WHERE'S THE BASS??? Why do so many bands insist on burying the ONE thing that solidifies the rhythm section??? Have bands like this not figured out that metal of this sort is EXTREMELY rhythmic and needs that low-end to compliment the acrobatic drumming???

So... overall... disc is above average. It's something to slap on in the background when you're cleaning your house and drinking some brews. Some riffs will grab your attention... but mostly you'll just think to yourself... what an ABR ripoff... but a good ABR ripoff nonetheless. They have potential... they know how to play their instruments well... they just don't know how to sound like themselves yet.



Recent reviews by this author
Mortification Post Momentary AfflictionGod Dethroned Bloody Blasphemy
Tourniquet Pathogenic Ocular DissonanceTourniquet Psycho Surgery
Tourniquet Microscopic View of a Telescopic Realm
user ratings (292)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Ryan Williford (2)
Within The Ruins have brought the world another generic metalcore album and another cheesy technical...

David Witten (3.5)
Guitars...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
March 18th 2010


16051 Comments


This review could use a little work, but when competing reviews include anything by encmetalhead, then you're probably alright.

Keilo
March 18th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I noticed a few minor type-o's... but to me it was short and sweet. I've been pondering doing reviews for a long time because I always have something to say about whatever it is I listen to... and you know everybody's a critic. Time will tell about my longevity. I just like music. Period. Hmm and I guess I didn't realize I was competing... I was just stating my opinion... but I guess the nature of a competition is trying to prove one's opinion as correct by a majority. Eh, whatever.

Willie
Moderator
March 18th 2010


16051 Comments


I didn't mean "competing" in any literal way. Another user, encmetalhead, wrote a review for this and his reviews generally suck and I used your review as an excuse to mention it again.

I was mainly referring to the typos and things of that nature when talking about needing some work. Things such as:

"A good buddy of mind..." -- should be "A good buddy of mine..."

Keilo
March 18th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hahaha I gotcha now Yeah I should have proof-read before submitting... working on that now...

FeralMemories
March 18th 2010


680 Comments


To make it seem more professional, I'd suggest taking out all of the "..." parts. It might be just me, but this band sounds completely different from ABR, at least in the metalcore scene. WTR is just more technical, but ABR has a better ability to write good songs. But just some advice, it would be a good idea not to compare the band you're reviewing to another band the whole review. Just talk about the music Also I think this band got a new vocalist and put out a new version of Arsenal, so check that out if you werent too impressed by the vocalist.

DaveBum69
March 18th 2010


699 Comments


tim isnt on this album he is way better than the dude on this

sniper
March 18th 2010


19077 Comments


Pretty good first review, pos'd. I know what you mean about the ripoff thing. There's an album I've been meaning to review by a band that's a total Fall of Troy ripoff, and even though its better than anything TFOT have released in years, it just doesn't do anything for me since I know its been done before.

AbyssalCreation
March 18th 2010


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Feral I agree completely.Also Yay Mayor Bee, Mayor Bee!

ButcheredChildren
March 18th 2010


5591 Comments


i agree with the review, these guys are amazing but they should focus more on technicallity and less on breakdowns/ core. The intro to Call Off The Wedding still gives me shivers as i listen to it ;]

XtheComb1neX
March 18th 2010


61 Comments


^ technicality? have you listened to the last 50 seconds of dig a ditch?

TheNewWhack
March 18th 2010


1472 Comments


Not even close to ABR... To be EXACT. The guys are way more tech, drink way more beer, and probably have various forms of hepatitis.

sspedding
March 18th 2010


4773 Comments


sounds absolutely nothing like August Burns Red, they another in a long line of meshuggah influenced metalcore.

Review isn't too bad though.

Thor
March 18th 2010


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd put these guys more along the lines of After the Burial than August Burns Red, except that they are way the fuck better than After the Burial.

TheNewWhack
March 18th 2010


1472 Comments


^^^ Agreed.

Slimjim367
March 18th 2010


512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i liked this album
the only thing them and ABR have in common is the multitude of breakdowns

iamthenightmare
March 18th 2010


754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the only thing really similar between ABR and WTR is that they both play a "core" subgenre. Album is pretty good, hopefully they ditch some of the breakdowns in their future releases, they sound more like writing crutches than actual elements of the songs.

FreePizzaDay
March 18th 2010


1526 Comments


Yeah, good review, but seriously, lose the ellipses. They're never needed and they're just distracting.

Nikkolae
March 18th 2010


4860 Comments


in any case ABR ripped off within the ruins seeing as this album came out earlier, and i can only imagine you are comparing it to Constellations cos it sounds NOTHING like messengers or Thrill Seeker, review is good, but i utterly disagree with you on that term

Digging: Cursed Graves - Western Blood

Austroglide
July 28th 2010


15 Comments


You are obsessed with August Burns Red, Huh? Review wasn't bad, but it was grammatically displeasing to the eye. Why so many periods? It sounds like you were impressed by their musicianship, albeit sounding like ABR, however I think your review reads as a 3.5. That is all c:

Drummer300btx
May 21st 2012


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not an ABR ripoff.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy